PerthBoy87

My cuz AK,- Former Tiger and Magpie
Ok so I write this dialogue with plenty of emotion and wipe a few tears away with the news of Tommy Hafey leaving us.

But how about this...........Richmond vs Collingwood...........the Tom Hafey Cup?

This bloke left his mark at both clubs. Coached Richmond to five Grand Finals and coached Collingwood to five Grand Finals. That achievement in itself is a great effort. To coach four premierships (all with Richmond) and to take an average side in Collingwood when he took over at magpie land and get them to five Grand Finals is nothing short of genius. To turn around Collingwood who finished last in 1976 and make the 1977 Grand Final..........how many coaches have done that?? Not many I don't think. Both clubs hold Tommy in such high regard too.

This dialogue will be both on the Richmond and Collingwood boards (copy and paste job) and I ENCOURAGE mods from both boards to discuss this idea together and present it to both the Collingwood and Richmond football clubs.

Let's face it - the Tigers vs Magpie rivalry is huge..........bloody massive, but having a cup named in honour of Tommy (who was a big influence and popular at both clubs) would really get things going.

I reckon it's a good idea and I'll be honest I'm writing all of this with heaps of emotion (sad day in the footy world) but who knows if this idea can happen then it would be fantastic..........what better way then to pay tribute to a great coach, a great mentor, a great speaker and a great person.

What do you think people and mods - take note.

Cheers.

Much as I like the idea of honouring the great man, I generally think making such decisions should be made some time after their passing.

Put the idea on ice for a while and maybe the club should look at something (maybe like this) early next year, and announce it on the anniversary of his passing.

Much as I like the idea of honouring the great man, I generally think making such decisions should be made some time after their passing.

Put the idea on ice for a while and maybe the club should look at something (maybe like this) early next year, and announce it on the anniversary of his passing.

Yeah of course, I never said that this idea has to be pushed and promoted NOW, give things time and then mods from both boards (Tigers and Magpies) can work together to present something to both clubs.

When the time is right. I am only suggesting it now because it popped into my mind mind ten minutes ago but in terms of the groundwork to achieve this outcome.............give it time.

Hope this clears up any confusion, if any, going forward.

Yeah of course, I never said that this idea has to be pushed and promoted NOW, give things time and then mods from both boards (Tigers and Magpies) can work together to present something to both clubs.

When the time is right. I am only suggesting it now because it popped into my mind mind ten minutes ago but in terms of the groundwork to achieve this outcome.............give it time.

Hope this clears up any confusion, if any, going forward.

Sorry if you thought I was having a go at you, that certainly wasn't my intent.

Just giving my opinion on the suggestion.

Sorry if you thought I was having a go at you, that certainly wasn't my intent.

Just giving my opinion on the suggestion.

Nah nah not at all, I never thought you were having a go at me. All good mate.

Guys see below in bold from a Collingwood supporter in regards to my idea:

Collingwood and Richmond to this day play for the Dyer Richards trophy which was struck for games between the two clubs back in 1998

From memory the trophy is a vertical crystallised glass rectangle trophy with an image of Jack Dyer and Lou Richards and their records inscribed on it.

It was on show at the Westpac centre up until the foyer was renovated in 2012 , and like the Anzac trophy Coll v Ess it would go to the winning club to display until the next match between the two clubs.

No doubting though that a statue of Tom Hafey should be at Punt Road Oval alongside the Jack Dyer statue that is there already.

Mods I guess it's probably a good idea to close this thread now. Honestly I had no idea about the Dyer-Richards trophy (no disrespect to either of these great men).

Cheers.

idea has merit but maybe with one of the other clubs tommy coached syd,geelong ?
as we already have a trophy to play the woods for

Guys see below in bold from a Collingwood supporter in regards to my idea:

Collingwood and Richmond to this day play for the Dyer Richards trophy which was struck for games between the two clubs back in 1998

From memory the trophy is a vertical crystallised glass rectangle trophy with an image of Jack Dyer and Lou Richards and their records inscribed on it.

It was on show at the Westpac centre up until the foyer was renovated in 2012 , and like the Anzac trophy Coll v Ess it would go to the winning club to display until the next match between the two clubs.

No doubting though that a statue of Tom Hafey should be at Punt Road Oval alongside the Jack Dyer statue that is there already.
In that case, what about Richmond v Sydney?

Somebody on pies board suggested Hafey medal for BOG Rich v Coll.
Great idea.

In that case, what about Richmond v Sydney?

Get outta town.
You're not serious are you?

Statues don't do it for me, firstly they need to etch his name into the bereaved section and hold some time for us and others to remember how terrifying he made our club seem to others. Next we should be pushing the League to lift his HOF nom to Legend Status, then we can plan some great tribute to the Man we knew as T-Shirt Tommy.

Put a t-shirt on one of the flagpoles at half mast?

I like the intent behind your idea PerthBoy87, but I just think in the AFL we are bombarded with meaningless games that are given 'theme status' that it has become a joke and any good intent in them has been well and truly lost.
I like the idea of a statue outside Punt Rd.

Great idea PB, would certainly prefer this over the 'Eureka game' we have against North (and I'm originally from Ballarat!).

What a legacy he leaves behind. Gone but never forgotten.

I really like the idea of a statue at Punt Road, and the idea of the "Tom Hafey Cup". However, Tom Hafey will always be remembered as a Richmond person. The Best on field vs Collingwood is a great idea.

Mods I guess it's probably a good idea to close this thread now. Honestly I had no idea about the Dyer-Richards trophy (no disrespect to either of these great men).
Cheers.

And that's the problem with these inter-club trophies or cups. They don't mean much and have little ongoing relevance. Remember all the winners of the Stewart medal (for Tigers v Saints)? Nope, me neither.

The inter-club cups have become a pretty poor way to honor past greats. Not intentionally - they were proposed with the best intentions - but they don't work.

Honestly I had no idea about the Dyer-Richards trophy (no disrespect to either of these great men).

That's the problem with such games...within the club they might be known, but for the wider audience they fade into the background and are little known/forgotten.

I like the idea of the statue...and would add that maybe they should make it a 'standard' thing when a Richmond 'immortal' passes (They already have Dyer, and Hart, Bourke & Bartlett are, thankfully, still with us).

Might need to 'negotiate' with Yarra park management (which is the MCG trust if I remember correctly, and they mightn't like the 'competition' for their own set of statues, so it could be a tough sell).

Thanks guys for your input, feel free mods to chat to the Pies mods about this etc.

Cheers.

idea has merit but maybe with one of the other clubs tommy coached syd,geelong ?
as we already have a trophy to play the woods for
Not sure tommy spent enough time at either swans or Geelong to really make his mark. It was his time at richmond and then collingwood that created the legend that was

Maybe Hoddle St./Punt Rd could be renamed Tom Hafey Rd. Or perhaps that doesn't do him justice because it can be a **** of a drive in peak hour, and we wouldn't want people cursing it. But it's the heartland of Richmond/Collingwood, the clubs he meant most to.

Not sure tommy spent enough time at either swans or Geelong to really make his mark. It was his time at richmond and then collingwood that created the legend that was
I'm not sure about Geelong, I can't really speak for his time there but his efforts at the Swans shouldn't be underestimated. Tommy took our fledgling club from the bottom four in 85 to second in 86, followed it up in 87 for consecutive finals appearances (which hadnt been achieved at the Swans since the 1930s) and recruited some of the greats of our club; Diesel Williams, Gerard Healy, Merv Neagle, Bernard Toohey, David Bolton, Neil Cordy & Paul Morwood all arrived at the Swans with Tommy.
Tommy was also crucial in the development of Capper, Bayes, Mitchell, Murphy, Carroll & Carter. He is just as important to Swans history as anyone.
RIP Tom Hafey, Swans Legend