Time To Drop Reilly?

• Thread starter Thread starter jo172

SpringChoke said:
It has nothing to do with Glenelg MD. I just think Schuie is potentially a more dangerous small forward option that Skip.
nasty word.... :eek: :p

more dangerous he may well be......but I would hope his inclusion wouldn't be at the expense of one of the smalls who is currently doing our tall fwds jobs for them.

...and just to be clear...I'm not a Skipworth fan...IMO he is part of the transition group........but he has kicked a fair few goals this year so far and doesn't deserve to be dropped... :)

Mad Dog said:
...so just to be clear....you would drop Skipworth this week ?

No not all. But in the long term, Skippy's 2 options are as a small forward or midfielder. I don't see him as a long term midfielder, and provided he can get his sh*t tohether, I reckon Schuie has more weapons as a small forward. I liken Skippy to B Ebert, great sanfl player, ordinary at afl level.

did anyone see the beauty of a tackle cam mooney put on skippy when he did his usual half turn>? To skippy's credit he managed to hand ball it off to a team mate. Sides will be looking out for it from now on. Expect to see him in second half of the season get pinged alot more. Think NC sees him as the future though.

SpringChoke said:
No not all. But in the long term, Skippy's 2 options are as a small forward or midfielder. I don't see him as a long term midfielder, and provided he can get his sh*t tohether, I reckon Schuie has more weapons as a small forward. I liken Skippy to B Ebert, great sanfl player, ordinary at afl level.

Sorry Springy, but I can't agree with you on this one.

If Schuie was a weapon he'd be a water pistol. No danger to the opposition at all. He's struggled to be a regular SANFL player let alone an AFL player of value.

Skippy offers more options as he's getting plenty of ball while playing on the ball - Schuie just can't do that. Skippy can also play as a small forward. Schuie is a one trick pony who can only play on the HFF or nowhere.

Skippy works his arse off, Schuie lacks intensity. While Skippy is one of the lesser mid-fielders that we have, he's earning his spot.

Switch your interest from Schuie to Knights, Springy. Knights does play as an on-baller and up forward and is a real ball magnet and a good crumber. He looks a really likely type.

macca23 said:
Sorry Springy, but I can't agree with you on this one.

If Schuie was a weapon he'd be a water pistol. No danger to the opposition at all. He's struggled to be a regular SANFL player let alone an AFL player of value.

Skippy offers more options as he's getting plenty of ball while playing on the ball - Schuie just can't do that. Skippy can also play as a small forward. Schuie is a one trick pony who can only play on the HFF or nowhere.

Skippy works his arse off, Schuie lacks intensity. While Skippy is one of the lesser mid-fielders that we have, he's earning his spot.

Switch your interest from Schuie to Knights, Springy. Knights does play as an on-baller and up forward and is a real ball magnet and a good crumber. He looks a really likely type.

Actually, come to think of it, that's an even better option. Knights could be the answer as a midfielder come forward.

I have seen real signs in Schuie of quality but your right, he does lack intensity. Will probably go down the same road as ladhams - skillful, heap of talent, but no commitment/work ethic.

Is it time for Reilly to dominate a game at Sturt to get his confidence back up?

As has already been noted, he was abysmal yesterday - I can't see how continuing to come off the bench would do him any good after that.

We've been prepared to send Hentschel back to the locals after a couple of bad weeks, so unless Radar's found one of the five Wonka bars I don't see why he shouldn't be eligible for the same treatment.

DaveW said:
Gallagher had one 20+ disposal game and one 2 goal game in his career. (They weren't the same game.)

Connell was a regular in the side for years. Eccles was a regular too when he played his best footy.

I'm no fan of Skipworth, but he deserves his spot for now.

I actually meant James Gallagher, but I've checked his stats and he hasn't turned up as many 20-possession games as I thought.

But even just Connell and Eccles - regulars who caused fans much frustration. Skipworth is just another. 20 possession games mean nothing if you are regularly caught because you're too slow and you pop a disposal out under pressure that goes to null advantage.

dyertribe said:
Is it time for Reilly to dominate a game at Sturt to get his confidence back up?

As has already been noted, he was abysmal yesterday - I can't see how continuing to come off the bench would do him any good after that.

We've been prepared to send Hentschel back to the locals after a couple of bad weeks, so unless Radar's found one of the five Wonka bars I don't see why he shouldn't be eligible for the same treatment.

oh no we couldnt have that for golden child could we... hes a first round draft pick.... hes a gun... he moves well... he has good skills....

for such a gun, got out and out beaten in 4-5 one on ones yesterday by similair sized players.... made some abismall skill errors that if they had have been a Burton or Skipworth people would want him delisted not dropped.... time for Reilly to go back to sturt i agree

RooDog said:
oh no we couldnt have that for golden child could we... hes a first round draft pick.... hes a gun... he moves well... he has good skills....

for such a gun, got out and out beaten in 4-5 one on ones yesterday by similair sized players.... made some abismall skill errors that if they had have been a Burton or Skipworth people would want him delisted not dropped.... time for Reilly to go back to sturt i agree

james kelly was playing yesterday geelong took him a bit after us as 17 by memory. Thats too bad really. Its funny how the pick often alters your view of someone. Really lots of good players are found outside the first round too. I dont know if reilly was beaten in 4 or 5 one on ones, but he certainly had three or four occasions where he badly burnt the ball going forward and just kept doing it. He wasnt alone is poor play though jericho, biglands and doughty were poor too. Doughty and biglands arent young. Jericho is softer than reilly too, which is almost unbelievable.

outback jack said:
james kelly was playing yesterday geelong took him a bit after us as 17 by memory. Thats too bad really. Its funny how the pick often alters your view of someone. Really lots of good players are found outside the first round too. I dont know if reilly was beaten in 4 or 5 one on ones, but he certainly had three or four occasions where he badly burnt the ball going forward and just kept doing it. He wasnt alone is poor play though jericho, biglands and doughty were poor too. Doughty and biglands arent young. Jericho is softer than reilly too, which is almost unbelievable.

thats what im getting at just because he was a 1st round pcik he cops an easy ride on this board, its oh reilly this... oh reilly that when realistically he has done sweet FA. i dont care if he was pick 1 or pick 151 as long as they perform well and at the moment he isnt performing well and needs a run in the SANFL

RooDog said:
thats what im getting at just because he was a 1st round pcik he cops an easy ride on this board, its oh reilly this... oh reilly that when realistically he has done sweet FA. i dont care if he was pick 1 or pick 151 as long as they perform well and at the moment he isnt performing well and needs a run in the SANFL
He DID NOT play well on Sunday - other games he has more than held his own given his time in the midfield rotation.

I understand your frustrations - you want a champion given he was a first round pick in one of the strongest draft - unfortunately it doesn't quite work that way ;)

RooDog said:

Thought I'd post the draft picks for that year. Some taken before Reilly are worse than him and some taken later are better. Shame about Dal Santo.

1 Luke Hodge Hawthorn Geelong Falcons 2001 NAT
2 Luke Ball Saint Kilda Sandringham Dragons 2001 NAT
3 Chris Judd West Coast Sandringham Dragons 2001 NAT
4 Graham Polak Fremantle East Fremantle 2001 NAT
5 Xavier Clarke Saint Kilda St Marys 2001 NAT
6 Ashley Sampi West Coast South Fremantle 2001 NAT
7 David Hale Kangaroos Broadbeach 2001 NAT
8 James Bartel Geelong Geelong Falcons 2001 NAT
9 Luke Molan Melbourne Geelong Falcons 2001 NAT
10 Sam Power Western Bulldogs Oakleigh Chargers 2001 NAT
11 Richard Cole Collingwood Eastern Ranges 2001 NAT
12 Brent Reilly Adelaide Calder Cannons 2001 NAT
13 Nick Dal Santo Saint Kilda Bendigo Pioneers 2001 NAT
14 Ashley Watson Kangaroos Bendigo Pioneers 2001 NAT
15 Barry Brooks Port Adelaide Tassie Mariners 2001 NAT
16 Rick Ladson Hawthorn Bendigo Pioneers 2001 NAT
17 James Kelly Geelong Calder Cannons 2001 NAT
18 Shane Harvey Essendon Northern Knights 2001 NAT
19 James Gram Brisbane Gippsland Power 2001 NAT
20 Daniel Elstone Hawthorn Bendigo Pioneers 2001 NAT
21 Matthew Maguire Saint Kilda Geelong Falcons 2001 NAT
22 Mark Seaby West Coast West Perth 2001 NAT
23 Charlie Gardiner Geelong Sandringham Dragons 2001 NAT
24 Steve Johnson Geelong Murray Bushrangers 2001 NAT
25 Steven Armstrong Melbourne Perth 2001 NAT
26 Aaron Rogers Melbourne NSW/ACT Rams 2001 NAT
27 Tom Davidson Collingwood Tassie Mariners 2001 NAT
28 Mark Powell Sydney Murray Bushrangers 2001 NAT
29 Lewis Roberts-Thomson Sydney NSW/ACT Rams 2001 NAT
30 Rod Crowe Kangaroos Sandringham Dragons 2001 NAT
31 Joel Reynolds Essendon Geelong Falcons 2001 NAT
32 Campbell Brown Hawthorn Oakleigh Chargers 2001 NAT
33 David Rodan Richmond Calder Cannons 2001 NAT
34 Simon O'Keefe Essendon Murray Bushrangers 2001 NAT
35 Jarrad Wright Brisbane W/WT Eagles 2001 NAT
36 Sam Mitchell Hawthorn Box Hill Hawks 2001 NAT
37 Leigh Montagna Saint Kilda Northern Knights 2001 NAT
38 Ashley Hansen West Coast Oakleigh Chargers 2001 NAT
39 Justin Davies Carlton Murray Bushrangers 2001 NAT
40 Gary Ablett Geelong Geelong Falcons 2001 NAT
41 Henry Playfair Geelong NSW/ACT Rams 2001 NAT
42 Kieran McGuiness Western Bulldogs Eastern Rangers 2001 NAT
43 Mark McGough Collingwood Murray Bushrangers 2001 NAT
44 Ben Finnin Adelaide Northern Knights 2001 NAT
45 Nathan Clarke Brisbane Brisbane 2001 NAT
46 Jarrad Waite Carlton Murray Bushrangers 2001 NAT
47 Andrew Welsh Essendon Calder Cannons 2001 NAT
48 Simon Cox Hawthorn Western Bulldogs 2001 NAT
49 Josh Houlihan Saint Kilda Murray Bushrangers 2001 NAT
50 Paul Salmon Essendon Hawthorn 2001 NAT
51 Brisbane 2001 NAT
52 Andrew Browne Fremantle Claremont 2001 NAT
53 Daniel Hunt Sydney South Fremantle 2001 NAT
54 Ben Robbins Kangaroos Brisbane 2001 NAT
55 Brad Miller Melbourne Mount Gravatt 2001 NAT
56 Paul Medhurst Fremantle Claremont 2001 NAT
57 Brent Colbert Western Bulldogs Northern Knights 2001 NAT
58 Dane Swan Collingwood Calder Cannons 2001 NAT
59 Jason Schuback Adelaide Gippsland Power 2001 NAT
60 Adam Schneider Sydney NSW/ACT Rams 2001 NAT
61 Michael Martyn Kangaroos Kangaroos 2001 NAT
62 Damon White Port Adelaide Perth 2001 NAT
63 Adam Houlihan Richmond Geelong 2001 NAT
64 Daniel McAllister Essendon Essendon 2001 NAT
65 Brisbane 2001 NAT
66 Fremantle 2001 NAT
67 Saint Kilda 2001 NAT
68 Chris Hyde Richmond Richmond 2001 NAT
69 Matthew McCartney Geelong OldXavarians 2001 NAT
70 Melbourne 2001 NAT
71 Brian Harris Western Bulldogs W/WT Eagles 2001 NAT
72 Tristen Walker Collingwood Claremont 2001 NAT
73 Adelaide 2001 NAT
74 Ricky Mott Sydney South Fremantle 2001 NAT
75 Sam Cranage Carlton Carlton 2001 NAT
76 Jared Poulton Port Adelaide Port Adelaide 2001 NAT
77 Mark McGrath Richmond South Fremantle 2001 NAT
78 Essendon 2001 NAT
79 Saint Kilda 2001 NAT
80 Hugh Foot Kangaroos Bendigo Pioneers 2001 NAT
81 David Johnson Geelong Essendon 2001 NAT
82 Melbourne 2001 NAT
83 Aaron James Western Bulldogs Richmond 2001 NAT
84 Carlton 2001 NAT
85 Richmond 2001 NAT
86 Essendon 2001 NAT
87 Saint Kilda 2001 NAT
88 Kangaroos 2001 NAT
89 Western Bulldogs 2001 NAT
90 Richmond 2001 NAT

dyertribe said:

Just about. If we are forced to make a couple of midfield changes with Edwards and Burton missing then Reilly might survive and be given a chance to start the game in place of one of those two. That might be the only thing that saves him.