Tom Boyd

I don't care if they are joined at the hip. I don't care if they are best mates. It isn't about Boyd, or the fight. It is about the response. Both the Bullies and AFL have a lot of questions to answer. Barrett won't let this die down, and when he doesn't, and when this continues to be an issue, do you think that helps Tom Boyd - who is already under pressure? No. It doesn't. Poorly handled by the Bulldogs. You can direct your anger at me all you want, I could not care less. That isn't going to make this story go away.
I'm pretty sure rape, setting dwafs on fire and sleeping with school girls is a lot worse then a love tap mate.

I don't care if they are joined at the hip. I don't care if they are best mates. It isn't about Boyd, or the fight. It is about the response. Both the Bullies and AFL have a lot of questions to answer. Barrett won't let this die down, and when he doesn't, and when this continues to be an issue, do you think that helps Tom Boyd - who is already under pressure? No. It doesn't. Poorly handled by the Bulldogs. You can direct your anger at me all you want, I could not care less. That isn't going to make this story go away.

Only that it's not really a story, Farm Boy. I suppose in the AFL bubble we are all so compulsively drawn to, you could say it's something different to the repetitive day-to-day humdrum we all have to endure, but if you reckon this ranks up there with the top scandals in AFL history (or even this year) then you are just the reader the Herald-Sun is looking to sign up.

No, I'm not going to make it go away either. What will make it go away is the next bit of irrelevant nonsense that reportedly occurs which the starving media can then to turn into a far greater thing than it actually is. Perhaps someone will actually get hurt, upset, do something illegal/immoral or it will have a direct impact on a game of football next time! Wouldn't that be something! A darn sight better than watching Collingwood players bathe in the cool waters off Port Melbourne, or rock up to the sports medical centre to get some scans done on Monday, hey?

A tad rich coming from someone whose club took the off-field scandal concept and sculptured it into a masterpiece of their own. Shall we go through them?

Oh dear, the Bulldog fanboys are out in force. King hit, drunken punch, accidental clip under the eye, whatever it was, or whatever your club wants us to believe after their initial cover up attempt, drunken violence has nothing to do with being tough or making you a better person in any facet of life at all. In fact it's a sign of insecurity, weakness and inability to control yourself and your emotions.

Maybe he should try doing something on the footy field to prove his toughness? Get a hard ball perhaps? Or better yet get a senior game...

I'm pretty sure rape, setting dwafs on fire and sleeping with school girls is a lot worse then a love tap mate.

So it is ok for the Bullies/AFL to make nothing of this incident after last weeks events, and it is ok for the Bullies to cover up this story - because of several incidences that happened at St Kilda football club nearly a decade ago? RIGHTO...
... Countless incidents that keep happening at StKFC - many of which have occurred in the past decade.

But I'm not calling for anyone to be hung, drawn and quartered over it. Don't begrudge our club for "covering up" what took place. It affected nobody other than the two lads involved, and even then it was all forgiven and forgotten by them immediately afterwards. The club dealt with it internally. Now how many times do you reckon that would have happened at the likes of Hawthorn - who do those things very well - in the past? Or Collingwood, or any other club for that matter. Because the increasingly-desperate tabloids get hold of it, you take it personally those clubs didn't let you know what happened?

Oh dear, the Bulldog fanboys are out in force. King hit, drunken punch, accidental clip under the eye, whatever it was, or whatever your club wants us to believe after their initial cover up attempt, drunken violence has nothing to do with being tough or making you a better person in any facet of life at all. In fact it's a sign of insecurity, weakness and inability to control yourself and your emotions.

Maybe he should try doing something on the footy field to prove his toughness? Get a hard ball perhaps? Or better yet get a senior game...
King hit, drunken punch, accidental clip, nothing much at all ... are we getting the picture here?

Sorry, I do beg your pardon. How boorish of me to suggest these thugs should not have been publicly held to account for their irresponsible actions. I mean, this incident was truly shocking was it not? Violence is nothing to be scoffed at. Especially this level of senseless mayhem. The club should have called Damien Barrett immediately, had the police investigate with a view to laying charges, and ask the AFL to consider allegations of bringing the game into disrepute.

You'd know all about that though, wouldn't you? Perhaps a bit of refection on your own part would cause you to realise you are in no position at all to moralise. No, I'll avoid the obvious because that's just too easy. Let's talk about Hurley and the cab driver. What about Hibberd knocking out that poor bloke after having a few - can we call that a "king hit"? I can't remember much about those incidents, can you please elaborate and tell us whether you think your boys are strong, secure and able to control their emotions?

... Countless incidents that keep happening at StKFC - many of which have occurred in the past decade.

But I'm not calling for anyone to be hung, drawn and quartered over it. Don't begrudge our club for "covering up" what took place. It affected nobody other than the two lads involved, and even then it was all forgiven and forgotten by them immediately afterwards. The club dealt with it internally. Now how many times do you reckon that would have happened at the likes of Hawthorn - who do those things very well - in the past? Or Collingwood, or any other club for that matter. Because the increasingly-desperate tabloids get hold of it, you take it personally those clubs didn't let you know what happened?

We will see if this cover up is good for Boyd this week, or whether it goes away. But, I will say, judging by Barrett's response, I expect that he will go hard. If Barrett does go hard, and this story is proven to be a cover up (which Barrett has hinted), then Boyd remains in the news. That is worse than the initial incident. I am not calling for Boyd to be drawn and quartered, so stop exaggerating. Just because all clubs cover up things - doesn't make it ok for others to. If this story blows up more this week then Boyd should be absolutely furious at the club. He stuffed up yes, isn't the first, won't be the last, but the more the story rolls on - the worse it is for him. Would a simple suspension of being better for Boyd and the Bulldogs? Yes. Instead we hear of a cover up, and we see Boyd rolling around in the VFL. Firstly, do the Bulldogs not take violence seriously? Secondly, why do they need to lie about the incident and cover it up? Thirdly, where are the AFL on issues of male violence? Not just this Boyd issue, but issues in general (on field, off field), a lot of hysteria around domestic violence last week - where no violence occurred - but missing on issues where violence has occurred. Or does is violence of no concern to the AFL when the victim is a male? That is sexist IMO.

King hit, drunken punch, accidental clip, nothing much at all ... are we getting the picture here?

Sorry, I do beg your pardon. How boorish of me to suggest these thugs should not have been publicly held to account for their irresponsible actions. I mean, this incident was truly shocking was it not? Violence is nothing to be scoffed at. Especially this level of senseless mayhem. The club should have called Damien Barrett immediately, had the police investigate with a view to laying charges, and ask the AFL to consider allegations of bringing the game into disrepute.

You'd know all about that though, wouldn't you? Perhaps a bit of refection on your own part would cause you to realise you are in no position at all to moralise. No, I'll avoid the obvious because that's just too easy. Let's talk about Hurley and the cab driver. What about Hibberd knocking out that poor bloke after having a few - can we call that a "king hit"? I can't remember much about those incidents, can you please elaborate and tell us whether you think your boys are strong, secure and able to control their emotions?

I still don't see how hitting a teammate will help him realise he has a bit of "mongrel" in him and he will now be able to channel that towards the footy field. It was a moment he'll regret and it will have stuff all influence on his aggression come game day.

Also, I can't remember anyone claiming the Hurley or Hibberd incidents as moments that shaped their ability to be aggressive on the footy field either, champ.

Yeah mate gotta stick loyal to your team as you no what was the saying "stick by James" or was it "we have done nothing wrong"

Running an inaccurate story does though (which is what Barrett was suggesting).
But why do the club have to report it?
They told the AFL and dealt out punishments internally.

Who gives a flying **** about what Barrett is going to do? Sure as shit won't be anyone at the Dogs.

No its not OK the club made a mistake. Every club hides stories mate it isn't just the bulldogs. We have apologised now let's move on. The reason I brang up all the stuff off the saints past was to remind you the saints are not perfect so there is no need for the bashing of my club.

Disagree...Dogs going long in this last quarter and Redpath not doing enough. Boyd quality will pay off eventually
What quality? He's a truck.....absolute battler.....On $1m..

You contradict your own logic. Club wanted to keep it in house and then just randomly released it via a rushed statement with sketchy facts. Righto then.:thumbsu:
No you're missing the point. I don't give a rats arse what the incident was - what was it, a couple of guys got drunk, poured beer on his mate and someone got a black eye... Whatever...
The point is Barrett has a meltdown about it. Barrett is the focus here, he is hilarious

No you're missing the point. I don't give a rats arse what the incident was - what was it, a couple of guys got drunk, poured beer on his mate and someone got a black eye... Whatever...
The point is Barrett has a meltdown about it. Barrett is the focus here, he is hilarious

Barrett is just doing his job. A quick peruse of the Dogs board shows where the real meltdowns are taking place.

Barratt: just doing his job when writing about other teams.

When he's writing about your team though...

Yeah I agree. I assumed Boyd would have been suspended - was surprised to see him named this week (VFL). But, the AFL haven't responded appropriately on the issue, and I expect now Barrett will hold them all accountable. This story will go through another week, and both the AFL and Bulldogs will have some questions to answer. The AFL either take violence (in general) seriously, or they only take certain types of violence seriously. I actually think the Bullies have done Tom Boyd a disservice here, because he is being highlighted due to their inadequate response to the incident.
Jesus Christ. Brad hill was just charged with a violent off field act, and the media, the afl and the Hawks barely held him to account. You're only baying for blood because you're Boyd and Bulldogs obsessed. We get it saints/demons fans, you don't like Boyd, just admit that's the only reason you care and move on

Not running immediately to the press doesn't constitute a "cover up".
Absolutely right. Every club has to make decisions about what what their members/the general public have a right to know, and the need to respect the privacy of their players. I'm not a bulldogs fan but I think the decision not to go to the press until they were forced to was an entirely reasonable one.

Cue the faux outrage from the masses!

Damo's MMM show - the Rub - often promotes binge drinking and violence through various stories and jokes told on the program. I think poor young impressionable Tom has just listened in one too many times.

Btw - who do we think is winning here? The guy who's getting paid a million bucks a year to live his dream, or this thread full of unfulfilled angry dudes taking pot shots behind the safety of their jizz juice resistant keyboards. :straining: Keep on hating flogs. :thumbsu:

Even as we discuss the nuances of what is a cover-up and what is it why is it such a big deal that there was a cover up?

Not only has every club in the league probably successfully covered up a similar minor indiscretion from its players at one time or another (we just don't know it because otherwise the cover-up would not have been successful), isn't the response of the fans of other clubs and the media blowing it way out of proportion the justification for wanting to cover it up in the first place?