Injury Tom Hawkins - back injury

• Thread starter Thread starter AWOL

I really don't get all this attitude and rudeness that spasmodically happens on this Board.

Most, if not nearly all, are so good and worth reading - but surely most people understand when someone needs to belittle someone else it says more about the poster than the person they having a go at.

No problem with disagreements on footy points when articulated appropriately but I think we are better than what I read here.

Let's get back to the footy - which are all here for.

A few points. VC is an old woman Catgirl. Don't choose to own his filth. I don't think anyone deep down respects his opinions.

As For Hawkins. I caught up with him for an hour the other day. He's in great nick. I don't think he looks overweight at all. Looks fit. I watched him train on Monday and watched him go for ground balls. He didn't look slow and he easily lead his opponent to the ball.

There will Always be supporters who gravitate to negativity. As previously mentioned- the "you've been shit all day Scarlett" set. Those supporters are never gonna change. If 3 premierships and a sustained glory period isn't enough to help them see the world with a joyful heart, nothing will. So we just have to learn to live with comments like "Hawkins is a fat pig who loves a beer" and "Varcoes a dog who cost us a flag cos he deliberately played like shit" etc
It must be a sad place I live your life, owning that mindset.

only the interwebs,fantasy land

so true and yet you can get so engrossed in conversations on here that you forget your only chatting to the computer screen but visually, your imagining what that person looks like and even have the surroundings thought out too :D

He's in great nick. I don't think he looks overweight at all. Looks fit. I watched him train on Monday and watched him go for ground balls. He didn't look slow and he easily lead his opponent to the ball.

I agree, didn't think he looks overweight either, seems to be moving much better and also playing a lot of golf which some people have said is not a sport to play if you have back problems.

Simpson, Varcoe, Vardy look in really good shape...toned up muscle-wise going by the recent video on the Cats website.

As For Hawkins. I caught up with him for an hour the other day. He's in great nick. I don't think he looks overweight at all. Looks fit. I watched him train on Monday and watched him go for ground balls. He didn't look slow and he easily lead his opponent to the ball.
My exact thoughts.

It's easy to sit behind a screen watching half-arsed interviews/videos of players and start calling them fat. I doubt any of these keyboard critics actually saw Hawkins training in real life. It's very possible we all have our own definitions of fat, and mine doesn't suit Hawkins. It's that simple.

A few points. VC is an old woman Catgirl. Don't choose to own his filth. I don't think anyone deep down respects his opinions.

There will Always be supporters who gravitate to negativity. As previously mentioned- the "you've been shit all day Scarlett" set. Those supporters are never gonna change. If 3 premierships and a sustained glory period isn't enough to help them see the world with a joyful heart, nothing will. So we just have to learn to live with comments like "Hawkins is a fat pig who loves a beer" and "Varcoes a dog who cost us a flag cos he deliberately played like shit" etc
Did you ask him to do any running, jumping, or pick ups while on the run? Because that's all I care about. He's always looked a little pudgy, but that's just it LOOKED a little pudgy, so did Cameron Ling, but, until Joel Selwood joined the club, Ling dominated the 3km time trial every pre-season, so looks can be deceiving.

Glad to have that confirmed by someone who has actually seen him up close. Thanks Catsmaninamerica and Catgirl
Whilst I don't agree with the proppy and "fat" observations of some who shall remain nameless , it's good to have what appears on film backed up by actual observation.
He looks in totaslly different shape to me compared to last preseason.
He was absolutely massive last year over here in the NAB , apparently all the Eagles were talking about how big he was after they played us - with his back issues and starting with that bulk there was no way he was going to lean down during the season.
He is the key to our success so let's hope he stays on the park and dominates.
BTW Catgirl , I have a 19YO with similarities to you - I've never won a debate with her and I reckon you would play me on a break as well :thumbsu:

It would be interesting to know last year -when Hawkins had his bad back - was he still playing golf with Johnson on a weekly basis - probably was - golf wouldnt do his back one bit of good at all

How the hell would you know? You're being far too presumptuous mate.

favourite part of this thread :

Hawkins is bullish about Geelong's premiership chances this year at a time when the football world is waiting for the Cats to slide.
He knows the competition is getting tougher by virtue of its evenness but the goal remains unwaveringly clear.
"We're still striving for a premiership this year," Hawkins said.
"I believe we've still got the list and so does everyone, so it's really exciting."
It's easy to get swept up in silly season hypotheticals, but the Cats were only a kick away from beating last year's premiers without a key ruckman and with their reigning best-and-fairest winner severely limited.
Dawson Simpson and Hamish McIntosh are now up and running and Hawkins, as he is at pains to reassure, feels rejuvenated.
"I think we can be a real threat next year," he said.
"I still think we've got what it takes."

I love that Hawkins, Selwood, Scott and the boys never feel like they're out of contention - long season to come, but a bit of genuine self-belief doesn't hurt the cause!

Success breeds success which breeds an attitude/entitlement of success.
We need to cash in on that attitude of course but if we can snag a flag or 2 in the next 5/6 years I would be genuinely surprised if we don't continue to do that, few years slightly down (but still around finals) with a few years up the top and snaring a flag.
Like I said, success breeds success, for eg Man United ALWAYS think they can win the Premiership each and every year so they do everything possible to do that, and often they do.
Unlike sides like say Richmond or Melbourne who for years had an attitude of development and game time, all our energies are put into winning the flag.
Like I said, success breeds success.

Success breeds success which breeds an attitude/entitlement of success.
We need to cash in on that attitude of course but if we can snag a flag or 2 in the next 5/6 years I would be genuinely surprised if we don't continue to do that, few years slightly down (but still around finals) with a few years up the top and snaring a flag.
Like I said, success breeds success, for eg Man United ALWAYS think they can win the Premiership each and every year so they do everything possible to do that, and often they do.
Unlike sides like say Richmond or Melbourne who for years had an attitude of development and game time, all our energies are put into winning the flag.
Like I said, success breeds success.

Could not have said it better myself CS, this is a big part of why we are still up. I feel it the major difference between us and the St Kilda's of this world (Apart from many other things) is that we build a culture of just always winning and believing we could beat anyone, that has been around now for the 6 years, and for the entirety of many of our players careers. If we can be there or abouts next year, then I would back us to be there or abouts for the next 5-6 years at least, because despite the loss of enright, bartel, kelly, Lonergan, etc. We will have players coming in who expect to win, and doing everything asked of them to continue the legacy.

I can see this opinion.

But I'm not with it totally. There abouts. Does that mean top 8? Top 2?

I think we have 2 years left in the top four. And big flag chances.
A lot of people have us on the edge of the eight in 2014. I think we are clearly top 4.

But there is a huge base of clubs coming. I'm not sure we can keep up.

I can see this opinion.

But I'm not with it totally. There abouts. Does that mean top 8? Top 2?

I think we have 2 years left in the top four. And big flag chances.
A lot of people have us on the edge of the eight in 2014. I think we are clearly top 4.

But there is a huge base of clubs coming. I'm not sure we can keep up.

I mean top 6 is VC where if we're not actually challenging we're not far away.

Sorry, brand new here. But i have been trying to search for a current update on Tom Hawkins and stumbled onto this! Amazing! Does anyone know for sure if Tom Hawkins is on track to play at 100% in round 1?

Apparently is going great guns and will play some NAB matches... time will tell I guess

Get back from overseas and I have to deal with this thread.

111 posts deleted. Don't make me ever go through that again.

Keep it civil and on topic. How hard is it?

Thought many of 'em were quite reasonable and entertaining too. Accurate as well. Not suffering from jet lag are we? :p:)

Pleasing to read that Hawk is in good nick. With Pods gone he is our only proven go-to tall forward. His importance to us can't be overstated.

That's what you get for going and enjoying yourself overseas when the rest of us chumps are stuck here in the heat!!! :-P