Toy Story 3

Privilaged to say that I got to see the Toy Storys in days gone past and loved them (they were released in my teen years) and took my 4 year old son to go and watch this perfect film. The story telling was just great, plot is excellant, jokes are timeless and the characters are glorious. My boy loved it so much he didn't want to leave the cinema and honestly, neither did I. The last scene of the movie was great closure.

Saw it on Friday with my 4 y/o daughter, her first ever movie experience. We both loved it, right up there with the original in terms of story line and funny moments. The scene towards the end did scare her a little but wasn't to bad. As said above the final scene is fantastic, 9.5/10 for me, loved the Ken jokes!

That right there is what makes Pixar so great. Both four year olds and (I presume) 30 year olds can enjoy their movies and get different things out of them.

My god this movie is epic on so many levels. Loved every bit of it. They better not make a Toy Story 4 unless it's even better, which I doubt. It would almost definitely ruin the series. The third was perfect for ending a trilogy of epicness.

One downer was the 3D. Couldn't really notice it to be honest.. much better off watching it in 2D without those damn glasses on your face for 2 hours.

EDIT: I'd give it a 15 out of 10 :thumbsu:

One downer was the 3D. Couldn't really notice it to be honest.. much better off watching it in 2D without those damn glasses on your face for 2 hours.
:

Thanks for the tip. Was planning on seeing it 2D anyway. 3D glasses are annoying + dont see the big deal of it, tbh.

Great movie. Pixar can't stop delivering. It's better in a way that it's been such a long wait between the 2nd and 3rd movies.

Massive lol at Tortilla and
Spanish Buzz, Buster and the upper class Hedgehog. All the characters were good except Big Baby, maybe could have gone with something else for that role

Not a fan of 3D though, that was the first and last time I'll probably see a movie in 3D.

AMAZING movie. Simply brilliant, can't believe how good it turned out. Never expected this to go close to the 1st or 2nd but it was right up there in terms of quality.

Got very emotional towards the end...:o but held back.:D

Visually amazing too, those scene's near the end were phenomenal and so much detail throughout.

Simply superb.
Yeah, the 3D didn't really offer a lot to this. It wasn't poorly done at all, but it didn't offer that real level of depth to a scene that something like Up did. I don't think you'd find much difference between the 2D and 3D movie. Maybe the one big epic scene towards the end would be the only part really enhanced by the 3D.

Wow, i'm breathless

My childhood came back to me during that 2 hour masterpiece. Brilliant Brilliant film. Film of the year without a doubt.

Arguable better than the original which is unthinkable (before seeing it)

A mate of mine told me that the ending was "perfect, but incredibly sad"...

When the scene came on that....
showed them in the trash, going to the incinerator and they all held each other's hands.....I had flashbacks to 1986 and Optimus turning grey (my first movie at the cinemas). Very glad it didn't end that way (though it would have been a tremendous ending in it's own right)

A mate of mine told me that the ending was "perfect, but incredibly sad"...

When the scene came on that....
showed them in the trash, going to the incinerator and they all held each other's hands.....I had flashbacks to 1986 and Optimus turning grey (my first movie at the cinemas). Very glad it didn't end that way (though it would have been a tremendous ending in it's own right)

If they ended it liek that, I reckon it would have been more epic!

If it had ended there I would have been fine with it, but knowing the ending that they actually went with I wouldn't change a thing.

Ye true, actually just letting it all sink in and thinking about it a bit more. The ending is fine, changing it wouldn't of added anything

Really? You don't think if they ended it there (while it is shocking especially for a kids film) it would have been incredible?
That was my first thought.

The way it ended was well done imo.
Andy spending some time reliving his childhood memories and passing them over to the little girl. One journey ends for the toys and another begins. Everyone can relate to that experience of letting go of the toys they played with for years and that's why it has that emotional connection. Ending the movie with them holding hands towards their doom would feel to Titanic-ish. They left it open to do another movie but I'd leave it at that.

Andy spending some time reliving his childhood memories and passing them over to the little girl. One journey ends for the toys and another begins. They left it open to do another movie but I'd leave it at that.

and the toys getting to say their goodbyes was brilliant as well

some kids sat near us in the cinema, love hearing them cracking up at stuff, that if you were on your own, you'd let go

wasn't as out and out funny as some of the others, but for sheer brilliance, its unsurpassed

Not really ashamed to admit that in the final scene I cried like a bitch. Maybe it's just me overanalyzing but I grew up watching the movies and in a way I felt like I too was throwing away a huge part of my childhood and moving on.

Incredible movie, the trilogy rivals LOTR as one of the greatest in history.

As i watched the penultimate scene you're talking about i
was utterly convinced they where going to die. I was that caught up in the emotion, drama and sadness of it all that i thought "Andy's never going to play with them again, they've realised this and are going to kill them off. Pixar are welcoming children to the reality that everything - even love - can die." I honestly couldnt see a way out of it.
Then, deus ex machina! Which i didnt even care about because, honestly, whats a movie without some leaps of faith.

This may have been mentioned earlier in the thread but I've just gone through the odd post so I might've missed it but I'm worried about seeing it by myself. Don't get me wrong, I grew up with Toy Story and loved it but as I'm getting older, it'd seem weird for a 19 year old guy to go and see it by himself. I'm probably just being paranoid but I'd feel uncomfortable.

Yeah, someone else brought this up. General rule of thumb would be to not go during school holidays or on a weekend. :thumbsu:

Just go see it!

Make sure you wear your best pair of thongs, singlet and footy shorts though. Sure to woo the crowd.

Oh i cried like a bitch also, just the flood of emotions from my childhood was unstoppable, as soon as the Randy Newman song started i was a mess lol.... This Film was AMAZING! :thumbsu: