- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Melbourne
- Other Teams
- west ham
'Drinking culture'.
WTF?
WTF?

Super Bowl LVIII Notice Image
New England Patomans v Seattle Microsofts - Live Game Chat Now
PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Opening Round
The Golden Ticket - Official AFL on-seller of MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
'Drinking culture'.
WTF?
I'm not going to bother actually stalking them. But I'm sure the players like a drink but I have faith that the majority of the players aren't drinking excessively, especially the leadership group and important young players. I also believe that if we did have a drinking problem it would have resulted in a few player indiscretions and we're not exactly having an excessive amount of them."Drinking Culture, WTF??"
Just have a look at their facebook photos.
Last night I had a big night out with a few mates & one of the guys who went was the relative of Tom's who attended the family gathering just after draft day (the one where Wattsy slipped on wet tiles)... Last night I was told the biggest concern of Tom's regarding being drafted to Melbourne was "the drinking culture at the club", I was shocked as I have not heard anything of the kind, having spoken to a number of the players during the year.... Have any of you blokes heard anything along those lines???
Another interesting thing was, Tom survived a week living with the Davey clan (heaps of little tackers running around all the time. Apparentely to get a feel for the routine that is required of an AFL player, the recruits were billoted out to senior players...
Did anyone know that happened????
Isn't Scully a non-drinker? I think I read that somewhere, which could explain his feelings.
I'm hoping its more of a case of coming into contact with a group of men aged 18-30odd who like the odd drink, as opposed to the Demons having more of a drinking culture than other clubs.
Doc, you are right, Tom doesn't drink, neither does Wattsy & Jetta.. I'm sure there are others aswell but couldn't tell you personally... The culture thing, I don't get it, I'm sure every club has blokes who like a drink......
I dont see a problem with the odd beer or wine in the context of the players socialising and bondong like usual young lads.
Anyway doesnt sound right - probably wasnt said in this manner.

Last night I had a big night out with a few mates & one of the guys who went was the relative of Tom's who attended the family gathering just after draft day (the one where Wattsy slipped on wet tiles)
Doc, you are right, Tom doesn't drink, neither does Wattsy & Jetta.. I'm sure there are others aswell but couldn't tell you personally... The culture thing, I don't get it, I'm sure every club has blokes who like a drink......
I'm going to keep my powder dry on this as the last time you mentioned Jack Watts, you mentioned he slipping on tiles, hurt his groin and was in a lot of pain. he came out the next day and trained no worries.
I've seen Jack have a few quiet ones. So something is not right there.
Sounds like a load of shit to me. You get alot of blokes claiming to know all sorts of things - most of it untrue.Totally understandable with your response... I'm not trying to be provactive or create rumours, only letting you blokes in on the conversations I have had....
Had anyone heard about the billotting of players before????? I think it is a great idea as a way for the young blokes to blend in quickly....
I has seen this bloke in some very messy states, and not always drunk.I have no inside information or sources but going just by previous news articles both Carroll and McLean looked like they loved the odd drink...or three.
Also hearing The Ox talk about the culture when he was playing it seemed that players were pressured into going our drinking with the 'lads'. Perhaps this culture is still with some of the older players, who knows.
Regardless, thsi drinking culture seems to be disappearing for various reasons
Sounds like a load of shit to me. You get alot of blokes claiming to know all sorts of things - most of it untrue.
more like the sauce bottle?whatever you reckon stick, you know best obviously...... I have no reason to doubt my source at all, maybe silence is better than sharing info with so called like-minded supporters??????
more like the sauce bottle?

Bondong!
Whatever that is I'm not sure I want our young guys getting into that, sounds a bit weird to me.
![]()

So we can quote you then. Scully to leave the demons because we have a drinking culture, source, Scully household.Yeah, appreciate your input buddy, constructive comments are always appreciated... When a person who is a member of the family, (that we are talking about in this thread) says something about what is going on, Knowing the guy very well, I think I/you would listen to him...
If you don't have any interest in the topic, you have a choice to ignore it, but don't automatically call it BS, when all I was trying to do help a little bit with some info...
Perhaps you need to get on the sauce every now & then ????![]()