Opinion Trade Aggressively

• Thread starter Thread starter Banker

We NEED to throw EVERYTHING to secure the services of Bennel, Mcarty and Jetta.

Why? I can't see them solving our problems.

We need a leading full-forward doesn't have to be especially tall, but just a good judge of the ball, good footy brain and a good overhead mark. Not sure any of these blokes you mention tick all those boxes. We have a big-bodied tall bloke who is arguably the best player in the comp right now sitting under our noses...

Not that familiar with Luenburger but he doesn't seem to be the type of player we need?????? Have been surprised to read we are chasing him

So who's our future first ruck? Apeness?

Sandi has probably one year left. Clarke has lost Ross' trust and doesn't have the drive to be our permanent first ruck. I can't see Clarke staying. Griffin is almost 30 as well. Griff is a great back up but that all he is.

So in 18 months who's our ruckman?

So who's our future first ruck? Apeness?

Sandi has probably one year left. Clarke has lost Ross' trust and doesn't have the drive to be our permanent first ruck. I can't see Clarke staying. Griffin is almost 30 as well. Griff is a great back up but that all he is.

So in 18 months who's our ruckman?

He is 27. When Sandi retires, he will be 29-30 and only a year or two away from retirement.

Need players who want the ball in their hands in the big games - fyfe/ mundy

Bennell has that
McCarthy has the look of it

Jetta meh

Bring these 2 in as a minimum and absolutely flog the guys in the off season - see who wants it

Freo probably need a bit more run out of defence and 2 KPFs.

Pav is cooked and Mayne has no presence as a forward.

If it was me I'd do a mini rebuild, clear out some of the deadwood and fast track a KPF (and get McCarthy), have a bit of a down year next year then push for 17/18.

Without 2 good contested marking forwards a Ross Lyon game plan just doesn't work.

So who will be out ruck in 18 months?

Luenburger is free if we get him so I don't understand the problem.

Happy to get him, if we delist Hannath and trade Clarke.

We shouldn't pay him a lot if he is only a backup ruckmen, he still takes up salary cap space.

It's the class of our team I guess. Walters obviously has it. The Medhurst\Higgins type who just make the right decisions and execute.
Exactly. Those players that turn a 50/50 into a 60/40 so the next guy along the line doesn't have to be a superstar to mark the ball.

Obviously I would prefer if all our players were free in space and marking unopposed but I don't think we have the gut runners in our best 22 to do this. Lots of moderate pace runners and a few high speed but low repeat effort players.

Just like every other team we need fast, skillful types that can run all day but if we get confident skilled users in defense then maybe we can move the ball faster and allow the current plodders to not have their space shut down by taking five seconds to move the ball on from a transition mark.

A long way off?? We kicked the first 2 goals, Mayne missed a sitter to make it 3, then the umpires gifted the Hawks 2 goals to get them back into the game. Taberner and Sheridan dropped sitters and the Hawks after mising their first 2 shots kicked 15.2. There were millimetres and a little luck in tonights game, nothing more.

This.

I'm fully aware that my urges to say oust Dawson, Mzungu, Mayne and D. Pearce are based on EMOTION not a calculated assessment of the output of those players.

I think we all undervalue the structure/acts those players played a part in us being so competitive last night, and, lord willing we would won. The gods were against us. The umpiring was against us.

I agree to trade for a KPF but this mass 'purge' is silly. We have a group of players that can execute Ross Lyons lockdown gamestyle. Recruiting a bunch of people kills next season while they learn our structures!! Pav deserves a well drilled team if he is to go on.

Mcpharlin is out. Mzungu should probably be traded, and maybe Clarke.

McCarthy is on the table. Thats enough trade bait combinations w/picks to get him.

If Pav retires and we get McCarthy he will have the same issues Pav had for the last few seasons. Being our only dangerous marking target.

Tabs should have played all season and shouldn't have been the sub 90% of the time. The team as a whole took a nose dive after round 10 and he copped it. Then he got a few games here and there before being expected to turn it on in the most important game of the season. Experienced players struggle when they don't get consistant gametime. What chance did a rookie fwd have?

FWIW i didn't think Tabs was terrible last night. Not good but not terrible. Does that make sense?

Bondy your job is on the line mate. If you can't secure Bennell and McCarthy, two WA boys that want to come home then something is wrong.

Pick up Bootsma, I think he would be an upgrade on Silvagni and would be good backup. Has good vision and can use the ball well, and can roost the ball 60m+ too.

Pick up one of the delist talls. Then we can have Tabs, Apeness and Shaw(?) competing for the second tall spot.

Is Dirty_Banchez on the match committee?

Have a review of the match committee past selection and a pattern emerges. With the return of Dawson was obvious Pearce wouldn't play finals. Hell who knows if his injury is even true. Don't know why it wasn't listed on the Freo website.

Freo probably need a bit more run out of defence and 2 KPFs.

Pav is cooked and Mayne has no presence as a forward.

If it was me I'd do a mini rebuild, clear out some of the deadwood and fast track a KPF (and get McCarthy), have a bit of a down year next year then push for 17/18.

Without 2 good contested marking forwards a Ross Lyon game plan just doesn't work.
Would be nice to have a yoyo period for 2 years, get a decent pick and an easier fixture