Tom Scully

Easy, have to say I agree with BS here, IMO Hill is going to be an out-and-out superstar... could easily be as good as Scully, who will also be a superstar, clearly.

It not whether he is going to be better, if we have a joel mac thread no one comes up and says "yeah but judd is better". What judd is and what joel mac is different, this thread was about scully not hill. Granted there was talk about hill but what BS said he didnt need to.

He just seemed a subtle troll. If that was a freo supporter I assume responses would be different

thanks for your support guys, it was not intended to be a troll just an opinion.

when hill gets a better tank he will be a force, scully will hopefully be a great player BUT hill has the potential to completely break open games like no one has ever seen before.

he has incredible pace and prefect kicking ability.

i dont like make player comparisons (but i will in this case), scully could be like a classier dane swan missus the gay body art, bogan persona and drinking problem.
where as hill cant be compared to any player because there is no player remotely like him at the moment - all he lacks in consistency and endurance

thanks for your support guys, it was not intended to be a troll just an opinion.

when hill gets a better tank he will be a force, scully will hopefully be a great player BUT hill has the potential to completely break open games like no one has ever seen before.

he has incredible pace and prefect kicking ability.

i dont like make player comparisons (but i will in this case), scully could be like a classier dane swan missus the gay body art, bogan persona and drinking problem.
where as hill cant be compared to any player because there is no player remotely like him at the moment - all he lacks in consistency and endurance
Hill can't be compared to any other player, are you serious? What about Aaron Davey. I think Aaron has got the speed and agility of Hill, maybe Hill has got him for kicking penetration by 5-10m but we don't get to see Aaron break forward and kick long goals due to his hard tag and role in the team. Not to mention Andrew Lovett who last year tore games open with speed. Clinton Young might be a step slower in pace but has every bit of the footskills.

Thinking about these players wants me to get Sam Blease in our side, and Bennell freed from small forward duties to run on a wing and take the game on. Bennell has shown his speed and agility to be breath taking and he might not have the silky boot of Hill but he makes good decisions.

shouldnt mention bennell in the same sentence as hill.. sorry but just dont.. gives us all a bad name.

as for flash, i love him as much as anyone, but when hill builds his tank you wont be able to tag him. and if you do it wont matter, guys like hill will win you a game with 8 kicks

just like scully will be hard to tag. but the difference between the two is that scully will be an accumulator not a game breaker like hill looks like being.

swan = accumulator
judd (2004-2006)= game breaker
ablett = accumulator + game breaker

Big Sexc is spot on.

Hill will be a freak, bust games apart and go down as a champion.

As a comparision, Hill is going to be a bigger version of Rioli.
However, Hill glides more and finds more space than Cyril,
who is probably better in traffic, weaving in and out.

Scully will be an accumulator who can bust a game open,
Very valuable, thats why he draws comparisions to Judd.

Bennell has shown his speed and agility to be breath taking and he might not have the silky boot of Hill but he makes good decisions.

I think he has a better delivery by foot than a lot of Melbourne supporters give him credit for. There have been times when I have been watching his use of the footy this year and I can't help but think that Aaron Davey must have taken Jamie under his wing so to speak. The consistency in his kicking isn't fully there of course, however I can't help the feeling that he will turn into our next Davey Train (super fast and elite by foot). Bring me back down to Earth if i deserve it...:cool:

Tom needs to get his kicking elite in the coming years because he will always be finding plenty of the ball. His disposal by hand has and always be first class. If we are going to make ridiculous comparisons, Simon Black?

The thing I love most about Scully is his workrate. Not just for an 18 year old, but for any senior player, he busts his arse more than most. This kid will be a champion and I cannot wait to see him lift a premiership trophy in the mighty red and blue.

No seriously I rate Hill big time as well. I think he is looking very much like becoming a Davey type. Whether he's going to be better than Scully or not is probably splitting hairs at this point.

Hill reminds me of Peter Matera most of all but if I had to pick today Id take Scully by a small margin.

Scully, to me, has Ben Cousins written all over him. He won't be a pack-bursting midfielder like Judd. He'll weave in and out of packs and dish off handballs with his superquick hands. He also has a phenomenal workrate, like Ben.

Yep. He's got speed and will burst packs but he's more Cousins then Judd.

Kruezer only gets the footy cos his opponents are too scared to go near him fearing they will catch whatever disease thats eating his face away

Ouch! I remember when Craig Lambert did a footy clinic at our school and he took us through heaps of stuff - was a really nice guy. At the end he asked if anyone wanted to ask any questions. No-one said anything and finally one kid put his hand up and asked "what's that stuff on your face".

"Um.. its acne.."

That was the only question.

Hilarious.

I wouldn't tag Scully unless he had it on a string. Just doesn't hurt teams enough with his poor disposal by foot. His goal kicking is pretty crap.

But he does have it on a string - did you see him in juniors?

Youve obviously not noticed his handballs in congestion releasing runners into space either.

He will be the mvp in the comp when he hits 22 - 23 y/o.

Ouch! I remember when Craig Lambert did a footy clinic at our school and he took us through heaps of stuff - was a really nice guy. At the end he asked if anyone wanted to ask any questions. No-one said anything and finally one kid put his hand up and asked "what's that stuff on your face".

"Um.. its acne.."

Hilarious.

d4.jpg

"Um.. its acne.."

Hilarious.

I remember a similar incident with I think a Geelong player with a coldsore.

Scully just about has it all (Except contested marking).

I think he is more like Judd than anyone else, he's got more agility than Judd but Judd will always be a lot stronger (Even though Scully will fill out Judd is a huge midfielder).

Best thing is how well Trengove and Scully compliment each other. One is a ball magnet and future clearance machine, the other one is all class (Although he's also bloody hard at it).

Just thought I'd bump this thread now that the season has finished.

Tom Scully in 2010

21 games
452 disposals - avg 21.5 - (2nd at the club for total disposals)
81 tackles
5 goals

Not bad for someone who wasn't expected to play much senior footy this year :thumbsu:

Thought he was great today btw. That run down the corridor and lace out pass to Dunn on the right boot was pretty darn impressive.

Can't wait to see him next year with a full pre season (he didnt have one this year), a bit more meat to his frame (how about that hit in the 3rd quarter!!!) and maybe a 10% improvement in his kicking. Elite status beckons. :thumbsu:

Not bad for someone who wasn't expected to play much senior footy this year :thumbsu:
Not that he didn't have a great season, but I expected him to play every game he was fit for, with the exception of a rest here and there.

That he only needed 1 rest and was still one of our strongest runners at the end of the season was very impressive.

Just thought I'd bump this thread now that the season has finished.

Tom Scully in 2010

21 games
452 disposals - avg 21.5 - (2nd at the club for total disposals)
81 tackles
5 goals

Thought he was great today btw. That run down the corridor and lace out pass to Dunn on the right boot was pretty darn impressive.

Can't wait to see him next year with a full pre season (he didnt have one this year), a bit more meat to his frame (how about that hit in the 3rd quarter!!!) and maybe a 10% improvement in his kicking. Elite status beckons. :thumbsu:

We'll be seeing a lot more of this over the next couple of years! Speaking of running through the middle, your name-sake is just brilliant when he sees a bity of space to run through in th middle. Every time he runs at angles through the middle the game seems to open up for us, him and Scully are gonna be our midfield guns!