Recommitted Tom De Koning [Signed until 2025]

Actually I never said Carlton should have traded him. What I did say is that if you want a big deal for him you have missed your chance.

Expecting a huge offer for a 2nd ruck that is 24, not playing great footy and not contracted is ridiculous.

Big men make clubs so funny things.

I remember a club offering an uncapped Sam Draper a 4 year deal close to 2mil coming off an ACL injury.

Coleman-Jones got Richmond pick 19, pick 40 and Tarrant for a little change.

Tom isn’t really a ruck merry-go round member. He is still young in terms of ruckman, his deal offered from carlton is more than decent, although short term.
If he leaves, it will be due to a larger, longer term contract.
Given that information, the remuneration in trade value will be the equivalent of the deal being offered.

One only has to look through player trade forums on here in years gone by. If you chase a player, offer him a large deal, you pay the price.
It’s not like he’s leaving for 200k + matchies. Which is what most of the merry go round ruckman do.

I’m not arguing for something ridiculous like the Jackson trade. But I’d be floored if a pick later than 20 got the deal done.

Bryce Gibbs
Tristan Xerri
Esava Ratugolea
Jeremy Sharp
Hunter Clark
Bobby Hill (bombers)
Rory Lobb (return to GWS)
Tom Papley
Josh Dunkley (Bombers)

Off the top of my head, I’m sure there are many many more.
nearly all of these are examples of players being held to contract

they are not examples of a player declaring they want to go somewhere out of contract, and not getting to that declared destination which is the scenario that carlton supporters seem to think will happen with de koning if geelong dont give them a first round pick

Big men make clubs so funny things.

I remember a club offering an uncapped Sam Draper a 4 year deal close to 2mil coming off an ACL injury.

Coleman-Jones got Richmond pick 19, pick 40 and Tarrant for a little change.

Tom isn’t really a ruck merry-go round member. He is still young in terms of ruckman, his deal offered from carlton is more than decent, although short term.
If he leaves, it will be due to a larger, longer term contract.
Given that information, the remuneration in trade value will be the equivalent of the deal being offered.

One only has to look through player trade forums on here in years gone by. If you chase a player, offer him a large deal, you pay the price.
It’s not like he’s leaving for 200k + matchies. Which is what most of the merry go round ruckman do.

I’m not arguing for something ridiculous like the Jackson trade. But I’d be floored if a pick later than 20 got the deal done.
I'll be surprised if he actually gets offered the big deal that has been rumoured. After all the talk from Kane Cornes suggesting Sydney were offering 8 years we have heard very little about their interest recently.

Sounds like Geelong will be his most likely suitor and I can't see them offering him a huge contract.

Hunter Clark didn’t request shite
Sorry, my mistake, north wanted him, but didn’t want to pay the first round pick asking price.
nearly all of these are examples of players being held to contract

they are not examples of a player declaring they want to go somewhere out of contract, and not getting to that declared destination which is the scenario that carlton supporters seem to think will happen with de koning if geelong dont give them a first round pick

This is true. I can’t speak for all Carlton fans, but I can speak for myself. Carlton don’t want to lose him, but if he does request a trade, they will do everything in their power to facilitate one.. but they will be doing so in a way that advantages them.

There is also a solid history between Carlton and Geelong in striking reasonable trades.
Twice the cats have targeted Carlton players from a long way out, one of which was still in contract, and twice it has resulted in a first round pick being paid with change coming the other way. Both deals happened quickly and without to much squabble.

Add Cook to the mix and the fact that he is getting multiple large offers from at least 4 other clubs, I’d be pretty confident that if he chooses the cats, the deal will be done without either party feeling to upset.

Sorry, my mistake, north wanted him, but didn’t want to pay the first round pick asking price.

This is true. I can’t speak for all Carlton fans, but I can speak for myself. Carlton don’t want to lose him, but if he does request a trade, they will do everything in their power to facilitate one.. but they will be doing so in a way that advantages them.

There is also a solid history between Carlton and Geelong in striking reasonable trades.
Twice the cats have targeted Carlton players from a long way out, one of which was still in contract, and twice it has resulted in a first round pick being paid with change coming the other way. Both deals happened quickly and without to much squabble.

Add Cook to the mix and the fact that he is getting multiple large offers from at least 4 other clubs, I’d be pretty confident that if he chooses the cats, the deal will be done without either party feeling to upset.

and that means zilch after he picked his club whoever that it is, is not like carlton going to say well if you dont trade us 2 first rounders we just trade him to one of the other 4 teams...
In that case we'd just be telling him he's going straight to the PSD and its up to the chook lotto. Reality is if Geelongs made it clear they are 0 chance of stumping up what we deem fair value then he doesn't nominate the cattery. Show me the money for all its wanky one-upmanship clearly showed that if clubs won't be able to get a deal done then players are told by their agents not to nominate them.

Absolutely not.

But they do also have the option of saying if you don’t find us a pick we find suitable, he can try his luck in the PSD and hope none of the other 4 clubs that have expressed serious interest in him decide they’d prefer to take him for free, or he can sign the 2 year extension we have offered him and then leave as a RFA at the end of that.

Is this bloke actually worth much? All I've seen is a good highlight reel but no real influence on outcome of games.

Just looks an early season column filler by the sub standard scribblers that report on the AFL
Plays a big game now and then but still purely based on potential

Surely Geelong would rather pay a bit more for Sean Darcy who is only a year older.

I've said it before, I'd rather us get a cheap-as-chips backup ruck like Sweet or one of the GWS boys, and back Conway in to take over from Stanley. And back Neale to cement the Hawkins 'forward who can help out in the ruck' role.

I'm sure the club knows what they're doing, but I don't personally see TDK as a particularly urgent need for us.

Well you clearly didn’t watch that game
I did watch it actually, hungover on the couch from memory. It was one of his better games but I’d hardly call that a big game.

That’s the kind of game you’d expect from a 24 year old ruck forward in a ten goal win, it was nothing special.

When has he actually played a "big game"?

50 games in, I don't think that has actually ever happened
What big games has he had? Has he ever received votes from the coaches?

These were the 2 best games I've seen him play. Think he got 4 or 5 coaches votes in each but there were better players in both games with Curnow kicking bags against both from memory.

I don’t think he received any votes against Sydney as far as I can see.

He’s had a pretty disappointing career so far with all the hype around him. No real outstanding games, a couple of decent games here and there.

I don’t think he received any votes against Sydney as far as I can see.

He’s had a pretty disappointing career so far with all the hype around him. No real outstanding games, a couple of decent games here and there.
I won't be losing any sleep over him departing which seems imminent. Reckon he ends up down back or up forward anyway. Doesn't have the grit to be a full time ruckman year round imo.

I do understand why clubs would be high on him, just as they were with Jack Martin. Been burned too many times by talented spuds to care if they head out the door for a couple of good picks.