Tom Lee

He's a very hard worker on the field, however off-field he was terribly lazy, only this year he pulled his finger out when his Coach beat him in a 3km time trial by about 30 seconds and blasted him for it. Kind of a Last one to turn up one of the first to leave, Even after being booted out of the crows for a laconic style to training he just floated along thinking he had enough talent to make it so it would happen

Is a very talented Tall, not the strongest player however reads the play very well and judges the ball perfectly, a Pure forward, Very Wiry and will take about 1-2 seasons to get into the swing of it, however he's a good-un, Especially if he's ready to put the work in

He's a very hard worker on the field, however off-field he was terribly lazy, only this year he pulled his finger out when his Coach beat him in a 3km time trial by about 30 seconds and blasted him for it. Kind of a Last one to turn up one of the first to leave, Even after being booted out of the crows for a laconic style to training he just floated along thinking he had enough talent to make it so it would happen

Is a very talented Tall, not the strongest player however reads the play very well and judges the ball perfectly, a Pure forward, Very Wiry and will take about 1-2 seasons to get into the swing of it, however he's a good-un, Especially if he's ready to put the work in
Thanks for your insights mate, much appreciated. :thumbsu:

Just needs to give the physical presence, not expecting him to kick 100 goals a season by any means

Exactly. He seems a little but shy to throw his weight around. But I think he is definitely big enough to intimidate a few players and help out lee and Stanley, just needs a bit of mongrel.

I was excited when we picked up Saad cos I'd seen a few of his VFL games and knew he had the attributes to be a very good exciting AFL player.. And although I don't know much about Lee, his highlights package is just as exciting as a genuine Key Forward is more important then a small crumbing forward (not taking anything away from Saad, cos he will be a superstar.) And to also point out that he kciked 60 gals in 16 games, as well as 6 goals in the foxtel cup GF against Werribee. Things certainly look very promising for this kid

That's funny, I used to play junior footy with his coach from this year and I have no doubt that he would not have been impressed with the fact that he could beat him by that much in a 3km time trial as long distance running was not his strong point at all at least when I played with him(hell of a good footballer though). I have no doubt he would have given him a rocket and it sounds like it was much needed and deserved if he was putting in 3km time trials like that. Hopefully the Saints will reap the benefits :).

his Coach beat him in a 3km time trial

Pretty shocking!

They mention that in this article:

http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/sport/a/-/afl/15067855/second-time-around-suits-lee-just-fine/

"I think this time around I deserve it a lot more than last time,"

"... my physical preparation ... (is) not quite there but I think I've taken the right steps to get myself there.'

St Kilda met with Lee during the build-up to the preliminary final ... and then spoke to him again at the draft combine.

A calf injury sustained in the WAFL grand final prevented Lee from taking part in fitness testing at the combine.

McPhee laid down the law to Lee during the 2011 pre-season after he performed poorly in a 3km fitness test.

"The first time I ran it about 11 (minutes) flat before the break and came back after the break and ran about 12 minutes,"

"He said you can't join in on the track until you can beat me in the 3km time trial."

"Those days are past me now. I learned my lesson."

Pretty much, i heard a drop off of two minutes but the reporter probably has it from the horses mouth.

Same deal, would play footy, smash the beers and party off-season, come back pretty out of shape and eventually work his way into fitness at the tail end of the season

Pretty shocking!

They mention that in this article:

http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/sport/a/-/afl/15067855/second-time-around-suits-lee-just-fine/

"I think this time around I deserve it a lot more than last time,"

"... my physical preparation ... (is) not quite there but I think I've taken the right steps to get myself there.'

St Kilda met with Lee during the build-up to the preliminary final ... and then spoke to him again at the draft combine.

A calf injury sustained in the WAFL grand final prevented Lee from taking part in fitness testing at the combine.

McPhee laid down the law to Lee during the 2011 pre-season after he performed poorly in a 3km fitness test.

"The first time I ran it about 11 (minutes) flat before the break and came back after the break and ran about 12 minutes,"

"He said you can't join in on the track until you can beat me in the 3km time trial."

"Those days are past me now. I learned my lesson."

Ah, if it's Simon McPhee I didn't play with him as a junior, I was talking about his current coach from this year Marc Webb who as a junior was very quick but not exactly leading any longer distance time trials if you know what I mean so I was a little worried to hear that Webby had beaten anyone that we had just recruited over a longer distance. ;)

It seems people seem to think pick 12 brings a gun, and disregard any ability to draft a good player with pick 24 (and 43).

Very true, drafting seems a lot more miss then hit.

Just look at our present team, Sam Fisher pick 55, James Gwilt Pick 63, Stephen Milne - Rookie, vrs Raphael Clarke Pick 8.

While 1st & 2nd picks almost always end up as good players, from 3 onwards there has been some dreadful results.

There is an advantage in picking more mature players from state competions, you know what you are getting & less likely to want to go home.

While 1st & 2nd picks almost always end up as good players, from 3 onwards there has been some dreadful results.

And I was even just thinking about last year with Ross (25), Markworth (35) and Newnes (37).

Whilst disappointed we went for another skinny half back (Webster at 42), it was a strong result in Elshaug's first season as head recruiter.

If Wilkes becomes anything like the G-Train i'll eat my pants!!

You can't see it?

images
images

Exactly. He (Wilkes) seems a little but shy to throw his weight around. But I think he is definitely big enough to intimidate a few players and help out lee and Stanley, just needs a bit of mongrel.
I was talking about Wilkes on the WC board a couple of weeks ago and someone there said that in the WAFL he would throw his weight around a lot and punch blokes and so on, but that he didn't then bring that sort of attitude and aggression to senior AFL footy.

He reckons that if he did, he would perform to a higher level and I reckon that is spot on.

He has the tools and it's up to us to get it all out of him. As I've said previously, if he was brought in from about R4, when many of us were calling for him to come in and Kosi go out, I reckon he could very conceivably have kicked 35+ goals for the year from that point on and have little doubt he would have contributed a lot more than Kosi (who hit the wall big-time after the Hawthorn game) did.

he didn't then bring that sort of attitude and aggression to senior AFL footy.

To me it's a fitness thing. His tackling and general aggression is quite good in the VFL (16 tackles in 8 games), but catching the buggers at AFL level proves more of a challenge (although he did catch Daniel Cross). Taking out that game against the Dogs (in which he had 5 tackles), he only had 7 tackles in 9 AFL games. Doesn't help (him being able to effectively throw his weight around) when Andrew Walker gets a rubbish free for a dive after getting tapped by Wilkes' back!

I'll post what I posted ont he draft and trading board

"For those that are saying the Saints gave up too much for Tom Lee.

Could you imagine a 17 / 18 yr old who kicks 50+ goals in less than 3qtrs of the WAFL League season going for less than pick 1 in the draft? Tom Lee is only 3 - 4 years older and doesnt need the development a 17 year old would, he is ready to go AND still has a bit of development left in him.

I'd say he is worth a 12 pick downgrade

It's all this youth talk, for christ sake he's only 3 years older than some of the potential draftees and has kicked over 50 goals playing in the WAFL seniors after palying the first 7 games in defence

Procrastination has won out today. Just had a watch of the Foxtel Cup to check out Tommy Lee in action. Really looking forward to watching him develop with Roo's guidance.

Things I learned (albeit from one game only):
- Very good set shot and kicking on the run
- Clean hands and good on the deck, even in the wet
- Good second efforts
- Great goal sense
- Hard to stop if he gets a run at the ball
- As some have mentioned, great athleticism, but will get beaten one-on-one by big AFL KPDs.

Head to http://www.afl.com.au/tabid/17333/Default.aspx#fixtureid=7937&tab=MatchVideo to check out the game.

Highlights
Q1:
First 4 mins.

Q2
16:10
19:10

Q3
4:20
9:25
17:18
18:40
20:11 - Replay of his previous goal plus mention of the pantsing he gave Dawson :thumbsu:

Q4
6:45

Notable commentator remarks:
- Has bright future due to his goal kicking versatility (not just a lead and mark forward).
- A number of mentions that he is a smart footballer.
- Very good below his knees.
Not getting carried away (I am), but the lad has a hell of a lot of potential and could turn out to be a very, very good AFL player.

Procrastination has won out today. Just had a watch of the Foxtel Cup to check out Tommy Lee in action. Really looking forward to watching him develop with Roo's guidance.

Things I learned (albeit from one game only):
- Very good set shot and kicking on the run
- Clean hands and good on the deck, even in the wet
- Good second efforts
- Great goal sense
- Hard to stop if he gets a run at the ball
- As some have mentioned, great athleticism, but will get beaten one-on-one by big AFL KPDs.

Head to http://www.afl.com.au/tabid/17333/Default.aspx#fixtureid=7937&tab=MatchVideo to check out the game.

Highlights
Q1:
First 4 mins.

Q2
16:10
19:10

Q3
4:20
9:25
17:18
18:40
20:11 - Replay of his previous goal plus mention of the pantsing he gave Dawson :thumbsu:

Q4
6:45

Notable commentator remarks:
- Has bright future due to his goal kicking versatility (not just a lead and mark forward).
- A number of mentions that he is a smart footballer.
- Very good below his knees.
Not getting carried away (I am), but the lad has a hell of a lot of potential and could turn out to be a very, very good AFL player.
Thanks for the heads up, I'll check that out later. :thumbsu: