Norwood, Adelaide Crows
If memory serves me correctly, Adelaide were apparently looking at drafting Todd Grima two years ago. Instead, the Crows opted to take Jason Porplyzia in the pre-season draft, and Grima was gone before our first selection in the rookie draft.

With the abundance of tall forwards down at Kardinia Park (Mooney, Nathan Ablett, Ottens, Hawkins), it's not a great surprise to anybody that Grima was unable to force his way onto the senior list - and after two years on the rookie list the Cats have now had to release him.

From what I have read, Grima was Geelong's leading goalscorer in the VFL. Beyond that, I don't know much about his progress as a footballer. From memory, the kid hails from Tasmania, so any "go-home" factor would be minimal.

Given the weakness in this draft, beyond pick #25, would Adelaide be interested in drafting Grima with one of our later picks (38 or 59)? Has he shown enough to warrant drafting onto a senior list, or do we attempt to draft him with a rookie selection?

Responses from Geelong fans, letting us know how well he has performed in the VFL would also be appreciated.

You would think if we were interested in drafting him we would have offered pick 91.... seeing that Geelong were giving players away. Therefore rookie at best.

Everyone on the Geelong board is pretty pissed off he wasn't elevated.

Would be a good pick up, and I am sure he'll get picked up in the draft this year.

You would think if we were interested in drafting him we would have offered pick 91.... seeing that Geelong were giving players away. Therefore rookie at best.

Would not have been possible, as you can't trade rookie listed players.

I can't believe he wasn't promoted!!! I'm furious about it!

His form was fantastic in the VFL this year. Kicked 51 goals. Ridiculous decision to delist him. Makes no sense after we have delisted or traded so many talls.:thumbsd:

Watch him prosper for another club.

Take a punt, we had Matthew Smith on our list for five years and Jericho is still there. :eek:

Ok, assuming that he IS an attractive option, how does he stack up against similar alternatives - eg Alan Obst?

This is probably not an easy question to answer, given that Obst has spent the last 2 years playing in the SANFL, while Grima has been in the VFL.

Bear in mind that I'm living in Canberra and do not get to see either the SANFL or the VFL live, and I struggle to stay up late enough to catch the game of the round on ABC2 during weeknights.

I would not be at all surprised, or disappointed, if we were to go with an "older" player with our last live selection (#59). By this, I mean someone who has been in the VFL/SANFL/WAFL system for 2-3 years, not a 25-27yo well established player. It IS a weak draft and the pool of quality teenagers may well have expired by that point in the draft.

Ok, assuming that he IS an attractive option, how does he stack up against similar alternatives - eg Alan Obst?

This is probably not an easy question to answer, given that Obst has spent the last 2 years playing in the SANFL, while Grima has been in the VFL.

Bear in mind that I'm living in Canberra and do not get to see either the SANFL or the VFL live, and I struggle to stay up late enough to catch the game of the round on ABC2 during weeknights.

I would not be at all surprised, or disappointed, if we were to go with an "older" player with our last live selection (#59). By this, I mean someone who has been in the VFL/SANFL/WAFL system for 2-3 years, not a 25-27yo well established player. It IS a weak draft and the pool of quality teenagers may well have expired by that point in the draft.

Grima is only 20.

I remember watching Tassie vs NSW in the NAB U-18's championships a couple of years ago and watched Todd kick 9 straight, solid kid with good lead & strong hands, thaught he would have been a first round prospect.. havnt seen much of him since he was rookied by Geelong.

would love to pick him up with a 4th round selection

Obviously come on in leaps and bounds this year.

Grima is a key forward recruited from Tasmania who will be on the rookie list for a second season. He played 21 games in the VFL last season, kicking 11 goals and featuring in the best players six times.
This year he kicked 51.

I was a fan of him at the time, I reckon go for him!

He really is a great prospect, im disappointed we let him go. Im still hoping we will pick him up in the draft, but i can't see it happening (Im clinging on to all hope :p). he is definatly worth a punt :thumbsu:

Grima is only 20.

That's my point.

Most draft speculation focuses on the 17-18yo wunderkind type players. There aren't enough of them to go around this year (with 70 senior list positions available at present, by my counting) - at least not enough ones of draftable quality.

The likes of Grima and Obst are both 20-21yo, and both have been "in the system" for 2 years - Grima as a rookie for Geelong for 2 years, playing in the VFL; Obst on Adelaide's senior list for 1 year before being delisted and playing in the SANFL for another year. Players who have been "in the system" tend to get less attention focussed on them than the younger "wunderkind" (next big thing) type of player. I would not be surprised to see at least one such player being drafted by Adelaide this year.

That's my point.

Most draft speculation focuses on the 17-18yo wunderkind type players. There aren't enough of them to go around this year (with 70 senior list positions available at present, by my counting) - at least not enough ones of draftable quality.

The likes of Grima and Obst are both 20-21yo, and both have been "in the system" for 2 years - Grima as a rookie for Geelong for 2 years, playing in the VFL; Obst on Adelaide's senior list for 1 year before being delisted and playing in the SANFL for another year. Players who have been "in the system" tend to get less attention focussed on them than the younger "wunderkind" (next big thing) type of player. I would not be surprised to see at least one such player being drafted by Adelaide this year.

It is definately not a bad way to go and Geelong have done it in the past picking up both Matty Egan, VFL, and Matty Stokes, SANFL, as more mature players and both have now proven they have what it takes to perform at AFL level.

Grima is a good prospect having kicked 51 goals this year in the VFL but he also has spent some time down back so has a little bit of flexibility to his game. If lonergan had have struggled in his comeback I think grima would have been elevated over at the cats and longergan given another year in the rookies.

He isn't a giant though at only 192cm (still tall but KPP players seem to be getting taller and taller)

take a punt its worth it. If we can take a punt on Adam Richardson playing at Full Forward in the SANFL, then we can take a punt on Grima playing at Full Forward in the VFL

He's more of a leading forward I think. Moves pretty good for a tall- think Matty Lloyd style lead forward. Would be a good replacement for Welsh. 51 goals is a good effort for a kid.

strange that the club didnt promote him. i think maybe he had spoken to the club and they agree since he may not have the opportunity in the senior team in the near future, he can try his luck in the ND and it wouldnt surprise me one bit if he doesnt get picked up geelong will re-rookie him if possible??

Has to be opportunities, although its interesting that Grima wasn't promoted after trading Playfair. No worries with N. Ablett, Mooney and Hawkins all fit and firing but the cats would be a bit thin on ready to go key forwards should a couple of these guys go down wouldn't they? I guess there's Lonergan but after him its only developing players they pick up in the draft this year (if that's the way they're gonna go).

Really torn as to whether or not Grima would be a good pick up for the Crows. We'll probably be going with guys like McGregor, Gill, Hentschel and Stevens in our forward line next year (seems like with Moran going back, Bassett back next and the revelation that Bock is a way better backman than forward, Stevens will be forced out of there).

With Sellar and Tippett still developing, Grima could be a good foil should either of these guys not make it or go down with injury. Either that or he's an unwelcome hurdle to Taylor Walker stardom.

I'd say take Grima, but if Geelong we're smart they'd pick him up themselves with a early/mid-range pick because chances are somebody will see him as a bargain in that kind of range.