TPFP closed :(

It's a shame. Hopefully a lot of the better posters from their migrate over, and I hope that if they still want the site running they are able to get it back up one day. If you're reading this, thanks for all your fantastic work over the years Vi and Mark.

I've said the same thing to them there that I will here. Their hearts were always in the right place and the worked tirelessly, but they ruled with an iron fist when it came to specific rule breaks as mentioned here, but fiddled as Rome burned in terms of allowing people who weren't technically breaking rules to ruin the culture of the place (*cough* Wingates etc)

I'd love to see Tredrea5889 post here if he isn't already under a different name. He was by far and away my favourite poster there when I was there.

T5889 has joined I think his new name is TeeKay
Ahh there he is...sorry TeeKray

Never felt very welcome on that site and as such only posted about 12 times in 6 years. I'm already up to 50 in a week here!!

:D

Never felt very welcome on that site and as such only posted about 12 times in 6 years. I'm already up to 50 in a week here!!

:D

We're addictive like that. :p

RussellEbertHandball got me banned years ago.

I never got round to thanking him.

I think all I said was, my mate Bruce-26-Light said ...... Guilt by association there mate.

It is sad it closed, but I understand why Vi did it. Its a big commitment for very little return. And there was no need for some of the abuse Vi copped sometime. And when we were playing hopelessly the abuse across the board got over the top - of club, players, management, fellow posters etc. Same happened here somewhat. It has been going in one form or another since 1997. Mark's database of past players was amazing. I hope he and the club can get together and reproduce all this information so that it is available to every Port supporter and is part of the museum the club will one day build.

I got banned for 2 weeks when I started the stadium deal thread over there which Ford asked me to do on here. Copped a couple of 24 hour bans. But I never had any hard feelings. TPFP was a great site for info and discussion and debate and to feel the pulse of Port supporters. Just like Big Footy Port board is. The only difference is Bigfooty takes a lot wider perspective over footy and non footy issues than just the Port perspective.

Even you were banned? Now I feel better (but not about being indirectly responsible, no really :p)

For possible member recruiting targets can we try to get guys like mic59, Coobk001, Werner, Theo, Matrix, Philreich, Rhys1990, 1954 & a large number of others here to Big Footy now it's the only Port discussion board :(

wow

I stopped using TPFP some time back but they had a great community for a quite a long time

Welcome to Big Footy TeeKray you couldn't get rid of me that easily mate lol, seriously glad you made it though.

I too am really bummed out & wish Vi & Mark all the best in the future. I sent her an email thanking her for giving me a place to voice my opinion since 09 but it was to her TPFP email address so I don't know if she got it.

I had numerous convos with her over time & it must've been extremely difficult on her & the family, she definitely deserves a well earned break as things took its toll especially over the last few years.

I don't have many of the regulars on Facebook or anything so hopefully most find their way here on their own as it'd be a shame to lose a lot of the passionate Port characters who I valued discussing things with.

IMO one thing the Big Footy Port board wasn't able to adequately cover was a dedicated thread for Cricket & Soccer, if we could get one up it'd be appreciated hopefully it's not too much to ask :oops:

For possible member recruiting targets can we try to get guys like mic59, Coobk001, Werner, Theo, Matrix, Philreich, Rhys1990, 1954 & a large number of others here to Big Footy now it's the only Port discussion board :(
Sean, I used to post on BigFooty once but I didn't like it. It's not so much the banter with Port supporters, that's fine but there are trolls who come onto your forum and then you eventually find yourself sinking to their level and going onto their forum.

As moderators we try to prevent that happening - I'm not a fan of 'banter' on a dedicated club board. If you have any issues let us know and well do our best to sort it out.

Welcome to Big Footy TeeKray you couldn't get rid of me that easily mate lol, seriously glad you made it though.

I too am really bummed out & wish Vi & Mark all the best in the future. I sent her an email thanking her for giving me a place to voice my opinion since 09 but it was to her TPFP email address so I don't know if she got it.

I had numerous convos with her over time & it must've been extremely difficult on her & the family, she definitely deserves a well earned break as things took its toll especially over the last few years.

I don't have many of the regulars on Facebook or anything so hopefully most find their way here on their own as it'd be a shame to lose a lot of the passionate Port characters who I valued discussing things with.

IMO one thing the Big Footy Port board wasn't able to adequately cover was a dedicated thread for Cricket & Soccer, if we could get one up it'd be appreciated hopefully it's not too much to ask :oops:

Start a good soccer one and I reckon Werner would be over here in a flash :)

Same here Mic as I posted in the social thread last night why it took me so long to put up my first post here http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threa...et-these-days-brother-thread.965949/page-1108

In fact when I saw TPFP shut down I felt guilty that my post last night along with a few other peoples might've been one of the final straws to break the camels back in her decision to shut the site down.

It's fair to say I didn't have a very good sleep freaking out thinking maybe I played a part in the possibility in the closure of a quality site & never discussing footy/sports with a lot of good people again. For the time I've spent following Port for me it was a great place to kick back & talk about the best sporting club in the land.

Ford Fairlane sorry to high jack the thread you can move all irrelevant posts to the TPFP closure thread, I originally thought it was locked before I posted in there.

As moderators we try to prevent that happening - I'm not a fan of 'banter' on a dedicated club board. If you have any issues let us know and well do our best to sort it out.
Ford, I'm English and what I mean by banter is friendly chat and sharing information with like-minded people.

Sad to see the closure of the site. Vi, Mark and others put a lot of work into TPFP. When I was working overseas it helped me keep up with what was happening with our footy club. Looks like Big Footy is the go :)

Ford, I'm English and what I mean by banter is friendly chat and sharing information with like-minded people.

Regrettably the definition here is more about point-scoring between opposition team supporters and takes on a more bilious edge before long.

Your definition of banter is what this board is mostly about.

Sad to see the closure of the site. Vi, Mark and others put a lot of work into TPFP. When I was working overseas it helped me keep up with what was happening with our footy club. Looks like Big Footy is the go :)
Welcome proman another quality poster finds his way to the other side :)

Big Footy is about to get a whole lot more Port influence me thinks, let's just hope most find their way here.

So many new friends :thumbsu:

I don't know how it worked on the other site but the one thing we're probably lacking over here is someone with a bit of time on their hands doing a full match preview write up. It'd be the icing on the cake if someone made a good fist of that.

G'day Proman...good to see you here too

TPFP closed :(