Tom Hawkins

Re: Has Hawkins turned the corner?

I have been a bit amazed by the plaudit Tom has been on the end of post this game.

He was very good but we must all remember he didn't beat someone like Scarlett or Glass or Tarrant. He is moving in the right direction but still has a bit to go.

As long as he keeps playing the way he is and backing his body size, I dont mind if he draws the key defenders as then it frees up jPod!! :D

My only worry is if the key defender goes to jPod, Hawkins needs to step up and make sure he fills the void.

Hawkins and Pods are working extremely well together.

Key forwards have never been our strong point since 2007 but I think that right now, Hawkins and Pods are working as well as any of our other combinations (Mooney-NAblett, Mooney-Lonergan, Mooney-Hawkins, Podsiadly-Mooney) have.

He has been helped by the side playing more direct. The high possession game did not suit big forwards but this thrilling new approach is made for the power forward.

I think even moreso he's been helped by Trent West being in the side, meaning that Hawkins ONLY plays as a key forward.

I'm hoping that Scott has made the correct call - that Hawkins is and will only ever be a forward. He'll either make it or not in that position.

The most important attribute he needs now is self-belief. He'll only fulfil his potential once he realises how good he can be.

Has Hawkins turned the corner?

Please! tell me, you must be JOKING!!!!

Get a life you moron, Of course he's turned the friggin corner!!!!

I can just see it now! as Douglas Jardine (Captain of England) once said to Harold Larwood, presenting him with the match ball, 'Thank you Harold for the Ashes' likewise Chris Scott could well be saying thank you Tom for the 2011 Premiership!

That's how important he is to our chances for the 2011 Premiership.
He's going just fine!

Massive gain from Tom which can only assist in boosting his confidence and set him up for the next 2 games.
Loved his first set shot when he aimed at the left goalpost and let his left to right action do the work. Could be our x factor in 2011

The sort of courage it takes to post this stuff anonymously in a forum, you mean
icon5.gif

haha:thumbsu:
I'm not gonna lie, I can get fired up but I wouldn't even contemplate doing some of the shit these football players do every single week. I mean backing into a pack full of athletes who are 6ft 2, 90kg, being prepared to put my face on the line just to win the bloody football and not even have 2nd thought's of getting a busted nose or cracked jaw. Even the simplest things of running so hard that you just wanna stop, lay down on your back and catch your breath but you gotta man up and suck it in and then run again till the stomach bile is ready to bring up morning's breakfast. Funny to watch fans at the footy holding a good old meat pie in one hand and a full strength beer in the other whilst yelling at players to do this and do that:p

off-topic but always wondered which team has the most obese supporters:confused: I've seen quite a few chunky Magpie fans lately and those Lygon street souvlaki eating Carlton fans are a little mellow around the mid section.

haha:thumbsu:
I'm not gonna lie, I can get fired up but I wouldn't even contemplate doing some of the shit these football players do every single week. I mean backing into a pack full of athletes who are 6ft 2, 90kg, being prepared to put my face on the line just to win the bloody football and not even have 2nd thought's of getting a busted nose or cracked jaw. Even the simplest things of running so hard that you just wanna stop, lay down on your back and catch your breath but you gotta man up and suck it in and then run again till the stomach bile is ready to bring up morning's breakfast. Funny to watch fans at the footy holding a good old meat pie in one hand and a full strength beer in the other whilst yelling at players to do this and do that:p

Must confess it's a bit of a hobby horse of mine. We call 'em grandstand heroes. Doubt that many have ever put themselves in harms way on a footy field yet are quite happy to sit outside the fence calling players squibs, jibs, soft et al. I see a fair amount of local footy and it's almost endemic. Would love to see a player run to the fence and confront one of 'em. Most would s*@t themselves. End of rant!

Wish I knew how to take the roast of this thread cause I would. However threads like this show why some should think before hitting the keyboard.

As one who has had my issue with Tom (mainly his conversion), no one could have expected him to do more than he did against the HawHawks. If he can continue on with that form he will be will be where we all hoped he would be at around 75-100 game range.
I do think the next two games will be tougher but hopefully his confidence should be at an all time high. Go Tom !!!

Wish I knew how to take the roast of this thread cause I would. However threads like this show why some should think before hitting the keyboard.

No way man!! Having qwerty in front of me entitles me to be as critical as I want about some guy I dont know and have never met, that I constantly yell at on tv while I am sitting on my fat arse on the couch because I have never achieved anything close to playing AFL football....:rolleyes:

Lol, anyway. Leave the thread as is man, haters always gonna hate - and egg will always end up on someones face - its a fact of life:D

Where's the "out in straight sets" as fact guy?

For that matter where's the Tomahawk is a dud brigade?

Interesting that The Yid and Gazzas Army and the like are strangely absent from the forum at the moment.

Roasts in general should be banned.

Why the hell do we want to stick the boot into out of form players?

Hear hear!!!!! Its amazing to me that keyboard cowboys on here who probably have never approached the level of football Geelong AFL players work at, want to stick the boot into guys playing for their club,. their supporters and for their own future. They are obviously giving it their best shot.

Hawkins, Mackie and Varcoe seem to be the targets at the moment...it makes steam come out of my ears...some of the posts are down right slanderous...quite apart from being totally wrong!!

I'm with you Reg! Especially the posts that malign a players character ( e.g squib, gutless, coward ).......its disgraceful.

The statements reflect how people felt at the time.

The fact that he's playing well now doesn't change that.

We all have posts we regret.

No way man!! Having qwerty in front of me

Ever picked out all the keys and changed away from qwerty?
I did it 10 years ago. I can't remember the keyboard layout I used.

It completely crapped on qwerty. But I started struggling using every other pc in the office so I had to change back :p

The statements reflect how people felt at the time.

The fact that he's playing well now doesn't change that.

We all have posts we regret.
Mate the OP was:
"Sick of him.

Don't play him again this year.

Trade him."
Very few object to negative opinions being posted here providing they have some meat to them - even a scrap or two.

Tom has been the recipient of alot of criticism here. Much of it soundly based leading to some good discussion. And that's fair enough. This OP was an empty headed cheap shot that had no redeeming feature and the writer deserves to cop a whack for the way it was put.

Mate the OP was:Very few object to negative opinions being posted here providing they have some meat to them - even a scrap or two.

Tom has been the recipient of alot of criticism here. Much of it soundly based leading to some good discussion. And that's fair enough. This OP was an empty headed cheap shot that had no redeeming feature and the writer deserves to cop a whack for the way it was put.

similar to vinum_coupe's 1st quarter thread in round 24 saying that Chapman had to go but somehow was removed from the forum to his relief:confused:

The mods here do silent work. They have no interest in keeping threads that can't be used for somewhat serious discussion. Threads like that only develop into flame wars.

Most threads are just merged into the appropriate ones.

I still say chappy is struggling fwiw.
*please note I didnt see the 1st half on friday

Re: Had enough of Hawkins

You call that a serve? LOL Dude, you aren't all that good at insults, and I really don't think you know much about either me or how to objectively assess the written word.

The yid. What a douche. Haven't seen the "legend" on here in a while. Nothing to say when we're flying. Maybe he's flat out talking to his "3players on speed dial" hahaha aha. Flog.

I still say chappy is struggling fwiw.
*please note I didnt see the 1st half on friday

struggling? 83% disposal efficiency and laid 5 tackles, had both Lewis and Hodge to contend with on the night but was very crucial in the contested situations especially early on and in the 3rd quarter when they had a fight back and he used his stronger body to get in and under and helped clear it over to our main ball users. You would prefer to see him dropped for the preliminary final then?
I dunno how you can create a thread suggesting he needs to be dropped if you didn't even watch his total involvement on the night:confused: You sound like the fools who got stuck into Pods in the media that carried on about his goal stats but were blind sided to his scoring involvement and one per centers throughout the year. No doubt he's been down on form by his own standards but haven't you seen his improvement over the past 4 weeks of footy? He's gonna have a massive preliminary final you know so again you gonna be looking just a little foolish.

Tom Hawkins