Tom Boyd

I didn't think I could ever see a bigger, more whiny oxygen thief than Damo Barrett.

This thread has proved me wrong. Again and again.

What a whiny bunch of bitching flogs.

All the Boyd hate boils down to one thing - jealousy. It's human nature to be jealous of someone with awesome hair earning a million dollars year who has done little to earn it.

A bloke poured beer on another bloke's head and got punched for his trouble.

Yes we all know about one punch deaths etc but in the real world if someone pours beer on you you lash out.

I understand that in the happy-clappy Dudley Do-right world of AFL 2016 the club has to be seen as doing the right thing.

But it's nothing much.

On the plus side Tom's playing much better since the 'incident'

A bloke poured beer on another bloke's head and got punched for his trouble.

Yes we all know about one punch deaths etc but in the real world if someone pours beer on you you lash out.

If Barrett is suggesting there is a cover up, what is not to say that Boyd lashed out for a different reason? I think I will wait until I hear Barrett's version of events before I take the Bulldogs at their word. Going to be an interesting week.

You have far too much respect for Damian Barrett. It makes for difficult reading.

I like Boyd and the Bulldogs and I hope he becomes a good player and they win a flag, but I don't like when people draw positives from someone hitting another person in the head when they're on the piss (I.e like some supporters in this thread).

What people are also annoyed with is when people don't own up and take responsibility for their actions. If Boyd/Cordy and the dogs hadn't tried to sweep it under the carpet and instead come clean from the start it would be a non issue.

Anyway I think it's time to move on...

I like Boyd and the Bulldogs and I hope he becomes a good player and they win a flag, but I don't like when people draw positives from someone hitting another person in the head when they're on the piss (I.e like some supporters in this thread).

What people are also annoyed with is when people don't own up and take responsibility for their actions. If Boyd/Cordy and the dogs hadn't tried to sweep it under the carpet and instead come clean from the start it would be a non issue.
Agree, some people are annoyed with the way the Dogs PR department handled the situation

Anyway I think it's time to move on...
Unfortunately, the Purple 4 eyed flog won't ever move on until Luke Beveridge doesn't have a job in the industry

The hate, self-interest and bias from him in constantly undermining the Dogs, Boyd, Gordon, Beveridge etc is something sickening, absolute flog of a journo who hates the fact he doesn't have any reliable sources coming out of the Kennel anymore so he spouts up shit like "The Dogs tried to cover this up" to cover up the fact he wasn't able to break the story first while having a subtle dig at us at the same time. Another reason why we don't leak out stuff to the media now these days is to protect players from extra unneeded attention, something Tom Boyd will never shrug off with this flog writing stuff about him every month.

Robbo, Caro and Hutchy have their haters too, but they are miles ahead of him in the ethical/credibility department

FWIW I've been told that the Dogs and Hawks are the hardest nuts to crack when it comes to getting info out from there. North and Collingwood is among the easiest though.

Agree, some people are annoyed with the way the Dogs PR department handled the situation

Unfortunately, the Purple 4 eyed flog won't ever move on until Luke Beveridge doesn't have a job in the industry

The hate, self-interest and bias from him in constantly undermining the Dogs, Boyd, Gordon, Beveridge etc is something sickening, absolute flog of a journo who hates the fact he doesn't have any reliable sources coming out of the Kennel anymore so he spouts up shit like "The Dogs tried to cover this up" to cover up the fact he wasn't able to break the story first while having a subtle dig at us at the same time. Another reason why we don't leak out stuff to the media now these days is to protect players from extra unneeded attention, something Tom Boyd will never shrug off with this flog writing stuff about him every month.

Robbo, Caro and Hutchy have their haters too, but they are miles ahead of him in the ethical/credibility department

FWIW I've been told that the Dogs and Hawks are the hardest nuts to crack when it comes to getting info out from there. North and Collingwood is among the easiest though.
Pies and Roos presidents are media personalities. Of course there is more access to info.

We will see if this cover up is good for Boyd this week, or whether it goes away. But, I will say, judging by Barrett's response, I expect that he will go hard. If Barrett does go hard, and this story is proven to be a cover up (which Barrett has hinted), then Boyd remains in the news. That is worse than the initial incident. I am not calling for Boyd to be drawn and quartered, so stop exaggerating. Just because all clubs cover up things - doesn't make it ok for others to. If this story blows up more this week then Boyd should be absolutely furious at the club. He stuffed up yes, isn't the first, won't be the last, but the more the story rolls on - the worse it is for him. Would a simple suspension of being better for Boyd and the Bulldogs? Yes. Instead we hear of a cover up, and we see Boyd rolling around in the VFL. Firstly, do the Bulldogs not take violence seriously? Secondly, why do they need to lie about the incident and cover it up? Thirdly, where are the AFL on issues of male violence? Not just this Boyd issue, but issues in general (on field, off field), a lot of hysteria around domestic violence last week - where no violence occurred - but missing on issues where violence has occurred. Or does is violence of no concern to the AFL when the victim is a male? That is sexist IMO.

Phew! Was that as arduous to write as it was to read!?! I'm still reeling from the fact that you put together a nine-line paragraph about such a trifling matter. Credit where it's due - that is some achievement. You should be in journalism!

I can see you're struggling to justify your initial gratuitous pot-shots at Boyd/Bulldog supporters by waving around some faded & frayed anti-violence flag whilst rattling a public relations tin, and hoping that somehow this story (for want of a better word) rolls on. So, I'll pay you the compliment of responding yet again.

If I could offer any advice, it might be good for your overall health to get over this infatuation with Damian Barrett. Holding him aloft as the proclaimer of anything worthy is far more than he deserves. What you have to realise is the print media is a rapidly endangered beast, and all those journo's with ambition and/or an ego are clambering for spots in the electronic version of their profession. They will make a story out of anything they can, and make it sound like you deserve to know about - even that you must know about it. You can put money on it, the cameras and reporters will be there outside the Lexcen Centre or whatever it is now, giving you some tepid dross about someone's quadricep or how the Maggies are back in a winning vein. You will watch, thinking you're being enlightened, won't you? Meanwhile, Damo will be ringing around, trying to find someone who can offer something, anything to substantiate another airing of this already dead horse. Until something else comes along ...

I should ask out of respect, are you his father or some other relation?

Oh dear, the Bulldog fanboys are out in force. King hit, drunken punch, accidental clip under the eye, whatever it was, or whatever your club wants us to believe after their initial cover up attempt, drunken violence has nothing to do with being tough or making you a better person in any facet of life at all. In fact it's a sign of insecurity, weakness and inability to control yourself and your emotions.

Maybe he should try doing something on the footy field to prove his toughness? Get a hard ball perhaps? Or better yet get a senior game...
Maybe you look at players at your own club, not flash at winning the hard ball. Probably the most boring games ever to watch in the history of the AFL are watching Essendon fork out the same crap every week.

The punch sounds like a non issue to me. The Bulldogs were probably better off just letting the media know as it just poured fuel on the fire.

I couldn't care less about it though to be honest. I am interested to hear how he went in the VFL yesterday?

Oh dear, the Bulldog fanboys are out in force. King hit, drunken punch, accidental clip under the eye, whatever it was, or whatever your club wants us to believe after their initial cover up attempt, drunken violence has nothing to do with being tough or making you a better person in any facet of life at all. In fact it's a sign of insecurity, weakness and inability to control yourself and your emotions.

Maybe he should try doing something on the footy field to prove his toughness? Get a hard ball perhaps? Or better yet get a senior game...

It really just sounds more like a momentary lapse in judgement, we all have them. You're going pretty hard over a minor incident.

I couldn't care less about it though to be honest. I am interested to hear how he went in the VFL yesterday?
Played well from all reports. Started off quiet but had good 2nd and 3rd quarters taking a couple of strong grabs and finishing with 4 goals. Added to the 3 goals and strong marking from a couple of weeks ago he's putting his name up for selection if the club deems him
eligible.

Thread is officially lost.

FWIW from a bloke with legitimate contacts at Footscray (who has been right before) there was no punches thrown and it was more of a little scuffle.

Also who says we have to tell the media? Weve punished both players in house and dealt with the issue? Barret is a ****ing piece of shit.

Boyd wont be far off now, has put in two very very good games in a row in terrible conditions. Personally id be bringing him in this week, might have to wait one more though.

Coupled with another of your previous gems, I don't think it's us who need to discreetly retreat from commenting publicly:

"Embarrassing by the Dogs to get thrashed like that. I predicted it and have been saying they are way overrated but their supporters are a bit delusional and the media loves them. Finally play another decent team and get smashed, massive pretenders." - ApplecrossWC, Geelong v W/Bulldogs (June 19, 2016)

The things you say when - after sitting pretty on top of the ladder - shock turns into frustration, which then turns into rage. It's a slippery slope, ain't it!?!

Wow, I have a stalker :$

A lucky umpire assisted win against the Swans. Well done :$:$:$

The punch sounds like a non issue to me. The Bulldogs were probably better off just letting the media know as it just poured fuel on the fire.

Kicked four and was really aggressive. In a good way this time.

Tip beer on a mate, s**t like this will happen. The standard that 20 year olds are held to in here is stupid.

I had a blue with my one of my best mates when we were both 21 and out on the sauce, a similar incident by what's been reported, it ended up in fisticuffs that night as well. It took a couple of months, but we sorted it out (in the sense of burying the hatchet and remaining friends). And my part in it was by far the worst.

The commentary linking this to 'one punch' violence is the most ridiculous, hand wringing, handbag clutching stupidity.