Tony Modra Retires

• Thread starter Thread starter shane

Good luck to him. It was always a bit sad to see him struggling in his last two years but he was a champ of the game and hopefully he will be remembered for that.

Vis

I did not listen to 96fm this morning so I missed the joke. Freo seems to be the butt of many jokes at the moment, poor taste or otherwise. :(

Reading between the lines about the Modra retirement I reckon things have gone from deplorable to pitiful down there. Allen bags the players, the board is in turmoil, the players have no respect for the club, and it seems communications are breaking down between them all. Meanwhile, us fans are left scratching our heads wondering how things got so bad and whether we should continue to hand over our hard earned!

Things are crook in Tobruk mate!!!

Modra - for all his talent - acted like a complete wally.Why did he not retire next week at a home game then we could have had a proper send off. Now he has left under a cloud of controversy and highlighted problems at the club. The other players too should have known better, going out on the piss on Sunday breaking the club rules.

it would have been nice for modra to have retired at a home game or even at the adelaide game but he is doing what he thinks right for the club and for himself
his form lately has been pretty shocking and with him retiring now freo can bring up another rookie and give them a chance to get some experience b4 next season hopefully hayden or ugle cause they are both pretty good with the goal scoring

Unfortunately he won't be remembered for the footballer he was in his early days with Adelaide and his first year at Fremantle. A champion of the game who never looked back to his best after he did his knee in 97(?) There is no media report on the official AFL website as of yet (2.20pm)

This is all so sad. Tony Modra was one of the most exciting players of the '90s. He's always had a few ups and downs, but people would go to see him at Adelaide and Freo just to see the guy lead, jump and mark.

What an ordinary way to go. He needs help and support to cope with retirement, otherwise he's just going to be another sad ex-footy hero who goes from bad to worse.

C'mon Dockers, let's get it sorted out down there!

I have heard that he will play one more game, a special game in Adelaide made up of ex-South Australian Afl players for charity in about six weeks time. Has anyone heard anymore details than that?

Don't blame the club

Originally posted by Voice of Reason
This is all so sad. Tony Modra was one of the most exciting players of the '90s. He's always had a few ups and downs, but people would go to see him at Adelaide and Freo just to see the guy lead, jump and mark.

What an ordinary way to go. He needs help and support to cope with retirement, otherwise he's just going to be another sad ex-footy hero who goes from bad to worse.

C'mon Dockers, let's get it sorted out down there!

V.O.R. you have got to be joking.What do the Dockers have to sort out?The club was left out in the dark by Mods and his agent,so what have the club got to sort out.If he had of had the courtesy to tell the club his intentions in the first place then this situation would not have arisen.Lets not blame it on the club.
Was Tonys retirement just a convenience to avoid disciplinary action by the club???6pr asked Stevens to comment on the retirement at 6am Perth time but he would not do it until 7.30am and it had to be done live.Did they require the extra time to get their stories together???I smell a rat.
On Modras career I salute him.He was a magnificent player.His sportsman ship was exemplary and his skills amazing.We at Freo did not see the best of him but it was a pleasure to have seen him play for MY team.Good kuck to him in his retirement. :) :) :)

well i think modra brought magic to our club without him we wouldn't have won some games
he was a magnificent player for adelaide then he came to freo and played some great footy for them
i think we now need to give him the privacy he wants and let him enjoy his retirment he deserves it

he was a great player and freo could never have gotten a better forward
thank you tony modra

Tony Modra was indeed a great player, who deserved to end his career in a better manner than this.

What manner? He had a few drinks at a pub and then kicked on at a nightclub. He didn't break any laws and he didn't upset anyone. The manager of the Clink nghtclub said he was very well behaved. It is a media beat up designed to damage his character because he didn't want to give any interviews.

I think TT means that Modra should have had a proper send off at a home game. You know the usual lap of honour and all that sort of thing. As it is he has just kind of disappeared.

Modra will have the last laugh when he hears about his old mates departure from St Kilda though.

Originally posted by tjrra
I have heard that he will play one more game, a special game in Adelaide made up of ex-South Australian Afl players for charity in about six weeks time. Has anyone heard anymore details than that?

I believe the game will be held in Adelaide before their SANFL Preliminary Final.