Recommitted Tom De Koning [Signed until 2025]

Yeah, I think in hindsight we did well there but the reality at the time was that he wasn’t a regular 22 player. What he’s become since then has been a good return for us.

Back to TDK though, I’m not sure what similar trade you could compare him to. The only examples of taller players with potential that come to mind are Witts, Nank, Wright, Pittonet.

All went in the later rounds.

I’m sure there are others though.

I know he had some issues but Ladhams who we got last year is a good comparison point, but that was a switch of picks basically

We gave up pick 12 for Ladhams and pick 16. What value is that no idea? Mid second?

I know he had some issues but Ladhams who we got last year is a good comparison point, but that was a switch of picks basically

We gave up pick 12 for Ladhams and pick 16. What value is that no idea? Mid second?
Not sure of the comparable value of that one tbh. I always struggle with the worth of pick downgrades when you compare them to straight up picks.

Ladhams had slightly more currency I think than TDK has now, but I could see him improving to that level in 2023.

Not sure of the comparable value of that one tbh. I always struggle with the worth of pick downgrades when you compare them to straight up picks.

Ladhams had slightly more currency I think than TDK has now, but I could see him improving to that level in 2023.
Ladhams got traded for peanuts due to his involvement with some not so friendly characters and a bit of the crystal pistol off field. Can't compare the two as TDK is atleast equally talented but without the off field issues

Yeah that’s a fair call re behaviour.

Not sure what the comparison would be based on previous year trading periods.

Yeah, I think in hindsight we did well there but the reality at the time was that he wasn’t a regular 22 player. What he’s become since then has been a good return for us.

Back to TDK though, I’m not sure what similar trade you could compare him to. The only examples of taller players with potential that come to mind are Witts, Nank, Wright, Pittonet.

Said it earlier in the thread but he is basically exactly where Rhys Stanley was at when we traded for him. Bags of athletic potential but it hasn't really transferred to on field results as yet. We traded pick 20 odd for Stanley which was seen as overs at the time. That is the ballpark for TDK pending what he does for Carlton this year.

Stanley was traded for pick 21 at same age as tdk (six years in) with lots of potential but not heaps of production. Id say around that late r1 mark is ballpark value for tdk.

None of those players were really wanted by their old clubs. All would’ve been offered a modest wage by their new clubs. Did any of them have the suitors it looks like Tom will have?

A first round pick with some later pick swaps in the Cats favour is fair.

None of those players were really wanted by their old clubs. All would’ve been offered a modest wage by their new clubs. Did any of them have the suitors it looks like Tom will have?

Upgrade of future perhaps ...as we are short of any laters picks in 2023

As I said, tough to find a precedent to judge his trade value against. Will be interesting to see what he goes for if he doesn’t sign with the Blues.

If he goes for the value you expect, it’s because a club is taking a punt on what he could be.

On current output, surely he is only worth a 2nd-3rd round pick at best. That seems to be about the mark for ruckman that have >5 years in the system but still haven't locked down a best-22 spot.

TDK needs to make a huge leap this year if fans think he is worth a first round pick. He seems to be getting a lot of hype off the back of his younger and more talented brother having a breakout year.

Around 200 points ..In points that nothing ...may be pick 55 ... less than what you paid for Mumford all those years ago but moving from P12 to P16 is probably significant if the draft drops away at the bottom of R1.

Is Carlton's selection of a young Ruckman in the SSP indicative that they think TDK could be walking out the door end of year?

I'm quite convinced he's off to the Cattery with his Brother. In turn it would free up some cap space and give us currency to go after a [PLAYERCARD]Ben Mckay[/PLAYERCARD] or some good role players which imo would probably provide more for our list than TDK at this stage but if he has a breakout year that may look quite different come end of season.

Nank was wanted by the swans they just couldnt give him opportunities or $ (tight cap). The pies wanted witts but he had grundy blocking his path.

That said i agree with your last sentence if our R1 is say 16ish id reluctantly do that as a fair trade.

I know that there was one particular media commentator who suggested he will get $1mill per annum going forward which most people would dismiss out of hand.

However, let's just play the game a little more with that "guesstimate".

If for example ............. say Essendon came along and offered him $1mill to jump ship, then the trade price has to be commensurate with the salary.

You don't plonk $1mill on the salary table to the player and then in the next breath say he's ony worth a late-second rounder in the trade (even though we all know that Dodo would expect that to be the deal).

Do you want to take a minute to read your own post out loud back to yourself there mate?

haha your late 1, a pick in the 20s will not get it done even if he plays the entire year in the VFL. We would be better off letting him go as a free agent and take the compo offered.
There is no compo. He walks to the preseason draft and you get nothing.

Geelong's first round pick is about right/fair to me on current exposed form (if perhaps overs)

Any Carlton fan demanding more is having a laugh (although I do understand if some later round pick swaps are involved)
On exposed form I don't see how he is worth a first round pick

Needs to cement his spot in the side and play some good consistent footy before you can start thinking about a first round pick