Recommitted Tom De Koning [Signed until 2025]

He just had 7 disposals and 2 marks in the VFL mate

Its got nothing to do with the 22nd best player. He's not as good as Pittonett and he's a long way behind Curnow and McKay.
Apparently he suffered a concussion during the game.

Not sure exactly when, but that might explain what looks like a poor return stats-wise.

Apparently he suffered a concussion during the game.

Not sure exactly when, but that might explain what looks like a poor return stats-wise.
Yeah I heard that on 7 last night but they also said he played out the game I think? Hopefully nothing serious.

I can't see him getting back into the side in a hurry though.

Value dropping quickly now, even Carlton are reducing their offer

Dropping quickly ??

What a load of total bullsh1t !!

His value will not diminish regardless of whether he plays senior footy again this year or not, you don't lose ability or potential because you are in the VFL. Besides, the only reason people are suggesting otherwise is because they hope their club can pick him up for a packet of peanuts.

Let's get it out there now, a handful of clubs will come for him AND they will be offering him a big salary too (whether he is worth that sort of silly money is a completely seperate discussion). Therefore, if an opposition club wants to offer him say ...... five years starting at $800K per annum then the trade price is two first rounders and that is just the opening gambit.

The bigger the paypacket offered, the bigger the trade price and anyone thinking differently has no idea at all.

Not going to happen but I'd drive TDK down there myself if Brad Close was involved. Our half forwards are dreadful and Closey loves a long sleeve.

Tbh given your bad history getting geelong players out of us (lang smedts fogarty etc) i would have thought you would preferred the pick (although close is better than them). But i can see why clubs would want close although i expect he stays.

Dropping quickly ??

His value will not diminish regardless of whether he plays senior footy again this year or not, you don't lose ability or potential because you are in the VFL. Besides, the only reason people are suggesting otherwise is because they hope their club can pick him up for a packet of peanuts.

Let's get it out there now, a handful of clubs will come for him AND they will be offering him a big salary too (whether he is worth that sort of silly money is a completely seperate discussion). Therefore, if an opposition club wants to offer him say ...... five years starting at $800K per annum then the trade price is two first rounders and that is just the opening gambit.

The bigger the paypacket offered, the bigger the trade price and anyone thinking differently has no idea at all.

Salary has very little correlation to trade price.

Dropping quickly ??

fanciful thinking

geelong should wait a year and get sean darcy in free agency

Im sure that option is being considered but a) darcy may not want to come back home and b) for a club in the window like geelong waiting 12 months is not ideal (especially when ceglar will retire and stanley if he plays on will be 33 next year as will blicavs)

Dropping quickly ??

Yeah nah you’re not getting 2 firsts for him even if he gets 900k a year

That might be CARLTON’s opening gambit but it will go the other way in negotiations

Salary has very little correlation to trade price.

Again, utter bullsh1t !!

Are you trying to tell me that if your club thought so highly of a player they were going to pay him $800K pa but felt his trade price was only a third rounder ??

FMD, get a grip !!!

What did the Cats pay in trade for Cameron ??

That might be CARLTON’s opening gambit but it will go the other way in negotiations

Who are you to be telling us about how to structure a trade deal ??

Knocked back three first rounders for JHF ........ :rolleyes:

A long term 900k contract aint going to diminish his trade value, it adds to it.

With that said clubs would be absolutely stupid to offer him anything more than 500k imo.

Again, utter bullsh1t !!

Are you trying to tell me that if your club thought so highly of a player they were going to pay him $800K pa but felt his trade price was only a third rounder ??

FMD, get a grip !!!

What did the Cats pay in trade for Cameron ??

No you are not listening.
I am saying a club pays for a player based on a) how much they rate ths player and b) what picks or players they have to trade.

B is the most relevant bit because until we get push trades (which PA wont allow) and current clubs have to deal with one club, the trade price is always fixed at what that club has to trade with. They dont magically develop an extra 2 first round picks because they offer a guy 300k a year extra, therefore more salary has bugger all causation to increasing a trade price.

No you are not listening.
I am saying a club pays for a player based on a) how much they rate ths player and b) what picks or players they have to trade.

B is the most relevant bit because until we get push trades (which PA wont allow) and current clubs have to deal with one club, the trade price is always fixed at what that club has to trade with. They dont magically develop an extra 2 first round picks because they offer a guy 300k a year extra, therefore more salary has bugger all causation to increasing a trade price.
Disagree, Blake Acres was lowballed by Freo and thus was traded for absolute pennies despite being a solid player by the end of his time at Freo. What clubs are willing to offer a player in terms of contract may be the least important aspect of a trade but it still has significant sway as its a fixed way of a club saying 'we rate him this highly and clearly you do too with the contract you've offered, we want premium compensation'.

Pretty hard to say we think he's only worth a late 2nd rounder if clubs are offering him 700k+ as it shows how highly - rightly or wrongly - the market rates him.

Dropping quickly ??

Far out, even you surely don't believe that dribble?

Very similar to the Stanley trade. Talented and athletic but struggling to make a real impact. Geelong were considered a laughing stock when we offered pick 21 for Stanley but he became a solid ruckman and has carried us in there for 5+ years.

I'd think a pick around 20 is about right and he'll become a good ruck after another preseason or two.

Tbh given your bad history getting geelong players out of us (lang smedts fogarty etc) i would have thought you would preferred the pick (although close is better than them). But i can see why clubs would want close although i expect he stays.

TDK is most likely off to St Kilda from what I have heard. He isn't actually keen on reuniting with his brother at Geelong.

Very similar to the Stanley trade. Talented and athletic but struggling to make a real impact. Geelong were considered a laughing stock when we offered pick 21 for Stanley but he became a solid ruckman and has carried us in there for 5+ years.

I'd think a pick around 20 is about right and he'll become a good ruck after another preseason or two.

Should just sticky this to the top of the thread. TDK is what he is. Every club would love a player like him on their list and there will be some kind of bidding war but it won’t be based on output. If a club wants to offer him a big contract then we should be able to ask for a pick that reflects that.

But Stanley was contracted, so that adds a bit more in value