Computers & Internet Tinder

One of my female colleagues is engaged to a bloke she met on Tinder. Anyone else heard of a similar Tinderella story?
Yep, mate is also engaged. Funny because he is a bit of an odd character who struggles with women and had been complaining all about the girls he met on Tinder. Then he met this one and they really clicked, now I'm a groomsman.

Actually, her name isn't Monique is it? :p

Yep, mate is also engaged. Funny because he is a bit of an odd character who struggles with women and had been complaining all about the girls he met on Tinder. Then he met this one and they really clicked, now I'm a groomsman.

Actually, her name isn't Monique is it? :p

They really "clicked" huh? Heh heh heh...

hqdefault.jpg

In my experience, having several friends who have met their partners online, they tend to go full ****** quite quickly. The severity of how quickly they lose their nuts depends on which platform they have found "the one" through.

I'm approaching 30, and I feel like the generation after mine are especially keen to lock themselves into a long term relationship. I know or have heard of a lot of people under 25 who are living together or engaged within six months of meeting, or are already engaged or married, and have kids on the way and are buying a house. Fair enough if that's what you want from life, or you feel you genuinely have found "the one", but that stuff was a long way off when I was in my early 20s. Hell, it feels a long way off now.

It's mind boggling, it took me over 2 years before I moved out with my girlfriend. Some of her friends were taking guys home to the parents after 3 dates and moving in asap. I kind of understand the pressure on females to settle down when they're older but guys are just as complicit lately.

We all know the type, the people that hang crap on you if you have plans on a Saturday night with your gf/wife/whatever whilst they're single and as soon as they are loved up the only time they ever come out is if it's a couples thing. The words I dread the most "my friend has a new boyfriend and they want us to go out for dinner/drinks". Not happening old sav, not happening.

It's mind boggling, it took me over 2 years before I moved out with my girlfriend. Some of her friends were taking guys home to the parents after 3 dates and moving in asap. I kind of understand the pressure on females to settle down when they're older but guys are just as complicit lately.

We all know the type, the people that hang crap on you if you have plans on a Saturday night with your gf/wife/whatever whilst they're single and as soon as they are loved up the only time they ever come out is if it's a couples thing. The words I dread the most "my friend has a new boyfriend and they want us to go out for dinner/drinks". Not happening old sav, not happening.
Ahh you millennials

Its interesting. My generation were ( mostly) the 1st Single Parent generation. ie most started school with 2 parents and more likely by the time we finished high school more of us were in SP households and this became more and more common as things went on. Then there were blended families where mum rooted everything in sight and families had 3-5 kids with different fathers. ( Dad was also getting some but no care )

My generation Divorce and SP were still seen as social stigmas until we reached the idea that 'its only a piece of paper' who cares etc. Now its turned full circle and people are wanting stability or the sense of stability in their lives. Housing affordability may also be a driver but its more likely social

So people don't want to do what their parents did, so they do reverse. The next gen does it reverse and end up like their grandparents...?

I reckon there is a generational disconnect in general.

My grandparents had it tough living through the depression and WWII. My parents generation really didn't - but they have the attitude of their parents' experience ingrained in them. My generation has the entitlement mentality from our parents never really having it tough which reflected in our childhood. Now we are adults and the whole 'great Australian dream/land of opportunity/insert cliche here' thing is done. Pay $40k (with interest) to go to uni to struggle to get a job that pays $50k then pay 10 times your salary to live 40km from the city. Yep, that's exactly how you had it 'in your day', Roger.

TLDR; boomers are full of shit. Be interesting to see how the next generation turn out.

I reckon there is a generational disconnect in general.

My grandparents had it tough living through the depression and WWII. My parents generation really didn't - but they have the attitude of their parents' experience ingrained in them. My generation has the entitlement mentality from our parents never really having it tough which reflected in our childhood. Now we are adults and the whole 'great Australian dream/land of opportunity/insert cliche here' thing is done. Pay $40k (with interest) to go to uni to struggle to get a job that pays $50k then pay 10 times your salary to live 40km from the city. Yep, that's exactly how you had it 'in your day', Roger.

TLDR; boomers are full of shit. Be interesting to see how the next generation turn out.

In fact, boomers are the whole reason you're unable to buy a house.

I decided to swipe right on everyone so long as they don't have a photo of their pet instead of themselves.

Got an 18 year old today. I messaged her about changing her message and playing a bit harder to get. I consider it a public service.

Shit, you are old.

Young girls these days are allowed to love, and proactively engage in, sex.

If you're single now, Tinder is a gold mine - don't ****ing waste it.

Shit, you are old.

Young girls these days are allowed to love, and proactively engage in, sex.

If you're single now, Tinder is a gold mine - don't ******* waste it.

Well yeah, I just turned 45. I am middle-aged at least if not outright old.

I have no objection to anyone using it as they want, for what they want. I am not Judge Mental.

I'll keep working on it. I got another scammer this week...

The 18 year old swiped right on you - it'd be very disrespectful of you not to give her a fair go.
the window for banging 18 year olds gets smaller and smaller every year that goes on

the window for banging 18 year olds is at its most open when in your early to mid 20's. after 28ish its mostly the insane ones you'll attract.

The insane ones are the best ones in the sack. I had a threesome with two women in an asylum. The mixture of fear of death and sexual ecstasy was insane.

yeah well... I knew alcohol and drug rehab existed.... then tiger woods came along. I didn't know sex rehab existed though.
Why would you want to be cured?