Todd Marshall fan
10k Posts
Jul 30, 2009
Melbourne, VIC
Port Adelaide
Left is Best
I can't notice it actually adding any distance. Anyone else noticed the same?

It adds heaps of distance when on the run, but for some reason I'm almost certain a Torpedo goes just as far as a drop punt when having a set shot.

Yeah I don't know if it does either. Maybe you have to get it in to the red zone and you take the risk of muffing it? I haven't tried.

I thought the red was a guaranteed muff kick, maybe it's not and there's that risk/reward factor of going for the extra distance but maybe not getting the accuracy?

Also I don't know if it is just me. But I did a torpedo with a set shot with Stephen Hill who is a left footer. And the ball span like a torpedo for a right footer.... bit weird.

Or if you guys ever played footy you'd have figured out you can kick a torp on the inside & outside of your boot resulting in clockwise & anti clockwise spin.
But in this case, yes it'd be a programmed animation.

I'm still yet to kick a goal from 50. Always over or under power it.

Or if you guys ever played footy you'd have figured out you can kick a torp on the inside & outside of your boot resulting in clockwise & anti clockwise spin.

I'm still yet to kick a goal from 50. Always over or under power it.

Yeah, but who kicks a torp on the inside of the boot these days?

Exactly

Pffft played quite a bit of footy mate and can safely say that no one ever kicked a torp off the inside of the boot in a game situation

Completely true but it can be done. You'd probably get more height on the inside but that's not the intention.
As we know, some of the kicks look like dropkicks in slow mo replays also.

For the most power in A torp you release the power at the point it goes from blue to red.

Saying that I don't notice any gain in distance either, only. Lower height

Torpedo during set shot