Titans 86 - 81 36ers

• Thread starter Thread starter Fall Out Boy

F

Fall Out Boy

Fantastic win by the Titans, shame about the injury to Anstey.

Didn't an injured D-Mac give Brett Maher a touch up

Originally posted by eastaugh36
Well the Victoria Titans are Adelaides b***h !!!!!!

And those bitches just spanked the 36ers.

the titans are a joke !

What does that make the 36ers?

Originally posted by ant
Man, what a chump.....

That "chump" won the game single handedly, 26 and 12, clear MVP.

As much as I hate it being a 36er fan, we got bitch slapped. From the reports, got spanked for most of the night and then decided to come home hard. Too late by then. Aint no bitches around now, its all on the line in game three.

P&P, he's still a chump. Anytime you call a sweep over a team, predict a 2 nil series whitewash, and you lose game 1, then you're a chump. You have to deliver. At the moment it's one win a piece. I don't see no sweep happening Chrissy boy so back to the drawing board mate.

Thank goodness for the Titans that Chris, and the rest of the team actually showed up tonight :p

Having said all that, gutsy win by the Titans, they played great basketball in the first 3 quarters, and despite doing their best to, dare I say it, choke, in the final quarter, they held on to win like the very good team that they are. Just as I predicted they would.

The Sixers were very poor for most of the game, missing shots and struggling to get open looks for Maher and Farley. The Titans were suffocating us and then suddenly, we turned up the D a bit and got our flowing game going. I loved Farley's D in that last quarter against D-Mac, made him look very foolish at times and that was the catalyst for our comeback. Stiffy got into it as well but we could never tie it up, they kept one step ahead and continued to play solid defence even though their offence became almost non-existent.

I didn't think Maher and D-Mac were matched up head to head that often, with Maher pretty quiet while Darryl fought through the pain to play an excellent game and lead his team to victory.

I also enjoyed Farley missed dunk (as he got the ball I actually thought, "He's going to miss this.") :D Ah, he's done that a few times this season but he did his best to recover his blooper with a sterling last quarter.

Let's hope Anstey's alright to play on Sunday, though it looks unlikely. He was the man for the Titans tonight, finally pulling the digit out (I reckon he realised he better do something) and we couldn't stop him. Having said that, they have an able replacement in Brett "I left Adelaide to play in finals and championships, doh!" Wheeler.

Game 3 should be a ripper, I look forward to it with excitement and trepidation. :)

Originally posted by thehardaway
As much as I hate it being a 36er fan, we got bitch slapped. From the reports, got spanked for most of the night and then decided to come home hard. Too late by then. Aint no bitches around now, its all on the line in game three.

What's all this bitches crap I'm reading :p

It wasn't too late, we had time, the Titans were tightening up but we couldn't score the tying basket. Victoria's offence was falling apart but their defence never wavered and they were able to pull it out. A thoroughly deserved win.

I hope our boys realise what an opportunity we have in game 3, a home game to make the finals. No respected basketball expert gave us much of a hope this year, we were freely tipped to miss the top 6, and we're just one win away from a GF berth.

I think if we enter the game with this mindset, we'll be alright, but if we look at game 2 as the one that slipped away, then we'll be in trouble. Heads up Hardaway!! :)

Originally posted by ant
BTW P&P, since the demise of the Supercats, I take it you're a diehard Titans fan now? :confused:

Wash your mouth out young man. I don't switch clubs, EVER.

Hate the Titans with a passion, just realise that they are a quality outfit.

Originally posted by phatandphreaky

Wash your mouth out young man. I don't switch clubs, EVER.

Hate the Titans with a passion, just realise that they are a quality outfit.

Alright P&P, though I reckon you should consider joining them, I don't think you hate them that much because you looked up a few quotes and were quite damning in defence of them. I too respect their basketball abilities but would never start a thread stating how good they were in defeating another team. I don't care what anyone says :p

You did a good job of defending them tonight on Bigfooty and they can always use more knowledgeble fans, like yourself. You'd fit in very well over there....Geelong Cats (I think), Victoria Titans.....I'd certainly think about it PP. :)

Can someone tell me about Anstey's injury?

I only got home 30 minutes ago and didn't see the incident.

We lost Jason Smith for about 8 months after doing his knee against the 36ers over there in the playoffs . With D Mac suffering more and more with Osteitis Pubis we can't afford to lose Chris.

Originally posted by sainter
Can someone tell me about Anstey's injury?

I only got home 30 minutes ago and didn't see the incident.

We lost Jason Smith for about 8 months after doing his knee against the 36ers over there in the playoffs . With D Mac suffering more and more with Osteitis Pubis we can't afford to lose Chris.

I think Chris rebounded the ball and Matt Garrison came over the top for a hard foul. Chris kinda fell over and his leg got caught up under Matt's foot as the big Sixer landed and it twisted badly as he hit the court. I hope that sounds clear enough....maybe P&P can help you out for a better description.

You have enough depth to cover him sainter, goodness knows what we'd do if Paul Rees was unavailable :)

I'm not losing heart. Theres a series to be won. What has happened in the past, whether it be Game 1, 2, last year, last century etc, is history. Its a one game match, winner goes to the GF, loser gets 3rd ( I think) In the words of Wayne and Garth "GAME ON!!'

Originally posted by ant

Alright P&P, though I reckon you should consider joining them, I don't think you hate them that much because you looked up a few quotes and were quite damning in defence of them. I too respect their basketball abilities but would never start a thread stating how good they were in defeating another team. I don't care what anyone says :p

You did a good job of defending them tonight on Bigfooty and they can always use more knowledgeble fans, like yourself. You'd fit in very well over there....Geelong Cats (I think), Victoria Titans.....I'd certainly think about it PP. :)

I only started the thread because one irrational and quite silly 36ers supporter (not you ;) ) was talking trash.

Being a Melbournian i would naturally prefer the Vic sides to do well.

I just have a lot of respect for Brian Goorjian (the winningest coach ever) and the squad he has put together.

I only started the thread because one irrational and quite silly 36ers supporter (not you ;) ) was talking trash.

Being a Melbournian i would naturally prefer the Vic sides to do well.

Fair enough PP...I can understand that.

I just have a lot of respect for Brian Goorjian (the winningest coach ever) and the squad he has put together.

I can 'just' accept that ;) ....does that winningest tag refer to championships won or games overall?? ;) I think I read somewhere his teams have made the last 8 semi-finals and been in 5 of the last 6 finals, that's a formidable record...he must have at least 4 or so championships too I reckon by now... a wonderful coach.

And it's one hell of a squad he's got there too, top of the ladder team, game 3 should be a win I think, with our without D. Smith and Anstey. Talent will always win out in the end.

Originally posted by ant

I think Chris rebounded the ball and Matt Garrison came over the top for a hard foul. Chris kinda fell over and his leg got caught up under Matt's foot as the big Sixer landed and it twisted badly as he hit the court. I hope that sounds clear enough....maybe P&P can help you out for a better description.

You have enough depth to cover him sainter, goodness knows what we'd do if Paul Rees was unavailable :)

Thanks Ant :)

The Titans do have a lot of depth but as usual it is being stretched to its limit during playoff time. :(

Being a former North Melbourne Giants fan, I'll bite my tongue regarding Paul Rees. His performance in the 1994 grand final series makes him fine by me. ;)

Fantastic win by the Titans, shame about the injury to Anstey.

Didn't an injured D-Mac give Brett Maher a touch up

And those bitches just spanked the 36ers.

What does that make the 36ers?

That "chump" won the game single handedly, 26 and 12, clear MVP.

We still have homecourt advantage and if we do manage to lose it then we havent deserved to make the grand final so well done to you, but the bottom line is that the titans are underachievers and nothing less than a championship this year will change my mind on that. From what I hear you arent even a titans fan so "wassup wit dat??????" Anyway , if there is any sweet justice then smyth will be celebrating a game 3 victory over boy goorjs mob of loud mouths.

Re: Re: Titans 86 - 81 36ers

From what I hear you arent even a titans fan so "wassup wit dat??????"

I just thought you were a little premature and arrogant in your claims after beating them in game 1.

Calling them Adelaide's bitch was pretty silly, wait til you beat them in game 3 and then say it.

BTW 36ers by 5 in game 3.

Re: Re: Re: Titans 86 - 81 36ers

I just thought you were a little premature and arrogant in your claims after beating them in game 1.

Calling them Adelaide's bitch was pretty silly, wait til you beat them in game 3 and then say it.

BTW 36ers by 5 in game 3.

look at anstey , he is a player and was spouting about winning 2-0 (before the series started, at least I waited for a game) and then the big guy with the small brain was saying they would go and kick the tigers a*** in the finals !

Well done Titans in game two. They came out and did exactly what they should have done in game one. It was a frustrating game for me to watch, seeing the sixers not playing *great* ball, yet keeping in it in some way or another.

Smith really came up with top plays and looked like a man possessed - and D-Mac was good on the penetration along with Dickel when he was on. Though, Farley looked like a man MORE possessed when he was defending D-Mac later in the game!! It was interesting to see him get robbed of the ball when he's always the one stealing it himself!

The Titans first 5 seconds of defence when we crossed the line was a big reason for us taking silly shots. Often we couldn't get past the top of the three point line because of that initial defence.

Game three will be interesting - obviously I hope the sixers get up but against Victoria, I'm not 100% confident. Like in footy, finals are a different ball game so to be honest, with Victoria finishing on top, Adelaide winning most this years playoff games, Victoria losing a few in a row, Titans without Anstey (arrogant, but great player), Sixers needing to improve offence, and the game is in Adelaide... really make for a GREAT third game of the series.

I'm really looking forward to it, may the best team (on the night) win.

GO SIXERS!

P.S. about 5 minutes into the second, I picked Titans by 5... I wish I wasn't right!

Re: Re: Re: Re: Titans 86 - 81 36ers

look at anstey , he is a player and was spouting about winning 2-0 (before the series started, at least I waited for a game) and then the big guy with the small brain was saying they would go and kick the tigers a*** in the finals !

Yeah and last night he did his talking on the court, dropping 26 and 12, grabbing the MVP and winning the game for his team