Time for a cleanout ?

• Thread starter Thread starter pappy

Cross did an exceptional job on Fisher, who has been the Saints best player this year. That's all he needed to do if he's playing a shut down role. IF he had of kicked that goal, it would have been gold coming from a tagger. A bonus. He did what was asked of him very effectively.

I stopped reading when i saw you put Gia in the under the pump list... He has been one of our better players this year, this is just plain old stupid.

Then I decided to read the other stupid things you wrote... Barlow, played one game, he didn't play too bad
Mulligan, has played like 2 or 3 games in his first season as a defender in a downhill skiing team.

NO.

living in fantasy land. Barlow,just not up to it. showed why he was delisted from the swans. BUT! he could be an alright rookie player.

Gia... where was he tonight? he either plays well in a smashing against or for us, or a game we win. when we need to slog it out, hes nowhere to be seen.

Mulligan.. yeah cant see it happening, but Howard, Dalhaus and Jones all have huge futures.

Ward has been dissapointing since the Richmond game, would'nt pay 2 million for him, 11 disposals tonight and no influence, and im failing to see the hype for easton wood, looks tough but goes missing.

Completely agree. You cant question his heart and courage and committment. But he can't kick, and is too slow. Compare him to a Swan, Selwood, Hayes, and that is who he is up against. He will compete and battle but will not impact the game.

Rubbish! Cross is being given a role each week now and doing it well, sacrificing his own natural game.Like Libba snr he has changed his game to do a job for the team.

Oh, and yeah cross tagged fisher, but he doesnt have an attackign bone in his body.. needs to take a leaf out of pickens book, dropped marks and provided nothing up forward.

Cross has had to do that role because Picken has sucked at it this year!

Is cooney still under contract? I reckon you guys should do as many deals with GWS for young talent as you can. I think you will get over the odds for the players too. p.s Never get rid of Boyd what a champion:thumbsu:

And believe it or not we have some supporters calling to trade boyd! We are worse than Richmond supporters eating our own, calling to delist a 2nd game defender in mulligan FFS it's his second game ever! We are blooding players now with a massive amount of first year players. Let's settle we will have a few retirees and delistings and we will learn to not pick up recycled players who haven't made it at other clubs (after given ).

5 .M.Boyd got a 10/10 played a very good captains game hard at the ball. 7. S.Higgins got a 6 1/2 out of10 had 27 touches played one of he's better games this year some of hes kicks where turn overs which cost us. 42.L.Picken 8 out of 10 played a very good game did he's job and got a lot of the ball. 38 D.Morris 9 out of 10 always does hes job when asked and with shaggy and lake out of the team he has to work harder love hes work. 10 J.Sherman 8 out of 10 played hes 2ed best game for the club had a bit of a run in the Mid.
40 L.Dahlhaus 6/10 looked like a kid who wont's to be out there.tacked run around the ground tryed to be in all the plays next week he should get a full game well done mate! 30 C.Howard 6/10 kids getting better give him more game time see how he goes
33 N.Djerrkura...hmm big raps on the kid he trys but trying is not going to get you a game in-less it pays off which in he's case tonight it never did 3/10
18 B.Stack...OMG :mad: i just dont know about him i dont wont to run him down but i just cant see him in are best 22 ever he's in the team one week then out again then back in and then back out IMO 2/10 i am sorry guys just what i think :D

5 .M.Boyd got a 10/10 played a very good captains game hard at the ball. 7. S.Higgins got a 6 1/2 out of10 had 27 touches played one of he's better games this year some of hes kicks where turn overs which cost us. 42.L.Picken 8 out of 10 played a very good game did he's job and got a lot of the ball. 38 D.Morris 9 out of 10 always does hes job when asked and with shaggy and lake out of the team he has to work harder love hes work. 10 J.Sherman 8 out of 10 played hes 2ed best game for the club had a bit of a run in the Mid.
40 L.Dahlhaus 6/10 looked like a kid who wont's to be out there.tacked run around the ground tryed to be in all the plays next week he should get a full game well done mate! 30 C.Howard 6/10 kids getting better give him more game time see how he goes
33 N.Djerrkura...hmm big raps on the kid he trys but trying is not going to get you a game in-less it pays off which in he's case tonight it never did 3/10
18 B.Stack...OMG :mad: i just dont know about him i dont wont to run him down but i just cant see him in are best 22 ever he's in the team one week then out again then back in and then back out IMO 2/10 i am sorry guys just what i think :D

Absolutely wrong on this. Not a huge Stack fan at all, but his endeavour tonight was clear to see. Attacked the ball well and was fairly composed. Has definitely lacked confidence in the past. Looks a vastly differently player when his confidence is up. Hopefully this trend continues, as he still is a very young kid.

We should have never traded for DJ in the first place so I dont want him playing anymore games (unless injuries)

Stack played good in bits but i completely agree that he is just not in our best 22. I know people are going to say he is still learning and young and tries etc. but just dont think he is going anywhere anytime soon

Obviously it's time for a cleanout. Welcome to 4 weeks ago. Where have you been the last month - we've made 6 changes every week!

It's clear that the club is rotating players in anticipation of getting rid of 8 or 9 of them at the end of the year. And there's no point getting rid of more than that in one year or you end up simply drafting duds in at Pick 95 or trading in more duds to replace the ones you trade out.

So what we need to do is work out who the 8 or 9 players we most need to lose are. Some of them will need to be played at different times to work that out. Get used to it guys. And try not to start 12 threads about them each time they are selected.

i think we should try and buy all the remaining Bye's off all the other clubs and have a rest for the remainder of the season:mad:

We don't need a cleanout. We just need to play the right players (Grant, Wallis, Vez) even if they are completely crap some weeks. They have talent, and have actually shown something. Stack and DJ aren't going to get it done for us, ever.

I just disagree 5 Bucks. I'm sick of this club indulging players with talent.

Lazy talent can get stuffed. I want to see some effort. Grant shouldn't play until he's willing to do some defensive work. I don't care if we're weaker this year with him in the 2s. I'm concerned about next year, and the year after.

Grant would never get a game under Mick Malthouse or Ross Lyon, no matter how much they were struggling.

Don't want to sound smug but there was a reason why he had only played 4 games for Geelong in 4 seasons, and it wasn't just lack of opportunity and injuries.

I cant see why the bloody powers that be at the Dogs cannot see this fact FFS

and whats with us trading for players who cant get a game at Geelong?

I just disagree 5 Bucks. I'm sick of this club indulging players with talent.

Lazy talent can get stuffed. I want to see some effort. Grant shouldn't play until he's willing to do some defensive work. I don't care if we're weaker this year with him in the 2s. I'm concerned about next year, and the year after.

Grant would never get a game under Mick Malthouse or Ross Lyon, no matter how much they were struggling.

I know what you are saying and that is why I didn't mention Hill. Grant is another culprit, but it would be a disadvantage to next years team to not get some more development into Grant now.

It would also be a disadvantage to pick just 4 or 5 players to develop, playing them every week regardless. If we are going through a rebuilding phase, which would appear obvious, surely better to develop 10 or 15 players together which will also allow earlier identification of those not likely to make it.

lol what? i can brely understand your post...in-less? did you mean unless?

Don't know about a clean out but a re-build of sorts is required. There is no point discarding quality senior players simply because they are 28+, but at the same time a few hard decisions need to be made.

Gia and Murph have been excellent this year and should remain to guide the young blokes through this transition. Hargrave still has something to offer and if he can get fit there is definatly a spot for him to continue. I am also convinced Lake can turn it around, however the club and Brian need to get a proper plan inplace to get him fit an happy again. Would only trade if he is desperatly unhappy and asks for one.

Then there are some guys who have served the club well, but some tough decisions need to be made on them.

Gilbee - has lost his skill and decision making and any pace he did have. With the likes of Tutt, Schofield and Howard emerging, room needs to be made on the HB line.

Cross - Yes he has been given a negative role and yes I admire his courage and the way he prepares himself BUT he can't kick, and is slow. He's too slow to tag a midfielder and too short to tag the likes of Fisher every week.

It's probably obvious that Hall and Hudson won't continue past this season.

I see no other option than to keep Cooney. We have seen Murph adapt to a degenerative knee and be able to play good footy. So either Cooney does the same thing and we benefit from a performing Coondog or his knee doesn't come good and no club will touch him.

There is a group of young players coming through who can be complemented by Griff, Coon, Higgins, Picken and Ward. Phase the older blokes out when form drops, get rid of the dead wood and play the kids who warrant a game and it can turn around reasonably quickly.

Season gone, time for a rebuild. We gave it our best shot. 2009 was our best chance.

Most players over 28 need to be moved on. Start recruiting for another crack in 5 years or so.

Players under the pump

Hudson
Cross
Gilbee
Hall
Hargrave
Gia

Players to delist

Stack
Djekurra
Barlow
Mulligan

Players with a future

Wood
Jones
Roughead
Wallis
Libba
Williams
Dalhaus
Tutt
Howard
Ward

Trade bait

Lake
Cooney

Time to look to the future, regenerate with a new playing group and coach. Re do the match committee and rebuild, trade for draft picks.

You want to trade Lake and Cooney and you reckon Williams has a future?
Tom Williams will never be any more than an average player.
I would keep Lake and cut losses and offer Williams to one of the Queensland teams.