Tom Harley's future

Should Tom Harley play on?

• Yes, still has it in him

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No, should go out on a high note

Votes: 0 0.0%

Re: Tom Harley needed to retire- earlier this week!

Tom can do whatever he wants. 2 time premiership captain is good enough for me.

There is nothing to be gained by Tom going on. In fact the more convincing arguments are for him to call it a day.

1) He is physically at his limit, his best days are well behind him and I question whether he is able to go through another pre-season, yet alone a season in it's entirety.

2) We need to get game time into Gillies and Laidler, particularly while Dash and Scarlett are there to show them the ropes.

3) Although Tom was/is a great leader, we are far from wanting in the leadership department; either in the B/L or the club more broadly

4) I would've though that going on simply to rack up 2 more games on a personally tally is going against out recent ethos. But anyway.....

We love you Tommy, but it's time to go.

basing the pre season call on what? your in depth knowledge of his condition?

Tom's leadership is why we won two premierships, don't discount his influence so lightly.

The ethos is about loyalty and comradeship, seeing your captain to 200 would fit in here i think, which is what bomber is advocating.

amazing how the captain that sees us to our first two cups since the 60's has so many people wanting to throw him on the scrap pile like Ayres did to so many of our beloved, and we bag Ayres all the time for it. Would be nice to see the club do a nice thing for a player for a change i reckon.

Tom's leadership is why we won two premierships

:o

Would be nice to see the club do a nice thing for a player for a change i reckon.

Not sure what you mean by this?

Aren't our players taking pay cuts to keep the group together ultimately for greater club success?

Players come and go, but the club goes on. Its not like Harley volunteered his time to play for our club. If Harley is a great leader and club-man he'll realise that now is the time to go.

To be totally honest, I would hope that Tom Harley plays another year. He is a fantastic Captain of your club, a gentleman on and off the field and truly deserving of achieving 200 premiership games. His onfield leadership is second to none and is very noticeable (and enviable) to the opposition players and supporters alone. I'm sure he will make the right decision for him and his newly wedded wife:thumbsu:

basing the pre season call on what? your in depth knowledge of his condition?
It's called an assumption, an educated guess from what I have seen. And as luck would have it, this is an Internet forum, where both are keenly encouraged.

However I take it that your contrary opinion is based solely on unbiased, cold hard, emotionless, statistical fact.:rolleyes:

Tom's leadership is why we won two premierships, don't discount his influence so lightly.
I don't doubt that at all. I'm sure if Harley retires this year or next, his presence and influence will be missed. However, I was making the point that he is hardly leaving a leadership vacuum. So in this regard, now is as good a time as any.

The ethos is about loyalty and comradeship, seeing your captain to 200 would fit in here i think, which is what bomber is advocating.
Alternatively, it could equally be argued that Tom would be setting a great example by, yet again, putting his wants/needs ahead of the greater good of the club. Which is, in part, creating space for fresh blood.

amazing how the captain that sees us to our first two cups since the 60's has so many people wanting to throw him on the scrap pile like Ayres did to so many of our beloved, and we bag Ayres all the time for it. Would be nice to see the club do a nice thing for a player for a change i reckon.
I'm certainly not advocating a 'scrap pile' for Tom. I love him and what he has given this club. And he will always be remembered for that. Walking away from a playing career as '2 Time Premiership Captain', the last game of which you held the cup aloft, is hardly the scrap pile.

I think you're reaching there.....

tom harley is a great leader and team man. he will do what's best for the club, he is that type of guy who will put the team before himself.

Tom is out of contract and on base wage anyway so him retiring wouldn't have changed a thing this week.

The only list management issue surrounding Tom's decision is about drafting.
If he plays on, we draft one less kid at the end of the draft.quote]

When are the list lodgement dates and when does he have to let us know of his decision?

I really doubt Tom would play on just to reach 200 games and then retire, he's too much of a team man for that. If he doesn't think he can play a full season with his body, and/or if he really wants to not commute from Sydney, he'll retire.

And it will be a perfect note to retire on.

The more I think about it, the stronger is my opinion he should retire.

Our defence, in general, is aging. We don't want to lose too much experience in one go - and we don't want to be blooding too many raw defenders in one go either.

Harley should retire this year. The game has gone past him. That means next year we can slot another defender in without too much hassle, allowing him to be covered by the experienced defence whilst also learning greatly at the same time.

The year after, Milburn retires. Then we slot the next defender in.

Then a year or two later, Scarlett.

We need to stagger the retirements of our current defenders and the inclusions of new defenders.

Agree

Don't stress...I very strongly believe Tom will announce his retirement sometime after the honeymoon.

Dual Premiership Captain :thumbsu:

Tom can do whatever he wants. 2 time premiership captain is good enough for me.

Spot on.
If i was in his position i'd retire but as a dual premiership captain of our great club he's earned the right to make his own decision, in his own time.

When are the list lodgement dates and when does he have to let us know of his decision?

First list lodgement - October 30
Second list lodgement - November 13
Final list lodgement - December 2

Tom said he's announce his decision after his honeymoon which is fair enough given how hectic the last month has been for him.
He'll be back before the October 30 first list lodgement so we'll know by then.

If harley had have announced his retirement before trade week there's no way we would have got drum so cheaply, as long as he doesn't retire after the list lodgement dates he can do what he wants.

Some people have mentioned that if Tom plays on, he is taking the spot of a kid from the draft.

Seem to remember seeing somewhere, rightly or wrongly, that you can now draft players in the national draft and place them on the rookie list rather than waiting for the rookie draft to do this?

If this is the case, we can do that, Harley retires when he wants and when he does, the rookie drafted through the national draft gets elevated for Tom.

If Harley does retire, who comes in to replace him? Im hoping Gillies..

I think the ball is in Tom's court, and he has earnt that right.

He was very good in the PF but poor in the GF - can his body hold up for another year? Who knows.

He will play his last couple and get to go out in a final game at KP.
A fitting send off for the guy in front of the faithful, and grateful, Geelong supporters- not just those few who managed to get tickets to the GF

I wouldn't be surprised if he took a basic wage (minimum 60k plus game payments), play out his remaining 3 games for the club to reach 200 games for the Cats and then retire. Minimal impact to the club and himself, plus he can stay with the team for the entirity and be used for his leadership abilities.

I hope he does play the extra couple of games; true club champion.

i would love to see harley play another couple of games and reach 200. i really respect bomber for recognising this. hopefully we will remember harley in years to come as a champion bloke, solid player, dual premiership player and 200 gamer.

i would be willing to accept the consequences (not draft one more player or whatever - i'm not exactly sure) to give Tom this and as i said before i have a lot of respect for bomber for encouraging this as well.

of course he would play on next year on minimum wage wtih the expectation of once he reached 201 games he would make way for gillies.

to all those that say the club is more important than the player: i think you all will agree that a key to geelong's success has been the loyalty / devotion / comittment of the players. by the cats giving harley this it will demonstrate to the players even more about how important they are to the club - and how we're not gonna flog them off, drop them, etc.
Spot on mate!
Who gives a **** about who we're gonna miss out with pick 81, play him for 2 games on minimum wage and then tell him to call it a day: I'm sure he'd be happy to oblige unless he's in scintilating (refound) form and fitness, in which case it can't hurt to keep playing him anyway.

One thing you left out of how he should be remembered is as one of Geelong's most famous and accomplished captains ever: dual premiership captain, AA, ended a 44 year drought for the club, led his side to 3 successive GFs (only 1 of 10 captains to ever do so in AFL/VFL history).

People like him make this club as great as it is; the more recognition we show to blokes like this, the less Moneyford's we'll have ditching us after we take an absolute punt on them.

:eek:

For someone who has given everything to his club, it's a noble gesture by Thompson and the Cats to give something back.

3 games. Will cost you less than 80K. And every player will know what loyalty is when they pull on a Geelong jumper.

bomber said they were going to ask the AFL if the cats could play one extra on the list for 2/3 games.l am not sure what the outcome of this but if the club can not play one extra that means tom harley takes a spot of a kid and that puts the player a head of the club which l l don't like.l would love harley to get to 200 games but it means not getting a good kid well it wont be a good move.

In 2008 we effectively played the whole season with 2 UNABLE to play (EGAN/ABLETT), and we coped ok, and again this year, Eagn was on our list unable to play. Having Harley on for 2-3 weeks would be nothing abnormal for us

Tom Harley should play on if he wants to

If he's happy to take the risk of playing a few games in the VFL I think he should keep playing.

If you look back to 2002, when the team won the VFL premiership, the crop of youngsters that went on to win in 2007 and 2009 played with Tim McGrath as VFL captain

I reckon that kind of leadership in and around the club is invaluable. Tom has a lot of knowledge to pass on to the next breed of Cat defenders

He should stay on for 2010 if he wants to

I don't think anyone besides Mackie is even entertaining the idea that Tom plays for the whole of enxt year. Bomber said on On the Couch that he wanted him to play a couple of games to get to 200, as Sheedy let him do.

Relax guys. We are fans of the premiers and one of the best teams of all time. Enjoy the break and just soak up every game this team plays next year.

Spot on.
If i was in his position i'd retire but as a dual premiership captain of our great club he's earned the right to make his own decision, in his own time.

First list lodgement - October 30
Second list lodgement - November 13
Final list lodgement - December 2

Tom said he's announce his decision after his honeymoon which is fair enough given how hectic the last month has been for him.
He'll be back before the October 30 first list lodgement so we'll know by then.

Cool...thanks for the info.

Tom can take his time (he probably is busy right now ;))...so long as he doesn't decide (either way) so late we end up 1 senior lister short (ala Crawford) then I'm happy :thumbsu: