Top 70 players since 2000

magpieswmb

criteria: if played one game since 2000, then whole career is taken into account

wayne carey
tony lockett
gary ablett jnr
chris judd
michael voss
stephen silvangi
nathan buckley
lance franklin
james hird
matthew scarlett
mark ricciuto
nick riewoldt
robert harvey
simon black
adam goodes
ben cousins
andrew mcleod
warren tredrea
matthew pavlich
paul kelly
corey enright
Anthony Koutoufides
Peter Matera
jason akermanis
scott west
Jonathan Brown
matthew llyod
dane swan
joel selwood
shane crawford
sam mitchell
dean cox
craig bradley
nigel lappin
lenny hayes
patrick dangerfield
nat fyfe
gavin wanganeen
glen jakovich
matthew richardson
chris grant
Scott Pendlebury
alex rance
garry hocking
darren jarman
nigel lappin
brent harvey
steve johnson
Brendan Fevola
dustin martin
ben hart
simon goodwin
brad johnson
Stewart Loewe
david neitz
nathan burke
nigel smart
luke hodge
Shaun Burgoyne
jimmy bartel
Justin Leppitsch
chris johnson
Aaron Sandilands
darren glass
paul salmon
trent cotchin
josh kennedy sydney
daniel kerr
scott thompson adelaide

Rance should be above Scarlett, Paul Salmon too low, Voss too high,Dustin Martin should be higher but like the top 3 you have in any order.

Shaun Burgoyne grossly over rated. All Australian once, never club best and fairest.
He wasn't always the player that did it all game every game, more one of those mercurial types who did things that few others could do, or was able to get out of situations or lay off to a team mate to advantage. A bit like James Hird in that respect. There were times when I'd say only Burgoyne could do that. So on talent easy top 70, but not always. Ask a Hawks fan who was their best player in the last few years and I reckon Burgoyne would be up there.

As a Hawks fan. I’m offended that Mitchell is behind J.Selwood. Mitchell is THE complete midfielder.

Martin seems a bit high and Bartel & Hodge seem a bit low.

All defenders on this list are underrated.

Marti
As a Hawks fan. I’m offended that Mitchell is behind J.Selwood. Mitchell is THE complete midfielder.

Martin appears to be too high at rank 45? Gmab.The only players ahead of him are Carey, Lockett ,Abletts ,Judd and Franklin.He played the greatest individual season of all time.

That’s just not true and you know it.
Well, I'll take Leigh Mathew's opinion over yours thankyou very much.Lethal said this before the grand final where Martin won the norm smith.Martin also won every other major award .
"AFL great Leigh Matthews says Richmond star Dustin Martin has had the greatest season of all time.
“It’s easy to make big statements, but no player has ever had as good a year, I suspect, as Dustin Martin,” Leigh told FIVEaa on Wednesday.

“Players have had good years, but if you talk about how many outstanding games… Dustin Martin has done that level almost for the entirety of the season.

“He’s been outstanding.

Well, I'll take Leigh Mathew's opinion over yours thankyou very much.Lethal said this before the grand final where Martin won the norm smith.Martin also won every other major award .
"AFL great Leigh Matthews says Richmond star Dustin Martin has had the greatest season of all time.
“It’s easy to make big statements, but no player has ever had as good a year, I suspect, as Dustin Martin,” Leigh told FIVEaa on Wednesday.

“Players have had good years, but if you talk about how many outstanding games… Dustin Martin has done that level almost for the entirety of the season.

“He’s been outstanding.
That’s funny because I was going to use Leigh Mathews 1977 season as the best ever.

27.4 disposals & 3.8 goals a game

You could also use Gary Ablett 2010 season for a more recent example.

That’s funny because I was going to use Leigh Mathews 1977 season as the best ever.

27.4 disposals & 3.8 goals a game

You could also use Gary Ablett 2010 season for a more recent example.
Martin dominated almost every game and was almost unplayable one on one in the forward line.Also led a team from 13th to a grand final.

I probably overstated on Martin but he hasn’t been one of the best player in the comp for a long time and he doesn’t hold the title of best individual season of all time. May have won the most accolades in a season but that doesn’t make it the best.

Props OP. It’s a tough ask to do a list like this and everyone’s gonna do it differently. The first thing that jumped out from your list to me is Hodge and Lloyd, who I’d have about 10 slots higher and Crawford, who I’d slide down. I’d move Buddy a bit higher too.

Definitely good criteria to make a list. Goddard (2x AA) and Dal Santo (3x AA) unlucky, I'd take them over Thompson (Ade) and Kerr, both with 1 AA.

Josh P Kennedy should be higher, he's been immense in finals. Josh J Kennedy also deserves a spot.

Jono Brown too high. Great player at his peak but wasn't there for long enough. There's no way he's above Lloyd

I probably overstated on Martin but he hasn’t been one of the best player in the comp for a long time and he doesn’t hold the title of best individual season of all time. May have won the most accolades in a season but that doesn’t make it the best.
Martin not one of the best players in the league for some time you say. I guess 2017 is to far back, and 4th in the Players most valuable player in 2018 is months ago. I would say if you asked the players which player they would like in their side, Martin would be top few.

I agree. What I’m trying to say is pre 2016 he wasn’t one of the best in the comp. meaning he’s only been a top player in the game for 3 years. Being the best in 2017. I should have said Extended period of time.

Copying and pasting from my best 100 since 1980 thread, this is the order I would have working from 70 to 1 (just so happens there were 71 players in my top 100 who played beyond 2000, the other being Sidebottom);

70/ Eddie Betts - small forwards are somewhat underrated but Eddie has the consistency of output now to go with the freakish goal sense. I love players who do the remarkable.
69/ Trent Cotchin - it's been a meteoric rise in my estimations of Cotch. He's had runs on the board as a very gifted player but something was missing. Well, maniacal intensity certainly adds something I guess... plus leading his team to the ultimate success.
68/ Chad Cornes - Port were hard to beat in the Cornes era and without this bloke they'd have been leaky.
67/ Justin Leppitsch - To be a great CHB requires having a commanding presence and Leppa provided this perfectly and thus epitomised the way of the Lions from 2001-03.
66/ Cyril Rioli - in light of his 2015 GF as well as several years of game-turning performances, he has earned a spot in the top 100, thus surpassing his uncle Maurice who would be just outside the list.
65/ Ryan O'Keefe - from being a very good lead-up forward to then becoming a ferocious, tackling, contested possession winning mid with a classy finish who performed in big games.
64/ Guy McKenna - a pure HBF who was beautifully balanced and a model of composure.
63/ Scott West - just super-consistent and a mega-multi-B&F winner. Not exceptional enough on pure talent for mine though.
62/ Dean Kemp - underrated but a very highly skilled and pivotal component of a dominant WC era.
61/ Brent Harvey - for the first 2/3 of his career I considered Boomer to be an unexceptional player. Talented, no doubt, but below the very best. But his last 150 or so games earned my respect.
60/ Robbie Gray - Versatile forward/mid who went from being cameo performer into a match-winner. His ability to impact a game with telling disposals is, at times, breathtaking to watch.
59/ Brad Johnson - accomplished tall and small and pivotal to a good Doggies era. The Smiling Assassin was an extremely tough match-up.
58/ Sean Burgoyne - Has eased his way into this list on the back of consistently being able to provide vital contributions at critical stages in big games like a boss. Iceman.
57/ Corey Enright - dependable and the orchestrator of many Cats attacking plays.
56/ Michael Long - hard to separate from Winmar but his finals performances win out. Made time stand still.
55/ Anthony Koutoufides - his years around 99/2000 were awesome and if he'd done it for 10 years would be top 10.
54/ Brendon Goddard - consistently prolific and a player who adjusted his game from inside to outside to suit the situation. His kicking to advantage was his great strength.
53/ Mark Mercuri - just about the smoothest moving footballer I've seen. He produced big-game performances throughout the 90s but faded later in his career largely due to injuries and the death of his brother.
52/ Nigel Lappin - unfairly in the shadows of elite Lions, he was classy and courageous. A real fave of mine.
51/ Paul Chapman - everyone wants one in their team. Hard-arsed match-winner forward or mid and in big games too.
50/ Shane Crawford - elite engine and great skills. Despite his post-career image as a pesky numbskull, he had a fantastic footy brain and read the game well.
49/ Glen Archer - the shinboner spirit was not a North thing it was an Archer thing and it died when he retired (well, he epitomised it anyway).
48/ Lenny Hayes - like Archer he was a warrior and I thoroughly respect him. Plus he had a shimmy to die for.
47/ Jobe Watson - an immense effort to excel to be the rounded player he became. He was too fat and became chiselled, couldn't kick and became precise, and was too slow so became quick of hand and mind.
46/ Tony Modra - spectacular but unlike someone like Capper, was a well-rounded footballer who should've had a premiership to his name. Marked down due to only a few years of peak performance.
45/ Gary Hocking - for so many years he threatened a Brownlow despite his ugly mug. Just an elite competitor.
44/ JP Kennedy - has been a revelation playing as a big bodied mid at Sydney. He is very difficult to counter and knows how to kick goals. Finals credibility lifting his ranking.
43/ Jonathan Brown - a colossus. At his best was one of the very best but I feel a bit short-changed over the years on what he might have been.
42/ Matthew Richardson - what a talent to watch! Unfortunately things could unravel for him too easily.
41/ Steve Johnson - mercurial, and eccentric but consistently produced in big games and became prolific as a midfielder as well.
40/ Jimmy Bartel - got all the awards and medals and was Mr Versatile. Great overhead and below the knees.
39/ Paul Kelly - similar to Buddha but I liked him a bit more. His break away from contests was electrifying
38/ Dane Swan - he produced more often than not, was insanely prolific and kicked goals but there were deficiencies that are elusive to me... I sure they'll come to me.
37/ Paul Salmon - his Hawthorn years give his career completeness in that he reached the heights of his potential in both positions he played in. An elite ruck and forward and kicked many goals in finals.
36/ Chris Grant - brilliant at either end of the ground.
35/ Craig Bradley - endurance, speed, skills. The perfect midfielder for today and a star back then.
34/ Joel Selwood - has produced the goods from the start of his career and rarely does he not contribute. Inspiring player.
33/ Glen Jakovich - the only kryptonite for Carey and an impassible wall at CHB.
32/ Dustin Fletcher - an attacking and defensive weapon. Hard to put value on lunging saves & kicks to advantage
31/ Stephen Silvagni - a better one-on-one FB than Fletch and a damaging forward when needed but not as skilled
30/ Matthew Scarlett - rounds out the 3 FBs. I place him first because his composure defined the Cats thrusts and was never beaten comprehensively.
29/ Nat Fyfe - remarkably talented all-round player who just needs some continuity in his game and to put a few more years of exceptional football together to be in the top half of this list.
28/ Sam Mitchell - made himself a better player year after year and nailed practically every possession, bringing others into the game.
27/ Scott Pendlebury - this guy is a jet and has produced enough over the years to warrant a high ranking.
26/ Warren Tredrea - the best CHF in the comp for several years post-Carey.
25/ Ben Cousins - he had limitations to his game but not his running. Run...spew...run...spew. Inspiring.
24/ Luke Hodge - dual Norm Smith winner and Premiership captain who had a rapid rise up the list despite a somewhat patchy early career.
23/ Dustin Martin - is becoming one of the most devastatingly impactful players the game has seen. If he can reproduce the dominance at close to 2017 levels for a few more years he will reach the top tier of players.
22/ Patrick Dangerfield - at his best he is unstoppable. Adding to his standing in the game is his prowess as a target forward.
21/ Dean Cox - the second-best ruckman on the list. His midfielder qualities set him apart from most.
20/ Gavin Wanganeen - forward or back he was a gem. Courage, skill, and smarts.
19/ Simon Black - no longer underrated. One of the classiest big-game players of any era.
18/ Matthew Pavlich - Before Fyfe there was only Pav. One of the most versatile big men to play the game - forward, back, onball, he played well everywhere. Some great finals performances toward the end of career back up his consistent brilliance.
17/ Matthew Lloyd - few better marks at full pace. Few better kicks at goal. Dodgy hammy ruined his twilight.
16/ Jason Akermanis - a pleasure to watch. His speed and precision were a lethal combo.
15/ Darren Jarman - exquisite skills. Made the game look easy like few others.
14/ Adam Goodes - respect Goodesy. Probably got better as he got older which glosses over some poorer early years.
13/ Mark Ricciuto - fierce bulldozer with elite skills. A frightening match-up
12/ Andrew McLeod - 2 Norms and the most dashing small defender I've seen. And he was a better on-baller.
11/ Peter Matera - dashing goal kicking wingman who performed in big games. So poised.
10/ Robert Harvey - I used to marvel at how he found his way through traffic. Ultimate pro.
9/ Nick Riewoldt - just a machine. Unfairly criticised too. There has never been a forward who ran non-stop like him.
8/ Nathan Buckley - ultimate professional and the prototype footballer. I feel he didn't kick enough goals for his ability.
7/ Chris Judd - was at his best when at WC bursting out of packs but lacked kicking penetration and his goal-kicking impact was only average. But unquestionably a superb player who became a contested ball-winning machine at Carlton.
6/ Michael Voss - the tough inspiring leader of an all conquering side with great all-round game.
5/ James Hird - saw the game unfold like few others and could will himself into the game/contest when needed.
4/ Lance Franklin - hard to place but he does such amazing things that few others can that he has to be up there. His career at Sydney has cemented him as a top 10 player. His brilliance now creating folklore in new environs.
3/ Tony Lockett - just ahead of JD. Imposing, intimidating, dead-eye and in a perennially crap team.
2/ Gary Ablett Jr - now ahead of Lethal but largely due to me missing most of Lethal's midfield career.
1/ Wayne Carey - the most inspiring player to play the game... but not the most incredible... coz that man is...

We both have all of your top 42 in our lists and 56 in total are the same. I'm not as enamoured by Rance as some are although he is very close to being in my top 100. Funnily enough, my highest rated player you haven't included is Fletcher whom I often compare with Rance in footy discussions. I know many disagree with me but Fletch totally deserves to be rated that highly. I'd take Modra over Fev any day but that is a matter of taste I guess. I'd also rate Mark Mercuri alongside Nigel Lappin in career. Both multi-premiership players, best and fairest winners and smooth moving joys to watch. Archer is alongside Hayes as far as tough inspiring leaders go. Robbie Gray and Ryan O'Keefe are two others that have swayed me as the years went by as to their bona fides as contemporary stars of the game.

Nope, not enough goals to be the complete midfielder. Personally I'd have him above Selwood.