Traded Tom Scully [traded to Hawthorn for a future fourth round pick]

We can thank the genius's at the AFL for allowing this farce to occur. The structures the AFL put in place in the last CBA/trade rules have totally ****** this NATIONAL competition in terms of equality. Hawthorn have simply worked a structural advantage created by the AFL to their benefit (and so they should).

Contracted players choosing their destination should not be allowed. They should be sold to the highest bidder. Instead we have clubs in Victoria
cherry picking contracted players and not having to stump up fair value for a trade, because the player and the purchasing club can collude to artificially limit demand for their services to one club.

Scully for a 4th rounder is no where near to fair value and this would not have occurred, should other clubs have the opportunity to trade for his contract.

The AFL's short sightedness and incompetence is clear for all to see...

They wont fix it till the baby expansion clubs are holding their own. ie never

We can thank the genius's at the AFL for allowing this farce to occur. The structures the AFL put in place in the last CBA/trade rules have totally ****** this NATIONAL competition in terms of equality. Hawthorn have simply worked a structural advantage created by the AFL to their benefit (and so they should).

All Clubs (even non-Victorian) had the choice to go after him.

No Victorian Clubs ever won a premiership based on Cola. (I'll agree some may have been on something else)

Contracted players choosing their destination should not be allowed. They should be sold to the highest bidder. Instead we have clubs in Victoria
cherry picking contracted players and not having to stump up fair value for a trade, because the player and the purchasing club can collude to artificially limit demand for their services to one club.

Scully for a 4th rounder is no where near to fair value and this would not have occurred, should other clubs have the opportunity to trade for his contract.

Tell us how you got Buddy again, Or Hall, Or Spider, OR PLUGGER

Question - What is the highest pick you'd be happy for your club to give up for a player with serious injury concern? Specifically an injury concern that has the potential to limit one of the player's best attributes?

For me, any higher than 25-30 and I'm raising an eyebrow. So yes...I think we've done well :thumbsu:

If I know one thing, it’s that Gill is listening to Muppetsmasher from BigFooty.

Does a medical to get a tick off then is offered 3 yr deal around 1.5m with a trigger for fourth!! Honestly, GW is taking The piss!!
Getting a gun like scully for the Vickery cash plus at the expense of a fourth a third rounder.
Aghast!!!

Does a medical to get a tick off then is offered 3 yr deal around 1.5m with a trigger for fourth!! Honestly, GW is taking The piss!!
Getting a gun like scully for the Vickery cash plus at the expense of a fourth a third rounder.
Aghast!!!
It's actually a prosthetic leg. He's going to rock up to day 1 of pre-season with his foot in an esky. Going to be interesting what hawthorn's medical team do from there

All Clubs (even non-Victorian) had the choice to go after him.

No Victorian Clubs ever won a premiership based on Cola. (I'll agree some may have been on something else)
No they didn't.... He was contracted and nominated hawthorn. He should have been forced to go where GCS wanted him to go.

The rules allowed you and the player to collaborate to extort GCS out of fair trade value. This is a AFL created issue.

If I know one thing, it’s that Gill is listening to Muppetsmasher from BigFooty.
Good retort, perhaps you might want to use some of your intellect?

Maybe, you might want to add to the discussion instead of being a smart arse...

No they didn't.... He was contracted and nominated hawthorn. He should have been forced to go where GCS wanted him to go.

The rules allowed you and the player to collaborate to extort GCS out of fair trade value. This is a AFL created issue.
GWS were pushing him out because of cap pressures, due to that he absolutely should have a say in where he goes.

Tell us how you got Buddy again, Or Hall, Or Spider, OR PLUGGER
Plugger AFL rort for the good of the game. I agree it shouldn't have happened.

Buddy - FA
Spider - trade
hall - trade

Ill happily swap the structural advantages Victorian clubs have for COLA.

GWS were pushing him out because of cap pressures, due to that he absolutely should have a say in where he goes.
Nah, if you are getting paid 500k to kick a piece of leather around, you can go where you are told.

Contracted players should be able to be traded as required for the remainder of that contract, like in the states. If that was the case you would have had a additional 9 Victorian club competing for his remaining contract...... He wouldn't have gone for a 4th rounder.

Errr no.

Wingard was always a secondary target to Shiel and if you've offered Port a first + Burton (who is worth a top 10 pick at least) then you would've offered GWS at least something of equivalent value.

The reason GWS is pushing Essendon for two first rounders was because they knew the Hawks would've paid it.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app
Umm no u have that ass about we pulled out because we had other targets. We are not done yet.

Then why can't his salary be dumped to the Bulldogs or St Kilda, who GWS would get a much more favourable return from? Because either Cameron is scratching Clarkson's back, or GWS is hamstrung only being able to deal with Hawthorn yet wanting to dump Scully because of salary issues.

Either way, it's unethical.

Why couldn’t Little Gaz go to Carlton last year? That’s right the AFL paid Geelong overs in a compensation pick for Motlop, so Geelong could get little Garry back. If you want to talk about unfairness and corruption, why not talk about that blatant form of corruption. Swings and roundabouts, some trades you win, some you lose. Move on.

Nah, if you are getting paid 500k to kick a piece of leather around, you can go where you are told.

Contracted players should be able to be traded as required for the remainder of that contract, like in the states. If that was the case you would have had a additional 9 Victorian club competing for his remaining contract...... He wouldn't have gone for a 4th rounder.
When the money gets even close to what is on offer in America that may be a fair point, until then they are not even worth comparing.

Disagree..... People with much lower paying job travel interstate for work all the time. Considering the average salary is around the 300K mark, I hardly see how this is such a hardship for the financial compensation.

Players that are worried can just sign shorter contacts (derisking them from being traded out against their will). Clubs that trade players against their will, will get a bad rep for doing so...

The current trade system is broken... IMO It wont get fixed until the next CBA unfortunately.

Wow what a bitter flog.

I mean not withstanding the million dollar contract offered to a 19 year old, maybe if Green was a captains arsehole he wouldn't have lead such a rabble that lead to Scully wanting out.

Melbourne have so much to owe to Nathan Jones. Guarantee we never see any salty tweets like that in his retirement - he may also win a flag as well as being a good captain.