TJ hit the Freeway!

IN the paper it said he is contracted till the end of next season, and the club has stressed that they have not been in talks with any other clubs to where he will be next season

Johnstone = Andrew McLeod on the HBF

Port did the same with Peter Burgoyne and had fantastic success. I reckon do the same, could really work out. The half back flank is usually for the most unaccountable player in the entire team, suits Travis doesn't it?:p

My thought are Meesen for pick 37 or Meesen for free. It's upto you guys. (Words of Melbourne recruiting manager)

Spot on we shud not give up 21, pick 37 no more no less
Hopfully we can get him in the PSD. Assume cartlon and West Coast do a deal do you think richmond wud take him instead? (dependant on who else wants to be traded and other good players ending up in the PSD)

Well it is obvious that we need something to ignite us on the feild to match us having a new coach who could be the real deal. It would be ludicrous to trade Johnstone he is a magician when he has the ball in his hands, and there is something about the way Bruce moves across the ground and his ability to do something special. Green ( who l like the most ) is probably the only one out of the thee that l would trade not for his inabilities but for what he has the ability to do. He is very versatile being an onballer floating across half back or going forward. I just he could have done more over the last few years. Anyway if we want to trade to get something good one of these three have to be traded and l would have to go with Green.

LOL Another funny one.

People Brad Green is tradeable but for gods sake he's not useless and he is a consistent good player, so stop spouting crap.
I agree with you Dez, this is getting rediculous with "this player can go, that player can go".

If Geelong got rid of all the players that had a poor season last year (and quite a few of them did drop off) they probably would not have won the grand final this year. You don't just get rid of experienced players based on one season unless they are geniuinely crap players. I thought Green was not too bad, lets face it the whole team needs a kick up the backside.

Thats right I think it would be good if Travis Johnstone along with Cameron Bruce and Brad Green were traded. After watching Geelong on the weekend we are are no chance for a flag next year or even the year after. We don't need a to fully rebuild or have a cleanout as such but if we can get good young kids and or draft picks for these three then we would be able to draft some key defenders.

With the midfield group of McLean, Sylvia, Jones. Forwards like Bate and Newton and backman like Bell and Rivers we are on the way to building something good.

ps. i also think its a great title ;)

Yep time to clean house and start fresh.

No, no it's not.

Which of these players would you like to help you in a Bar Fight?

TJ too slow and wouldn't get there in time.
Green one punch and he went to marshmallow.
Bruce tried some fantastic moves but none come off.

None of these players have trade value the question you must ask yourself is why?

Hmmm... getting rid of all three? That would screw with the club more than you think. That's 3 players who have all played around the 150 game mark for the club and who are all vital parts to our team.

Your argument isn't all that good although I'm not sure if you were totally serious or not. TJ I could handle leaving, but not Bruce and Green as well. I actually think that Green (while I did throw him up as trade bait!) has come along way over the past few seasons and if Bruce could learn to kick properly then he would be up there with the elite.

But the playing group would suffer big time if all 3 were traded away... plus it wouldn't happen anyway.

Haha awesome avatar.

Which of these players would you like to help you in a Bar Fight?

TJ too slow and wouldn't get there in time.
Green one punch and he went to marshmallow.
Bruce tried some fantastic moves but none come off.

None of these players have trade value the question you must ask yourself is why?

TJ would be no hope as he would be glassy eyed and licking everyone within the immediate vicinity.

Tell that to Port. They delisted 10 senior list players in 2006.
Yep I was aware of that but they got rid of a few too many players at one go. Even though most of them were at the end of their career many of them were made scape goats eg Picket, James. If you remember Mark Williams last year he said that he regretted getting rid of Picket and that they got carried away with their delistings. Sure they made the GF this year but they were lucky to get there and got the 119 point result fitting for an unexperienced team.

I can't remember Willo saying that, and I don't think they ever regretted getting rid of Pickett. Also this years draft is supposedly weak and last years was the super-draft so I wouldn't be trimming to many, unless you have players like Rodan who you want to replace them with, because you might score one good player but not 3 in you used picks 80, 81 and 82.

It was one of those shows like on the couch where they quized him about how well Picket was going at Melbourne and comments he had made to the effect that Picket was going well and they could really use a hard player like him. Obviously it wasn't until Picket started playing really well that he wished they had him back but Williams definitely conveyed that on the show.

Mate I could of got 42 possessions in that game. No pressure whatsoever let alone. No one was on him let alone tagging him.
Now mate, I know things are going quite rosy for your good self in the school footy scene but lets not get ahead of ourselves alright??
Love from the mysterious #10;)

Alrighty then..... (read this and you have to agree....)

Someone said something about Nic Fosdike. Yeah he is Ok and wins a bit of the footy but the same as Greeny, Bruce and Trav.... is he going to be there for our next flag? I reckon the answers no.

People are suggesting ways to get Travis and Brad Green to be more of an asset for our team... it's to late for that. By the team they retire we most likely will NOT have a flag which is what footy is all about.

And as for the arguement of 'Travis is a star why would you trade him?' 'Green and Bruce are good players'. Nathan Thompson was a good player, Jonathon Hay was a good player but the Hawks traded them for 2 first round picks and i think a 2nd rounder. Their departures also fast tracked the development of Franklin, Roughead, Boyle and even Williams and from memory they used one of the picks to get Grant Birchall.

'Western' says we need a CHF... how can get one of them plus a FB and a CHB with our Pick Four? You have to give something to get something and Bruce Green and TJ would fetch something good from teams like Adelaide, Fremantle, Sydney etc.

RandB... Now buddy, you may see it as a case of quote 'this player can go, that player can go' but its not. It's only guys who i believe we will not win a flag with that can be used to get us players that will win us a flag. And as for you saying Port are no good because they got belted in the Grand Final ...you are a joke. They have a team set up for the next ten years for god sake! They have been able to make the Grand Final just three years after winning a premiership... Melbourne could learn a lot from them. They cut players to bring in young guys who are going to take them places rather than doing a Melbourne and keeping on guys who are good but unfortunately wont win them a flag and accept mediocore 5th and 6th placed finishes. Now wonder we haven't won a flag in 43 years.

If we just continue on as we are then in five years time we will have a good midfield, average forward line, laughable backline and pathetic ruck division. Look at the last few premiership backman......
2000 - Fletcher
2001, '02, '03 - Mal Michael, Leppitsch
2004 - Wakelin
2005 - Leo Barry
2006 - Glass
2007 - Scarlett, Harley, Egan (to a point)
2008/'09 - Carroll / Holland?? Dont think so.
I am willing to endure a few years of pain due to the trading of Bruce, Green, Travis and others if it means building a backline to win us a flag.

TJ has been frustrating since 2002 when he ripped it up. he just has not performed since then, thats too long. Move him on if we can get a good kid.

We desperately need a key forward more then a key backman. Neitz and Robbo have been carrying the load well for the last 5 yrs but their time is pretty much up, at best maybe 2 seasons left. We need a young forward coming through to carry the team up forward. Miller was the plan in this succession and he has gone nowhere this year.

Our forward line is going to look like the bulldogs does now unless a kid breaks through and starts to show something up forward next year.

Bate has been good, but i view him sort of the Robbo replacement, we need a big power forward that can step into Neitz's place.

Before this season i thought our list was about right for a crack at a flag, how wrong i was.. yes we had injuries but that was no excuse for the year.

TJ hit the Freeway!