Tippett's Gone - READ RULES BEFORE POSTING

Which AFC deserter were/are you most salty towards?

He missed 4 games and was concussed in 3. That's almost 1/3 of the season eliminated completely. Then there's the games he played upon returning, where his confidence was clearly way down, resulting in a whole bunch of sub-par performances. If we count those games as being concussion affected, then his count of concussion affected games comes to 12 - from a 25 game season.

He polled 53 votes in the games where he was fully effective. It's not unreasonable to extrapolate that to a total of approx 80-90 votes, if he hadn't effectively lost 12 games to concussion. That would be enough votes to rank him approx 4th on our B&F ladder, well ahead of Walker.

*** Shoulda, coulda, woulda, didn't. If my auntie had balls, she'd be my uncle. Yes, I'm well aware that this is a hypothetical suggestion. The main point is that his relatively poor B&F result (53 votes - 15th overall) has been heavily impacted by the concussions he suffered repeatedly through the latter half of the season.

Give it up Vader..

Devastated if he goes to Sydney. I think the general AFL world will see Kurt for what he is if he takes the Sydney offer.

Concussion 1 was against North Melbourne in Round 13. He ran out the next week to play against Richmond, was well enough to kick 3 goals, take 6 grabs and get 2 votes in the B+F.

Concussions 2 and 3 caused him to miss Rounds 16, 18 and 19 and 20. In round 21, he had no impact against Brisbane, but had 18 touches, 11 grabs, 3 goals and got 4 B+F votes in Round 22 against Melbourne.

At best, you can come up with 8 matches where his voting potential was affected by concussion - the 3 he got hurt, the 4 he missed, and the Brisbane game.

Another way to look at it was that after Round 12 before the concussion hit, Tippett had 38 votes, which was outside the top 5 at that stage (Reilly and Jacobs were tied for 4th at 40 votes). By comparison, Tex had 36 votes - and had served a 2 game suspension for tackling Harry Taylor.

Extrapolating based on 12 concussion affected games is simply wrong. Extrapolating Tippett's season as being better than Tex's is very dubious.

It's really hard to go through and say conclusively how the concussions affected him from week to week. What we do know for sure is that before he got concussed at all, Kurt had 38 votes from 11 games. If he kept accumulating at that rate and played every game, he would've been 4th in the B&F.

Of course, you can make similar arguments for a lot of guys. If Tex doesn't miss 6 games and you extrapolate his votes, he finishes equal 2nd with Dangerfield. If Matty Wright was picked from round 1, he finishes top 5. Ditto Bernie Vince if he doesn't get suspended/injured.

Was anyone saying tips season was better than Tex's? :eek:

Someone suggested exactly that.

It's not unreasonable to extrapolate that to a total of approx 80-90 votes, if he hadn't effectively lost 12 games to concussion. That would be enough votes to rank him approx 4th on our B&F ladder, well ahead of Walker.

No information but think Lions have been clever through this fiasco by looking like for almost a week when Sydney etc offers were supposedly becoming strong chances to get $urt .
But waited to last few days to get really serious and think they just might win their boy on the finishing line.
Certainly think have a lot more to offer than Swans and would add to their list better than other 2 teams .
But $urt it is time mate surely you know where you want to go now and lets face it extra $50K is only extra $25K in pocket mate.

After Kurt spends 3.5 hours deciding what to have for breakfast, he will then spend another 2 hours deciding whether to floss. After that he needs to sort out what handbag goes with his outfit, so thats another 3 hours. He is going shopping with his mum so its another 3 hours in a food court trying to decide whats for lunch. Then he will need an afternoon nap after his stressful day. So expect a decision about 9pm after hes had time for his desert to settle.

When heading off shopping with mum he almost knocks his head on the car door.. 2 extra precautionary hours sleep required and a thorough examination by a doctor.. Mum, dad and Joel all breathe a sigh of relief that Kurt will be ok as no contact was made.

Devastated if he goes to Sydney. I think the general AFL world will see Kurt for what he is if he takes the Sydney offer.

I think the general AFL world, and world in general will see it as someone setting themselves up for their future. Happens everyday in the real world too. I can see the headlines now "shock, horror: man accepts best deal".

No information but think Lions have been clever through this fiasco by looking like for almost a week when Sydney etc offers were supposedly becoming strong chances to get $urt .
But waited to last few days to get really serious and think they just might win their boy on the finishing line.
Certainly think have a lot more to offer than Swans and would add to their list better than other 2 teams .
But $urt it is time mate surely you know where you want to go now and lets face it extra $50K is only extra $25K in pocket mate.

Having Alistair Lynch in Tippett's management team would be a big help.. They would know exactly what is going on unlike the Crows

I think the general AFL world, and world in general will see it as someone setting themselves up for their future. Happens everyday in the real world too. I can see the headlines now "shock, horror: man accepts best deal".

I think there'd be a lot more animosity than that Jenny.

Only within our club. Most will see it as someone looking out for his own best interests, which, let's face it people do every single day.

If it was a player from port, we'd laugh probably.

It's always about the money with you eastcoastcrow. You've mentioned more than once on the punting board how delighted you were with Adelaide losing because you bet against them. Fortunately not everyone thinks like you do. Plenty of players stay on less money than they could get elsewhere, be it for loyalty, potential success, environment.

Lets get one point clear, I have never been delighted with the Crows ever losing.

Yes I am punter first and a supporter second. I do make cold calculated decisions in my betting. In fact I cannot recall for a very very long time ever betting against the Crows if ever, in all honesty! I have definitely taken the handicap if I thought they would lose at small odds. As a heads up, the Crows losing by 10+ goals was the same as the Hawks winning HH so I did back the Crows at the handicap. As I expected them to lose.

Its a bit akin to a parent that has two sons playing against each other in a game! Who do you choose?

Hypothetical's are a bit useless exercise IMO as most people make the politically correct answer. Nevertheless I will try, if I offered you as a punter $100k for the Crows to lose a flag or the Crows to win a flag and for you to not win that money, what would you take? Im asking this of you as a supporter not as a player!

If you are a realistic punter there is no way you could back the Crows to win HH every game of the season, if your a gambler thats a different situation which I think you may be.

For the record, some of my big wins this season have been as a result of the Crows winning (Blues, Swans and Freo) similarly some of them have come with the Crows losing.(Swans and Roos)

What i dont understand, however, are the legal (if any) or other ramifications if the Crows do not adhere to that gentleman's agreement and therefore how binding is it?
In addition, that "gentleman's agreement" (if it does have any legal "binding" and not just a moral one), seems to have a major problem with the interpretation of the trade compensation to be received by the Crows. An argument could be made supporting both interpretations.

A "Gentleman's Agreement" is non binding. Each party relies on the other to honour their agreement but there are no legal ramifications for dishonourment.

There used to be social ramifications when it was extremely unethical to dishonour a gentlemen's agreement. Now days your just considered stupid if you don't get a written, formal agreement.

I can understand the money side of it, hey, even Ablett was tempted to leave a premiership team for $$.

What I don't understand or respect is the way he has handled himself.

He has lost so much respect in the footy world.

Cannot wait for when he plays against the crows next year, Tex and Petrenko will give him the most allmighty sledge.

[color=][/color]

Only within our club. Most will see it as someone looking out for his own best interests, which, let's face it people do every single day.

There's been quite a few posters from other clubs saying how ****ed off they'd be if KT went to a club other than the GCS. I think that's a good indication. Plus the mood of the media's reaction to KT stretching everything out.

I can understand the money side of it, hey, even Ablett was tempted to leave a premiership team for $$.

What I don't understand or respect is the way he has handled himself.

He has lost so much respect in the footy world.

Cannot wait for when he plays against the crows next year, Tex and Petrenko will give him the most allmighty sledge.

This I agree with!

Tippetts gone and this thread has almost hit the 100 page mark lol.

If it continues up to the point where the deal is done it could hit a fabulous double century of pages lol.

Tippetts gone and this thread has almost hit the 100 page mark lol.

If it continues up to the point where the deal is done it could hit a fabulous double century of pages lol.

To match the other one that speculated if he'd stay or go!

There's been quite a few posters from other clubs saying how ****ed off they'd be if KT went to a club other than the GCS. I think that's a good indication. Plus the mood of the media's reaction to KT stretching everything out.

They don't really care. It doesn't affect them. They might think lesser of the twat, but they don't really care. If it was their mate from work that had accepted a better offer from a rival company, they'd probably be a tad envious but mostly happy for him. WE care, because it's happened TO US.

To match the other one that speculated if he'd stay or go!

Thanks to Turt Kippett everyone on here is turning on each other lol.

We gave him a chance and we are not stopping him making some more money but he could assist given we took a chance and drafted him.

Who knows if ended up in the Demons, he could be washed up by now!

If there was no salary cap, which clubs would be the powerhouse in the comp?

Pies, Eagles, Sydney and Crows - not necessarily in that order!

Hawthorn currently have no salary cap and seem to be going ok...

Has anyone heard of any Hawks players testing free agency or looking for a few extra dollars or years on their contract?
Didnt think so....? And yet Collingwood seem to lose a player every year...

[color=][/color]

That's all Kurt does.. Unfortunately for him football is a team sport built on mates, passion, playing for each other, knowing the man next to you would die for you and not for a bucket of bank notes.. These are the things that build team spirit and clubs who go somewhere, not someone playing a professional sport "coz it makes me heaps of money to set myself up bro"..

Not many players in the AFL actually chase money, it's more common they stay put and accept less money because they want to play for the club and their team mates.. Or they go home.. If Kurt was straight up and simply missed home too much and wanted to go back, I wouldn't have a problem.. Same with Gunston, don't care he wanted to go home.. There's a way to do it though..