Time to fire Thompson.

• Thread starter Thread starter Renegade

Mate, you guys ought to send in your resumes. To think, we have some fine potential coaches being forced to sit here and stuff around on footy forums. I'll happy to act as a reference if needed.

Partridge said:
Exactly. If I was in charge of that rabble I'd do the following things:

1. Make them train at 6am after a loss. Then run them into the ground. Not a bullsh*t 60 minute "recovery session" or crap like that, more like 180 minutes of sprints. Up hills. Find out who really wants to be there.
2. Drop both Kelly and Ling. They're not the only culprits, but they're the most high profile and immune from the axe. Importantly, leave them in the 2nds for a while, not just the token one game.
3. Drop Slade. A clumsy oaf.
4. Shoot Gardiner. Complete *******. I'll provide the bullets.
5. Put established players back to their correct positions. Leave Milburn in the backline and put Corey back in the middle and away from defence. Insane coaching.
6. Promote kids who actually play well in the 2nds - be it Stokes, Prismall,whoever. I know Lonergan and Ablett did nothing against Footscray but you must reward the guys who perform at that level. For one thing it demonstrates that mediocre performances from alleged senior players (Ling, Kelly) won't get them a game.
7. Stop the media and other commitments for the time being. Watching Ling have a laugh on Channel 10 after the Footscray loss - I wanted to kill him. That's the problem. Losing hurts us far, far more than it hurts the players.
8. Recruit or develop a forward. In the entire 7 years that Thompson has been at Geelong, he has developed the following number of forwards - 0. Only Kingsley has performed respectably, and he came from North.

How's that for starters?

Wont get you very far...

nananana catman said:
Wont get you very far...

I agree nanacat, might of worked in the 80's, but not now, but i think something should be done to make the players more responsible after all they are the ones getting the big bucks. Recruit a fwd, you have a bad memory what have we been looking for the last 5 yrs, remembers the cats screaming for Jade Rawlings?? Bet we are all happy we didnt get him, Whats Brad Ottens?? I would call him a fwd if King stays fit.

dogbowl said:
Mate, you guys ought to send in your resumes. To think, we have some fine potential coaches being forced to sit here and stuff around on footy forums. I'll happy to act as a reference if needed.

Back in your kennell pooch. Would you be happy with a team that was supposed to be top four but was performing the way we are? If we say 'go Bomber' we are accepting mediocrity, if we say '!@#$%^%$#@!!!' we are smart ar5es who think we could do better.

Leave us be with our pain....

I am not trying to take away your right to lambast your coach, just want to put a bit of humor into the forum! Watch out Bomber..

Herd king on K-Rock after the game. He was asked about the game plan….. He sounded very confused to what it actually was.

Also I went to the coach’s night last year and herd ‘Bomber’ tell us all how we have the best team and best list in the comp. I feel that the coaching staff and the players feel they don’t have to do too much to win a game of footy. It’s about time they all woke up.

My wife, who is no expert, saw Bomber after the Pies loss, going on about needing to find the answers. She reflected that "it is scary that as a coach, he does not appear to know what the problem is". If she can see it boys, it should be patently obvious to all. He wasn't :D:D:D:Ded off, etc, he looked genuinely lost, and that is scary for a coach!

dogbowl said:
My wife, who is no expert, saw Bomber after the Pies loss, going on about needing to find the answers. She reflected that "it is scary that as a coach, he does not appear to know what the problem is". If she can see it boys, it should be patently obvious to all. He wasn't :D:D:D:Ded off, etc, he looked genuinely lost, and that is scary for a coach!
We are all lost mate, all of us.
Got any ideas? :o

Maybe the tail is wagging the dog? I reckon they are a little arrogant, as though they don't respect their opponents. I know they are a good side, but in horrible form. Is Bomber being hard enough on them, does he have the ability to identify weakness in the group? I reckon the answer isn't just about dropping a few guys to the 2's.

There is no 1 easy answer.

Renegade said:
Get him out! NOW!

Yes to the point. Simplistic but accurate, no frills but true, One-dimensional but precise. Basic sense in its purest form.

AGREED GET HIM OUT NOW! ::mad:U CANT POLISH A T:eek: RD :D

clubsport said:
Yes to the point. Simplistic but accurate, no frills but true, One-dimensional but precise. Basic sense in its purest form.

AGREED GET HIM OUT NOW! ::mad:U CANT POLISH A T:eek: RD :D

yep, definatly. We've had our fist major slump since 1999. Just terrible. Throw away the facts that he made a team out of pure shyt. Forget about when the team burst onto the scene in only 2002. Forget 2003 as a year when the team settles. Forget 2004 when we were at our best. FOrget about last year when we had shytful injuries but IMO he coached very well. Forget the NAB cup win. FOrget the first 2 rounds. But geez, lets get him out cause we have been failing in the past 5 weeks out of 7 years.

cats2rise said:
yep, definatly. We've had our fist major slump since 1999. Just terrible. Throw away the facts that he made a team out of pure shyt. Forget about when the team burst onto the scene in only 2002. Forget 2003 as a year when the team settles. Forget 2004 when we were at our best. FOrget about last year when we had shytful injuries but IMO he coached very well. Forget the NAB cup win. FOrget the first 2 rounds. But geez, lets get him out cause we have been failing in the past 5 weeks out of 7 years.
What have we accomplished? When Thompson came in 2000 all the talk from the club was about a 5 yr plan that would deliver a flag. We've had a pretty damn good list over the last few years and got nothing at all from it. We've had a reasonable run with injuries, we've never been decimated apart from a couple of rounds a few yrs ago. It was clear that a premiership was the only acceptable result within those 5 yrs and we've got nothing. It's 7 years on from his signing and we have one of the top 2-3 lists in the AFL and sit in a position where another year is going to be wasted. You sit at the top job for 7 years and deliver nothing you don't deserve to stay. The club needs a new man to lead the way. If you don't want Thompson out now, then when the hell is it time to let him go? Do we need to watch him lead us nowhere for another 3 years and say 'Oh well, he's had a decade and we've got nothing, maybe we should look elsewhere' or do you realise right now that he's not the guy who's going to bring us anything and make the change? We're not going to have a better list than what we have now. The time IS right NOW!

If we sack Thompson, the club will plunge even further.

Stability is the key when things are going rough - sacking the coach does nothing at all.

Look at the past examples....

It's a knee jerk recation to 4-5 weeks of indifferent form.

Renegade said:
We've had a reasonable run with injuries, we've never been decimated apart from a couple of rounds a few yrs ago.

Sorry man, I gotta disagree with you there. I worked out stats and posted here a few weeks ago (before the saints game I think it was). Our top 22 missed around 25% of games in the last 22 games. That's like being down 5.5 players every game for a year, and that's only our top 22.

Last year there was a fair bit in the media about the Saints injuries, but when we played them in round 19, at that stage we'd missed more games from injury than the Saints had.

Renegade said:
It's 7 years on from his signing and we have one of the top 2-3 lists in the AFL and sit in a position where another year is going to be wasted.
Do we have one of the top 2-3 lists? Our backline? Yes. Midfield.... well yes and no. It can be very good, but isnt over a long period of time. And forward line? No.
When our team is on, i agree but overall I do not think we have a list thats in the top 2-3. if we did, we'd would be going far better, with or without Thompson coaching.

If we get rid of him, it should be at the end of this year, not half way through.
Who would coach us though? I highly doubt Malcom Blight or any of the others suggested would come back at a drop of a hat.

cats2rise said:

Oh Im sorry, I had forgotten how much we have over achieved in the last 6+ years. I take it back lets keep Thompson that way we can keep Geelongs record of never winning a flag intact.
As for your description of our team in 2002, 2003 & 2004, WOW they must have been glorious although I must of been in a comer as I dont remember the flags we won in those 3 unforgetable years you mentioned.
The NAB cup ?? Are you serious? Carlton won that last year and we can see how good they are.
You are the pure epitome of a Geelong supporter accepting mediocrity, this way you can never be disappointed as you will always find an excuse.

3 cheers for Mark Thompson you have taken us from nothing and gone full circle.:thumbsd:

Oh Im sorry, I had forgotten how much we have over achieved in the last 6+ years.
So have I. Would you like to go back to the shythole team of 1999?

I take it back lets keep Thompson that way we can keep Geelongs record of never winning a flag intact.
Says who? So under thompson, we will never win a flag? We can still win it this year.

You are the pure epitome of a Geelong supporter accepting mediocrity, this way you can never be disappointed as you will always find an excuse.
Ive got a level head, might be a smart option to use mate. Do you think im not :D:D:D:Ded off at the club, the administration and the players? Do you think im not dissapointed? Get off your f***ing high horse mate, you know shyt all about me. Do i accept this crap that the team dishes out? Hell no. I never have. No-one does.
Excuse? Look at yourself mate. You're saying its the coaches fault, you are looking for excuses. Maybe we just are not good enough. Prove me wrong Geelong. Think before you speak d***head.

cats2rise said:
So have I. Would you like to go back to the shythole team of 1999?

Says who? So under thompson, we will never win a flag? We can still win it this year.

Ive got a level head, might be a smart option to use mate. Do you think im not :D:D:D:Ded off at the club, the administration and the players? Do you think im not dissapointed? Get off your f***ing high horse mate, you know shyt all about me. Do i accept this crap that the team dishes out? Hell no. I never have. No-one does.
Excuse? Look at yourself mate. You're saying its the coaches fault, you are looking for excuses. Maybe we just are not good enough. Prove me wrong Geelong. Think before you speak d***head.

Oh come on the d***head thing getting a little personal?? If your going to make statements about our glorious club and someone has an opposite opinion dont take it to heart, its only a forum :D
Now back to my horse :rolleyes: