Todays training?

Jul 7, 2005
Just wondering how the boys went at training this afternoon?
I heard Jesse Smith was not present as he was undergoing clean up surgery on his damaged ankle.
Any reports?

All trained the house down.

All?
Another site said Harro, Shagga, Thommo and urch all trained away from the main group. Urch has hammy problems again and Harro calf and OP problems.

was that surgery that jws have like for damage he has done to the broken anklle recently or was it just part of the process of healing

Clean up process as part of recovery, after you have such an injury and begin training, some damaged bone and ligament portions loosen and need to be cleaned up. Apparantly will be fine!
Harro worries me more, OP and calf.
Urch is gone! More hammy problems.

Clean up process as part of recovery, after you have such an injury and begin training, some damaged bone and ligament portions loosen and need to be cleaned up. Apparantly will be fine!

Bit early to be making that call. A set back and obviously another kick in the guts for him - but if he's on his feet doing light work this arvo, it can't be too serious of an injury.

True, but very hard with his history, I hope i'm wrong!

How long will this set him back???

Will be back in full training after the Xmas break. Will be fine!

where are you getting your facts mate urch and grima have been training since the first week of the finals, they did this to get upto speed with the fitness of the other players, both went to the intensive 3 day camp.

both are looking forward to the xmas break as they have been training fully with squad. xmas they are looking forward to is the break because they are working hard, even on there thursday day off to keep the legs stronger.

so before you guess at the fitness of players talk to them as i did tonight at the shinboner dinner.

as for j. smith he is getting surgery today to remove scar tissue and is still in great pain with his injury.

where are you getting your facts mate urch and grima have been training since the first week of the finals, they did this to get upto speed with the fitness of the other players, both went to the intensive 3 day camp.

both are looking forward to the xmas break as they have been training fully with squad. xmas they are looking forward to is the break because they are working hard, even on there thursday day off to keep the legs stronger.

so before you guess at the fitness of players talk to them as i did tonight at the shinboner dinner.

as for j. smith he is getting surgery today to remove scar tissue and is still in great pain with his injury.

Mighty Mick, they may have been training the house down, and i know they were but that does not mean they will be injury free for the rest of there lifes, urch may have tweaked his hammy, and thats why he would have been on light duty at training tonite, i think 71011 is right with his facts as you dont train the house down and then do light duties out of the blue, and even tho urch told you tonite at some kind of dinner that he was fine, i dont think he would be letting on very much even if it was just a tweak as he wouldnt want supporters frustrated and thinking that he is dead wood

That may be so, Lidge. But, sheesh, given the way the last few years have gone, and given that the ink is still yet to dry on his new contract, even Siddhartha himself could be forgiven for getting a little frustrated with Urchy right now.

And frankly, I wouldn't be surprised at all if he glossed over an(other) injury when speaking to mighty mick at the Shinboners Dinner.

You know, given how lynching hurts and everything.

Mighty Mick, they may have been training the house down, and i know they were but that does not mean they will be injury free for the rest of there lifes, urch may have tweaked his hammy, and thats why he would have been on light duty at training tonite, i think 71011 is right with his facts as you dont train the house down and then do light duties out of the blue, and even tho urch told you tonite at some kind of dinner that he was fine, i dont think he would be letting on very much even if it was just a tweak as he wouldnt want supporters frustrated and thinking that he is dead wood

shinboner spirit dinner and he has signed on for another yr, and he wasnt showing any signs of injury as he did at last yrs dinners when injured.

71011 another without the facts person who trys to shoot someone posting fact, are you aperry lover also. :rolleyes:

I too went to training yesterday afternoon after recieving a txt from the club.

They had a couple of Marquees set up selling merchandise, beer and wine, memberships, Sausage sizzle, Bruiser, lucky dip and a jumping castle for the kids. The players spent the first 20 minutes signing autographs and mingling with the kids, around 200 people attended.

Plenty to keep the kids busy. The club should consider doing this on a smaller scale once a month during the season. Say the last training session each month people will get into the habit of attending and it will help the club to rasie a bit of extra cash and create an inclusive atmosphere for members of all ages.

I was very surprised Urch is still on the list - would rather have flung him given his injury history and either taken a kid or dabbled with a recycled - nothing to lose.

I see Harro regularly during the week at St Kilda/Port Melbourne Beach, him and Sinclair and most likely some others must train there during the week, and they are in full training gear, pulled up to the lights yesterday and almost spat my drink out when i looked over and saw Harro bopping to some 1980's chick song in his blue mazda.

They had a couple of Marquees set up selling merchandise, beer and wine, memberships, Sausage sizzle, Bruiser, lucky dip and a jumping castle for the kids. The players spent the first 20 minutes signing autographs and mingling with the kids, around 200 people attended.

Which queue was the longest ?

shinboner spirit dinner and he has signed on for another yr, and he wasnt showing any signs of injury as he did at last yrs dinners when injured.

71011 another without the facts person who trys to shoot someone posting fact, are you aperry lover also. :rolleyes:

You could be right mick, but he doesnt train on light duties for nothing, so there must be the slightest little thing wrong with hit AT least, and im pretty sure out of all seasons he has being playing footy, this is the one where if he did have a little injury he wouldnt be telling true die hard supporters like your self mick, but like i said i could be wrong

Was also at the Shinboner Spirit dinner last night and had a chance to talk to both Callum and Blake.

Callum felt a very slight twinge in his hammy and reported it straight away and was put on light training as a precautionary measure. Does not want to take any chances. Will resume full training after Xmas

As Mighty Mick said Callum and Blake have been on special training since the finals. They have been trained by our fitness guy Paul Turk. They are both the fittest they have ever been, in terms of strength and endurance.

Callum has lost 5 kilos.

Blake has lost 8 kilos. He was 90 kilos now down to 82
says that he thinks because he bulked up it may have made him more injury prone.

Callum has lost 5 kilos.

Blake has lost 8 kilos. He was 90 kilos now down to 82

I hope they are not the only ones and I am not just talking about Hay and Brown.

TD and Gold Coast games mean we need some run. Don't mind the clearance players like Harro, Simmo, Swallow and Firritto having the big legs but crikey we need some run.

Everything I said is fact!
I don't post often in here for this reason, don't question someones integrity if you don't know them from a bar of soap.
For your information, I received the news from Donald Macdonald himself.

maybe so 71011 but callum is not GONE!! as you so put it though he is looking to be a major part of next yr. as for the few diehard supporters comment, come along one night you might learn something about a die hard supporter.

Urch might not be gone but he is looking over the cliff. For him to have even slight hammy problems is a worry for him and us. I believe he needs to play regular senior footy this year or he will be GONE.

Todays training?