Tonights umpiring thread !

Lads all i want to say is you were very unlucky and should have been in the GF. St Kilda were shit and if it werent for a wasteful 1st qtr infront of goal and some shocking decisions by the umps you would have been there.
The Riewoldt free at the start of the 3rd and the Aker deliberate decision was a joke.
Whoever wins tonight i hope smashes them.

Awesome game guys, i was barracking for you and i reckon if you nab a good Key fwd trade week then you have a excellent chance next season.

Chin up guys

Was some soft frees awarded to the Saints that you would like to see let go in finals, but like a few times this year for the Lions, you can't rely on those to win you the game. Fact is, even with those calls going against the dogs, they should have scored enough to win anyway. Where on top for long periods in that game, and had little to show for it.

some of the bullcrap in this thread is laughable

stkilda also had decisions go against them. kosi took a mark (in the 3rd quarter) that wasn't paid. a lenny hayes push in the back tackle was ridiculous.

there was also a bad "fending off to the face" decision, which should have been a stkilda free kick first for high contact.

And regarding some of the decisions the bulldogs are complaining about:

you can't go around belting players the whole game off the ball. riewoldt was being targeted for all of the first half. and he wasn't retaliating, he was just getting up and continuing with his football. obviously the umpires noticed this, and the I consider the freekick in the 3rd quarter justified, as it represents not only the contact by Lake, but all the pressure placed on the umpires to do something about the off-play contact. the straw that broke the camel's back, if you will.

the akermanis decision could have gone either way. we know he was going for the boundary. he kicked over the heads of 3 saints players straight to the boundary. we know he wasn't trying to gain ground, because it wasn't even to a contest. there were no dogs within sight. The whole point of his kick was to kick it out of bounds. Thus, he deliberately kicked it out of bounds. yes, it was gutsy for the umpire to pay it, but the free was there.

I have to concede that some decisions did go against the dogs. The holding the ball one, for example, when he kicked it. The "touched" goal by the dogs player looked to be over the line, but apparently the whole ball has to go over. The line is also behind the goal post, so we can't be sure.

As for expecting Riewoldt's last goal to be paid touched. lol. As buckley said on 7's coverage. In AFL football, that is paid a goal 100% of the time, regardless of whether it was touched or there was simultaneous contact.

And to the people criticizing Riewoldt, you need just get a life. He is a champion of the game and an amazing player.

I feel for the dogs, they are my second favourite team and lots of my family barrack for them. I really do feel bad for you guys. But to try to take away from StKilda's victory and/or hate on Rooey is an injustice to your own team.

This post just reeks of "Nah nah nah nah nah we won you lost!" The icing on the cake is "feeling" for the dogs but going out of your way to put them down when they need to have a rant. I hope Captain Collapse dives his way into a gold medal in the diving in the 2012 olympics, because he deserves it. Aker's kick was going into open ground because he had nowhere else to go, it's fine to do that, it bounced the wrong way and went OOB and he suffered for it. Balling it up would have been the intelligent decision, but hey, looking at the yellow outfight tonight, intelligence was the last thing being offered up on the dinnerplate.

And critizing Riewoldt after this game is fine, he has been fantastic all season but he took alot of falls and even had a whinge when he got a free kick paid against him for a blatant push in the back. Not only that, calling the free in the 3rd justified because he was being targeted is just pure BS, the call was weak and unnecessary, Roo isn't a protected species, and shouldn't be treated as such. I'd say get out of the forums and go enjoy your victory, and let some of us hope you get smashed in the GF and keep that nice 1 premiership lonely.

My two cents worth;

In a tight tough game with so much pressure, the free kick paid to Riewoldt was a disgraceful, inconsistent, momentum changing decision. That sort of contact was happening all around the ground all night. Why would the Lake incident be plucked out? It was hero call by McInerney, nothing more nothing less. To quote a previous coach, if he gets a GF berth I'll spew.

Unfortunately key decisions seemed to go against us all night. The first goal to StKilda in the second quarter when Shaggy clearly kicked the ball, was simply staggering and managed to kickstart St Kilda.

The holding the ball decision against Ward on the boundary line was a terrible decision, particularly when the umpires refused all night to pay more blatant free kicks for holding the ball against St Kilda...Steven Baker anyone.

The obvious over the shoulder ruck infringement to Hudson late in the game should have been paid.

The deliberate out of bounds against Aker was a legitimate decision. Aker's intent was clear.

The last Riewoldt goal was touched but there is no way it could have been called so. The Eagleton kick appeared to be a goal but it is difficult to be certain when it's that close.

The reality is we had our chances. The difference between winning and losing was Riewoldt (despite Morris's might job) but I have no doubt we were the better team in general play. Sometimes there is no justice in the world and we appear to be the victims too often.

The aker deliberate was the one that hurt. St kilda kick it like this 15 times a game because they flood the oppositions backline and have no one to kick it to.

Just shows how good the bulldogs played. The only way st kilda could get any momentum was when the maggots felt the need to impose themselves.

My two cents worth;

In a tight tough game with so much pressure, the free kick paid to Riewoldt was a disgraceful, inconsistent, momentum changing decision. That sort of contact was happening all around the ground all night. Why would the Lake incident be plucked out? It was hero call by McInerney, nothing more nothing less. To quote a previous coach, if he gets a GF berth I'll spew.

Unfortunately key decisions seemed to go against us all night. The first goal to StKilda in the second quarter when Shaggy clearly kicked the ball, was simply staggering and managed to kickstart St Kilda.

The holding the ball decision against Ward on the boundary line was a terrible decision, particularly when the umpires refused all night to pay more blatant free kicks for holding the ball against St Kilda...Steven Baker anyone.

The obvious over the shoulder ruck infringement to Hudson late in the game should have been paid.

The deliberate out of bounds against Aker was a legitimate decision. Aker's intent was clear.

The last Riewoldt goal was touched but there is no way it could have been called so. The Eagleton kick appeared to be a goal but it is difficult to be certain when it's that close.

The reality is we had our chances. The difference between winning and losing was Riewoldt (despite Morris's might job) but I have no doubt we were the better team in general play. Sometimes there is no justice in the world and we appear to be the victims too often.

I have another puzzling decison to go with the rest, when has it been play on when a player stops his run up , and then goes back , Robert Murphy in 3rd quarter.

As for Armwarmer, .... enjoy your early birthday present and hope that the leaugue in it's infinite wisdom :rolleyes: provide you and the rest of the saints supporters a combined christmas present and select the same 3 publicity seeking idiot umpires again. Go the CATS or I hate to say it the PIES next week.

I normally see it as a cop out to blame the umpires for the result of a game, but last night has me in total aggreance with you.

Every 50/50 decission definately went the saints way, and that umpire who gave the free against Lake should never officiate at this level again. :thumbsdown:

I found it amusing whenever your rucks slightly touched Gardiner or King on the shoulder they paid the free kicks, but at nearly every throw in Gardiner in particular would have his arm across the throat of Minson & Hudson & you got nothing.

Doggies fans I would be livid if i was in your shoes this morning. Your blokes were bloody sensational last night and if it hadnt been for the umps then you would have easily won.

The decisions in the first qtr for their goal was only just eclipsed by the efforts in the second qtr by Chamberlain and co and then it was just laughable at the start of the 3rd.

Take some comfort they wont be umpiring the GF.

Best for 2010..............

McInerney...you are a $%&#ing disgrace !

St Kilda definitely got the rub of the green last night. IF the umpiring was consistent I believe we would have been the victors. We were better than the Saints last night for most part yet the cheat with the whistle who clearly had good odds on St Kilda last night, stuffed up a chance at something we deserved on the night.

Every time Saint Nick went near it the umpires were dying to pay a free. There wasn't one Dogs player who got the same deal last night. Riewoldt is an undeniable champion but fair dinkum, last nights umpiring was a disgraceful joke by McInerney in particular.

I feel like I should be waiting on the Supreme Court hearing for the result to be overturned of last nights game by the most shambolic umpiring display I've ever seen.

To quote another poster:
1. Nick's dive free kick for a goal (Worst free of 2009)
2. Shaggy 'incorrect disposal' free kick (Really? A kick is incorrect disposal and subsequent goal) (2nd worst free of 2009)
3. Subsequent holding the ball free not paid to the dogs
4. Aker's deliberate out of bounds free (Not paid all year until last night, resulting in another goal)
5. Touched ball claimed as a goal to Reiwoldt
6. Eagleton's goal given as touched on the line but clearly went through
7. Kosi getting a free kick against Lake resulting in shot at goal
8. The most obvious arm around Hudson's neck let go in the dying minutes when Gardiner and King were getting rubbish free's all night.
9. Murphy running straight to the mark and being called to play on resulting in turnover instead of inside 50

Sure the Dogs had their chances at goal and missed, but Mr Gieschen & the scum that "officiated last night" you can't give away pathetic goals that aren't there in a low scoring final. To win every stat and be jipped by this rubbish is painful. I also hope whoever plays the Saints next week wins by a point with a goal kicked after the siren by a disgraceful free kick.
Reiwoldt - Protected species. Rant over, as is our season due to you absolute disgraceful pieces of scum. 2 of them should never umpire again.

To be honest, apart from the Riewoldt free (which is one of the worst of recent memory), I don't thnk they were that bad. Aker's deliberate would be paid 9/10 times. Should have been up by 4 goals at quarter time and not have to worried about it.

every week i get frustrated with those maggots.
i hardly blame a loss solely on them, but last night it was their fault. YES we blew chances aswell, but why should all the blame come down on us missing a few reasonably hard shots. those umps should be ****ing ashamed and i hope nick reiwoldt considers what he's ****ing done. bullshit diving is not part of football. we don't wats ****ing pussies who milk free kicks in our great game. and how the umpire fell for it, i will never know.
we always seem to get soft decisions against us at the most critical of times.

This post just reeks of "Nah nah nah nah nah we won you lost!" The icing on the cake is "feeling" for the dogs but going out of your way to put them down when they need to have a rant. I hope Captain Collapse dives his way into a gold medal in the diving in the 2012 olympics, because he deserves it. Aker's kick was going into open ground because he had nowhere else to go, it's fine to do that, it bounced the wrong way and went OOB and he suffered for it. Balling it up would have been the intelligent decision, but hey, looking at the yellow outfight tonight, intelligence was the last thing being offered up on the dinnerplate.

And critizing Riewoldt after this game is fine, he has been fantastic all season but he took alot of falls and even had a whinge when he got a free kick paid against him for a blatant push in the back. Not only that, calling the free in the 3rd justified because he was being targeted is just pure BS, the call was weak and unnecessary, Roo isn't a protected species, and shouldn't be treated as such. I'd say get out of the forums and go enjoy your victory, and let some of us hope you get smashed in the GF and keep that nice 1 premiership lonely.
I like this :thumbsu:, and i do hope u guys get flogged next week u won i hope u enjoy it but u didnt deserve it :( the umpires deserve the grand final

To quote another poster:
1. Nick's dive free kick for a goal (Worst free of 2009)
2. Shaggy 'incorrect disposal' free kick (Really? A kick is incorrect disposal and subsequent goal) (2nd worst free of 2009) This happens every week.
3. Subsequent holding the ball free not paid to the dogs As per #2
4. Aker's deliberate out of bounds free (Not paid all year until last night, resulting in another goal) If were at the game there was not a Dogs player in site to the end he kicked. Had to be paid. Even though I hate that rule.
5. Touched ball claimed as a goal to Reiwoldt As per #2
6. Eagleton's goal given as touched on the line but clearly went through Agree you there.
7. Kosi getting a free kick against Lake resulting in shot at goal As per #2
8. The most obvious arm around Hudson's neck let go in the dying minutes when Gardiner and King were getting rubbish free's all night. Unluckly not to get a free.
9. Murphy running straight to the mark and being called to play on resulting in turnover instead of inside 50. Yeah I thought the same. Have to see the replay again to be sure he didn't go off his line, I was on the other side of the ground.
My 2 cents worth.

1. Unfortunately if you dive or over react you tend to get soft frees these days. That was not a free to Nick.

Another decision that cost us badly was Tim Callans behind the play free kick in 2 qtr for in the back. Instead of being taken on wing where the ball was it was taken as a disadvantage in Saints forward 50, ball then was turned over and resulted in Saints goal instead of dogs having a chance to move ball into own forward 50!

I love my football, however last night's umpiring display has temporarily made me completely disinterested in watching....I am so sick of watching players try their guts out & these dweebs of human beings having a massive say in who wins the game.

The umpire that paid the Reiwoldt free should NEVER umpire again in ANY league because it demonstrated an inner desire to get involved in the game rather than just letting the players decide the outcome, it was a shameful decision that completely changed the momentum of the game.

I can agree the umpiring was against the dogs as well. But think about this. How does the AFL fix this problem? Umpiring is consistently bad for at least a few teams every week. In the USA Grid Iron match umpires apparently use video replay before calling lineball decisions. Would the same sort of process work here I wonder. Could it be feasible to have a separate umpire watching the game through the TV camera who could electronically give his decision to the field umpire via a simple team1, ballup/boundry/goal, team2 indicator? I also feel that umpires should be the highest paid participants on the field - BUT they should be held accountable for bad decisions. That way we might end up with better quality umpires. Unfortunately this does not change your result. I hear people say that umpires dont influence the game that much - I personally believe that they do, but at present there is not much that the AFL is prepared to do about it.

Bloke behind me keep saying "relax, the AFL want the Saints to win, we're here for the colour" ... "Mate, I don't believe in conspiracies, bad umpiring goes both ways" ... That was the first quarter.

Throughout the game, he kept at it... "Watch this, Saints free..." By the end, I must say, you've gotta ask the question. For that free to be paid to Roo in the first seconds of the third qtr, it's obvious someone was pleading a case at half time. They were on the lookout and it clearly showed their intent.

I feel like a sore loser, and I'm content to be called one. But Captain Collapse is lucky he didn't play last week, the wind would've tattooed him into the boundary. Right next to that seagull Slime.

AFL and/or the bookies!

Did you see how low the St Kilda odds were all night (and high the Doggies odds were) given we were leading most of the night!

Corruption is definitely at play here, not sure who is pulling the strings though.

Sports betting has ruined this game.

Tonights umpiring thread !