Tippett's Gone - READ RULES BEFORE POSTING

Which AFC deserter were/are you most salty towards?

Well if GWS don't draft him, why don't we just re-draft him. Even if his price was $3.5mil over 4 years, it would be worth it. A good message to other players that we won't be screwed with.

Here's hoping nothing has changed.

They can still offer him a contract at his asking price, where they pay less this year and more in subsequent years when room has opened up in their cap.

It sure would be a pity if they brought him onto their list, only to have their million dollar bonus salary cap allowance taken away, though :p

We thought we needed him for our assault on the flag? Got to be a pretty big motivating factor don't you think?

Yeah - I won't argue with that.

If he truly is the poison you're painting him to be though - it would have been obvious a long time ago. He's not smart enough to hide it.

It's fine for administrators to take risks, we want them to. But if they don't come off there still has to be accountability.

Would the reason that Sydney wanted white to leave was to do with salary cap issues? (they couldnt pay White an estimated $250-300 grand AND pay tiprat his millions)

No. Plenty of room in the cap. We were paying Bradshaw last year for example although he had retired injured.

If he truly is the poison you're painting him to be though - it would have been obvious a long time ago. He's not smart enough to hide it.

It's fine for administrators to take risks, we want them to. But if they don't come off there still has to be accountability.

so who paid for the Carey debacle?

Within moments of the announcement Tippett was nominating for the PSD, GWS have Tweeted the news.

We're either trying to screw with his and/or the Swans heads, or we're going to have a red hot go.

I'd really love GWS to have a crack, and I actually think it would be a smart decision for them to do so. Once he got there he would play and give his all the same as he would at Sydney, and get the same money.

However I've felt all along for some reason that they're playing games. Sheedy would be enjoying doing so as well. Will certainly add some interest to the PS Draft either way though.

There might be plenty of room seemingly but you would expect guys like Kennedy (massive increase) Hannebery, Jetta, Johnson, Parker, Grundy, Jack to get pretty sizeable upgrades when they do their next deals.

Having said that it could probably be assumed Goodes, O'Keefe and Bolton will retire soon (although how much of their contracts are taken up in veteran category??)

The big killer would be if the AFL took away the million dollars. This would hurt GWS too but GWS has a lot of young players on minimum wages.

do we know what the PSD picks and order is?

If they choose to participate, the current order, which can change up to Friday is
1 GWS
2 Bullies
3 Port
4 Richmond
5 Essendon
6 Carlton
7 St.Kilda
8 Collingwood
9 Sydney
10 GWS
11 Richmond
12 Sydney
13 Sydney

Given the large number of key position players of high draft standing on the GWS books and the fact only a few days ago they made a press statement about asking players to accept salaries below market value in the future to "keep the group together" and the fact the only talk of Tippett seems to be from Sheedy the talking megaphone, I don't really think they are looking at drafting Tippett. Far too many risks and places the future stability of their hugely impressive list in jeopardy.

Think we just have to suck it up and accept that the Swans is where he is going.

Don't expect a knee jerk reaction to the cost of living allowance by the AFL as it will hurt their baby GWS just as much as the Swans'. They may have a lot of young kids but at the end of 2013 they need to resign most of the 2011 draftees to new contracts and heaps of those players will want a stack more money. We need to suck that up too.

Come to think of it, this whole saga sucks. WTF didn't we trade KT to Brisbane last year, heads must roll for not doing that deal!

There might be plenty of room seemingly but you would expect guys like Kennedy (massive increase) Hannebery, Jetta, Johnson, Parker, Grundy, Jack to get pretty sizeable upgrades when they do their next deals.

Having said that it could probably be assumed Goodes, O'Keefe and Bolton will retire soon (although how much of their contracts are taken up in veteran category??)

The big killer would be if the AFL took away the million dollars. This would hurt GWS too but GWS has a lot of young players on minimum wages.

looking at our list the likes of goodes, lrt, bolton, shaw, mattner and ROK nearing the end. Also Bradshaw, Seaby, TDL and Moore coming off the books this year and white next year. couple this with front loaded contracts such as reid and rohans with the 350k increase in cap and 600k for 2014 we are ok in being able to afford tippett.

interestingly the AFL might not try to take back the CoL as this would also effect GWS

I don't disagree with that either. I am sure you are like me and completely surprised by how badly Tippett comes off after all this. My main gripe against him is how greed took over (some may say it was always there) and how he incomprehensibly shafted us by choosing Sydney. They had the worst possible draft pick, and they were clearly made aware of this agreement and were not prepared to even meet us half way. He had to have known the trade was going to be anything but fair and equitable. Worse yet, is to believe that perhaps he wanted us to get shafted? What sort of player does that? The way he's treated his team mates is unfathomable and IMO, unforgivable. Is he poison? My answer to that has to be yes. I truly feel for the Club that ends up with him. Sydney stating they will pick up Joel in the rooky draft just perpetuates what happened with us - only this time, they are doing whatever they can to get him.

so why did we fly him over?

Because Sydney kept insisting that he was part of the deal. Due diligence to ensure we weren't saying no to something that might have worked I guess. We never wanted him, we only looked at him to show that we were trying to trade in good faith. They were not.

If they choose to participate, the current order, which can change up to Friday is
1 GWS
2 Bullies
3 Port
4 Richmond
5 Essendon
6 Carlton
7 St.Kilda
8 Collingwood
9 Sydney
10 GWS
11 Richmond
12 Sydney
13 Sydney

Given the large number of key position players of high draft standing on the GWS books and the fact only a few days ago they made a press statement about asking players to accept salaries below market value in the future to "keep the group together" and the fact the only talk of Tippett seems to be from Sheedy the talking megaphone, I don't really think they are looking at drafting Tippett. Far too many risks and places the future stability of their hugely impressive list in jeopardy.

Think we just have to suck it up and accept that the Swans is where he is going.

Don't expect a knee jerk reaction to the cost of living allowance by the AFL as it will hurt their baby GWS just as much as the Swans'. They may have a lot of young kids but at the end of 2013 they need to resign most of the 2011 draftees to new contracts and heaps of those players will want a stack more money. We need to suck that up too.

Come to think of it, this whole saga sucks. WTF didn't we trade KT to Brisbane last year, heads must roll for not doing that deal!

Where does adelaide sit? they would have to be in at pick 9 (Joyce)

One thing I just cant get my head around EC is that there was always a feeling the $kirt would leave, why the hell the Crows did all this to try and keep him is just staggering.

my thoughts on this are that trading him would have forced the disclosure of his deal. to be traded brisbane would have had to pick up the existing contract. (i'm not sure if the old one is torn up and a new one negotiated with the new club, or if it just gets "reassigned") either way, it would have come out at trade time that we had a dodgy deal.

i think we chose to keep him hoping we could sign him again and none of this would have been known.

Personally, I don't really care if Yippett goes to Sydney or GWS. In a couple of years GWS will go right past Sydney as a bigger premiership threat (thanks to Vlad's unbelievably generous concessions).

Like others though, I suspect Sheedy is just stirring and pretending interest so Sydney will have to pay more for him. If GWS was really interested surely they wouldn't trumpet it so much, surely, it's just pushing up the price Yippett will put on his head.

I really hope Tiprat gets de-registered for a long long time though, and then destroys player harmony at Sydney - quite likely from what we know about him.

Sucked in Sydney I reckon.

I don't disagree with that either. I am sure you are like me and completely surprised by how badly Tippett comes off after all this. My main gripe against him is how greed took over (some may say it was always there) and how he incomprehensibly shafted us by choosing Sydney. They had the worst possible draft pick, and they were clearly made aware of this agreement and were not prepared to even meet us half way. He had to have known the trade was going to be anything but fair and equitable. Worse yet, is to believe that perhaps he wanted us to get shafted? What sort of player does that? The way he's treated his team mates is unfathomable and IMO, unforgivable. Is he poison? My answer to that has to be yes. I truly feel for the Club that ends up with him. Sydney stating they will pick up Joel in the rooky draft just perpetuates what happened with us - only this time, they are doing whatever they can to get him.
Maybe because he wanted Brissie last year and we wouldn't do the trade? Makes sense to me.