Computers & Internet Tinder

Anyone else found Tinder (and dating in general) near ******* impossible for the past year and a half?

I used to tear it up. Now I'm lucky to have a short conversation with a girl once or twice a week.
Yep it's gone from hook up site to mainstream dating to social media site seeking validation
I have conversations but it all blows up once you organise a meet you are no better than 50-50 it won't be cancelled on the day.
I'm taking a break from dating
I don't feel well
I finished work late
are just some of the excuses. Sure these things happen but not 4-5 times in a row.
The choice is endless now and the validation endless so ties women in knots
From now I'm happy to meet but if I get a cancellation up to her to initiate a catch up. I'm not messaging or responding unless there is a definite time and place

View attachment 1103914

This is the woman who just contacted me because she so wants to meet me. What could go wrong? 37, lives in the “local area”, and has a big personality!

Looks like shes got,

two big personalities.

e3ec06ea14e9efedcf53dbf90aa55d37.gif

What's the difference between hinge and tinder?
Hinge seems slightly more targeted at relationships than Tinder - the profile settings has a few conversation starters that you need to set and you need a certain number of photos. Hinge has 2 lists of people - people you can 'like' and also a list of people that have already 'liked' you that you can see and match with, the latter of which I don't think happens on Tinder.

Ok, so this is Snakey's story..

during first Covid lockdown I Matched with... Lets just say a F-Grade celebrity of years past(reality TV).

Thought i was being catphished, as her photos suggested she was waaaaaay out of my league. Model shots, glamour shots. Way too good for old country bogan here..

Added me on Facebook, yep, is who she says she was, she was also a PT like me, and was really interested in the work I do around Drug, Alcohol and Mental health education.

Said she didnt have a licence, so i picked her up and brought her back to my house for coffee date, couple of movies and she was going to cook Dinner to say thanks for picking her up and understanding about her situation.

On the drive back to mine she starts telling me about her life after fame... How She barely made it out alive and had issues with drug dependence and was homeless at one stage. How she wants to still be an actress, and how she's an amazing singer and i wouldn't understand fame as i'm too simple and that she would do it all over again.

She suggests a drink to "Ease the nerves" As she hadn't been on a date in over 6 months, was nervous, and it was saturday arvo (12pm) and what the heck, it was Rona times.

We have one drink, then she suggest another, I'm like OK, then she suggest another, I'm like, this is the last one for me for a while, let's have a couple after dinner.. She's like "OMG you're so lame, its Corona, we're on a date.
Then she has another, and another, and another. I try and make her a couple of weak drinks, she's onto that, and is like "i'm having doubles now because of that..."

She starts being white girl emotional drunk, abused me for not drinking with her. Accused me of being controlling becuase i was suggesting she stop, or at least slow down, and that i was boring because i wasn't still drinking.
Cried, because she didn't want to be here anymore, and was posting on her Facebook for someone to come and pick her up, all the while abusing me because I wasn't as famous as she was and she shouldn't be on a date with a "Normal" person.

I was like, I can drive you home if you don't want to be here, to which she carried on that she didn't want that. Her dad was a police officer and wanted him to pick her up.
She then proceeded to Pass out cold on my couch at around 6PM.
I put a blanket on her, left a bucket and a glass of water, left the kitchen light on, made a coffee and jumped into bed to watch a movie. Sporadically checking up on her.

Next morning she jumps into my bed, apologises, remembers nothing at all from the previous day and proceeds to tell me she just checked out of rehab 13 days prior....
Certainly would have been handy to know.

I dropped her home, bought her a coffee, she said she would like to see me again, as she was embarrassed and wanted to make it up to me... And was thankful for looking after her... then blocked me on everything before i'd even gotten home.
So it seems im partial to Reality TV 🤷‍♂️ 🤷‍♂️
I matched with a girl on Hinge in late August last year. Had a date at her house, it was fine and we decided to just be casual.
After seeing each other for a couple of months we actually got really close, and it turns out she was Supposed to be on MAFS this season and matched up with Cam... Unfortunately she had to turn it down in the end because we slipped through a whoopsie and she was pregnant and we decided to give a relationship a proper go.
Last month Cam even tried to add her as a friend on Facebook... he would have gotten a shock when he saw her page :tearsofjoy::tearsofjoy:
Unfortunately after 19 weeks bubs didn't make it.... but we're happily living together and trying again. :relaxed:
Happy Hinging :grinning:

So it seems im partial to Reality TV 🤷‍♂️ 🤷‍♂️
I matched with a girl on Hinge in late August last year. Had a date at her house, it was fine and we decided to just be casual.
After seeing each other for a couple of months we actually got really close, and it turns out she was Supposed to be on MAFS this season and matched up with Cam... Unfortunately she had to turn it down in the end because we slipped through a whoopsie and she was pregnant and we decided to give a relationship a proper go.
Last month Cam even tried to add her as a friend on Facebook... he would have gotten a shock when he saw her page :tearsofjoy::tearsofjoy:
Unfortunately after 19 weeks bubs didn't make it.... but we're happily living together and trying again. :relaxed:
Happy Hinging :grinning:
Sorry to hear about your baby. Cam was a dick so your lady dodged a bullet there :thumbsu:

Tinder goals.

A Japanese man has been arrested after reportedly dating more than 35 women at the same time in order to get birthday gifts from all of them. He gave each woman a different date for his birthday, ensuring a constant stream of gifts through the year.

Downloaded Hinge after a 7 year relationship including 2 years of marriage ended. Missed the whole dating apps scene, so far it’s been pretty hit and miss.
In the same boat minus marriage.
7 year relationship ends, tried out Hinge, Bumble and Tinder.

Tinder has been a massive fail. Barely any matches, shitloads of bots, the 3 people I matched with who were people were up for a chat day one and silent since.
Bumble has been pretty bad too. Lack of people in my area despite it being a large area, and then followed up with the people who do match not talking.
Good success on Hinge, been chatting with about 10 people in the last two days, half of them liked stuff on my profile to initiate conversation. Probably will delete Bumble and Tinder and stay on Hinge.

Yeah I much prefer Hinge, although am getting nothing from it lately, which is a shame as it's been generally reliable in the past.

Plus Tinder's just an absolute mess these days. Giving everybody the Passport option for April makes sense for people in the world in lockdown, but honestly it'd be lucky to be 10% of matches being in the same city as me, it makes it a bit useless.

Do people under 25 still talk to others face to face? Or is that a lost art?

Having recently attended a wedding and been seated at a table with 3 couples all under 25, they definitely didn't talk face to face. I assume they were on their phones sending memes to one another. Or whatever it is young people do.