Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
hmmm. what about. I like kids but I couldnt eat a whole one.I think also consider if youre going to want to be there for what might be a very honest and uncomfortable answer.
"Well we would love to but i have endometriosis and he has lazy sperm, weve been trying and have had the fertility drugs now im having some invasive procedures to check our viability but it might come to an egg or sperm donor... You look like youve goot good genes, hows the families medical history?"
hmmm. what about. I like kids but I couldnt eat a whole one.
Or seriously though...I dont want the responsibility, cant afford them and am are too set in my own ways and selfish? Howd that go down ya reckon?

Yeah thats the annoying bit I have to put up with. Closely followed by my all time favourite common one - " You dont know anything about life till you have kids"Dont think it would be an issue - id say 'fair enough, good on ya' - no doubt you would get those who try and sell you the idea of kids though![]()
![]()
Yeah thats the annoying bit I have to put up with. Closely followed by my all time favourite common one - " You dont know anything about life till you have kids"
I just had them because my genes are too important to disappear from the planet completely.The only thing I can think of (and it's a bloody selfish reason to even think of having them) is being looked after when you get old. Grandparent would be knackered without Mum. Not a great reason to have them but something to consider I guess
The only thing I can think of (and it's a bloody selfish reason to even think of having them) is being looked after when you get old. Grandparent would be knackered without Mum. Not a great reason to have them but something to consider I guess

also maybe just maybe my middle aged children will have their own lives?

Yeah, the first couple of years they are a massive time sink. Kids are now 15 and 13, so wife and I can go out for an afternoon / evening without too much hassle alone. Until your kids can watch themselves it's not so much you can't go out, but everything has to be planned in advance. Either for taking them or arranging babysitting. Getting them involved (once old enough) in things you like, such as going to the footy, makes things easier. You definitely want to be going out though minus kids every now and then. Both for your immediate sanity and not reaching a point 20 years down the track where you realise you now having nothing in common other than your kids.I think if you think you can have kids and have it NOT affect your lifestyle you are an idiot, equally if you stop doing anything at all for yourself/partner/friends youre probably going to be miserable.
Im hoping i can strike a balance (even something as simple going to the gym, maybe its not 6 days a week but it shouldnt be 0) and im well aware that the first 6-12 months its pretty pointless trying to make plans.
Matched with a girl a few weeks ago... we start chatting... very easy flowing conversations and genuinely seemed enthusiastic and had an amazing connection... seemed genuinely interested in pursuing something with me. After a few days we progress to facebook messager and given that I had just recently moved to Brisbane she suggests we catch up for drinks, naturally I was in agreement.
Anyway as the days progressed she said she was heading camping over that weekend and had night shits after so we organise lunch and drinks after she got back before her shifts. She returns from camping, I message her to confirm we're still good for lunch and drinks, she's still keen, but reschedules it to breakfast instead as the camping group made plans for that afternoon. I agreed, although I wasn't to keen on a breakfast date.
Anyway, we meet up as planned, naturally wanting to impress her but with anxiety i'm nervous as hell, compliment her that she looked nice, found a good cafe. We sit down, and I start sensing she's not interested in being there, suggests we order immediately without even having a chat, we go up to order, I strike up a conversation while waiting... we were getting along well at times and making eachother laugh, but there was little to no eye contact from her, and checked her phone at times. The meals come and just complete silence while she ate. When we finished she immediately suggests we head off saying something like I need to clean up after camping. I start walking with her to her car with awkward conversation.
I message her later in the day being polite thanking her for the date and hope we can meet up again sometime. She messages back a few hours later saying im sorry, you're a great guy, but I just didn't see a romantic connection and I wish you all the best, but i'd still like to chat and do drinks sometime as friends as I do like our friendship.
I ask what the issue was and she's like I kinda knew straight away sorry. You remind me of my brother with how nervous you were
Umm... ok.... Yeah nah.
Now it's almost an essential screening tool. If getting a coffee necessitates a long winded soliloquy and a suite of hashtags like 'breathe' please socially distance from me.
I want kids because I’m the only male left and if I don’t then the family lineage dies. But then I don’t want to have to deal with kids until after they’re potty trained as I ain’t changing no diapers!!!![]()