AFLW Trade and list changes 2025 - Trade week Thu 4th Dec - Wed 10th Dec.

On the road again and got to thinking, hypothetically could we look at changes where players are already on our list and move them to another position.

I know it’s too late or early for draft choices for any future coach to have input on what happens Monday and Ferg did swing players to different positions, not often successfully, but the idea of moving players around isn’t a bad one.

So Q. Who out of our team, which player or players would you choose to play elsewhere and in what position?

I’ll kick it off with a player when in this position had unbridled joy when marking and kicking her first goal those years ago in Gabby. She’s matured a lot, can fly for a mark, goods hands as well could be a possible move forward?

Can we make our team better from within?

On the road again and got to thinking, hypothetically could we look at changes where players are already on our list and move them to another position.

I know it’s too late or early for draft choices for any future coach to have input on what happens Monday and Ferg did swing players to different positions, not often successfully, but the idea of moving players around isn’t a bad one.

So Q. Who out of our team, which player or players would you choose to play elsewhere and in what position?

I’ll kick it off with a player when in this position had unbridled joy when marking and kicking her first goal those years ago in Gabby. She’s matured a lot, can fly for a mark, goods hands as well could be a possible move forward?

Can we make our team better from within?

yeah, same with me toenail63, Gabby...........I'd swing her back in the ruck where she previously played her best
or like an old-time ruck rover playing between D50 and fwd50

Montana McKinnon to full forward, stop this ACL shit, Katie Brennan roaming up the ground more

Maddie Shevlin put her back in defence again where she played her best

Sarah Hosking to the backline, plays her best there I reckon

Isabel Bacon and Zoe Hargreaves to the wings

Monique Conti, Ellie McKenzie, Dana East, Sierra Grieves and hopefully you know who pick 1 rolling thru the midfield

yeah, same with me toenail63, Gabby...........I'd swing her back in the ruck where she previously played her best

Montana McKinnon to full forward, stop this ACL shit, Katie Brennan roaming up the ground more

Monique Conti, Ellie McKenzie, Dana East, Sierra Grieves and hopefully you know who pick 1 rolling thru the midfield
I like

Gabby is an interesting one.

Firstly we don't know how bad her knee is so there is that. I don't think there was ever a firm return timeline published or said so who knows if she will miss a portion of 2026.

I also don't think she is a reliable enough kick to play forward. Can kick long and generally in the area she wants it but in front of goal she is not great at all. Can be team deflating.

Lastly she has always relied on her massive leap when in the ruck. Is it still there at 29 and maybe with a crook knee? Not sure. She would definitely struggle against the Scholz, Morphett, Strom etc

I’d play Yassir on the wing and give her license to cheat and run fwd, she can rest fwd swapping with Shevlin. Shevlin plays High HF and if she can’t get near it she’s out. KB high when Yassir is on the wing Scott and Grieser deep and when
Yassir rests deep fwd, Scott plays high, KB closer to goal and Shevlin is on the wing or bench.
Three player rotation with Bacon.
Shevlin plays least amount of time on wing and maybe throw Lynch in that for a look.

I’d be playing Conti as a resting Rover in the fwd pocket more often to. I know they don’t rest exactly and she is our prime mover but I want more goals from her, Grieves, Yassir I think those three could be our best ground ball threats.
Another problem with a Scott who’s not scoring is she’s taking up alotve space.

At times play Ellie as the one out Power Fwd
at times play her as a second high CHF 40-70 out from goal.
I would play Grieser as the back up Ruck she needs to run and jump at the ball and play against physical players.

I’d like to see Lynch as an outside mid who can spread and be a marking target. I think that’s what they had in mind for Shevlin but…

I like all those suggestions. I guess there is some horses for courses scenarios like when to play either a McKinnon in the ruck or a fit and healthy Gabby. That versatility is key to some clubs out there being able to throw the magnets successfully.

I’d play Yassir on the wing and give her license to cheat and run fwd, she can rest fwd swapping with Shevlin. Shevlin plays High HF and if she can’t get near it she’s out. KB high when Yassir is on the wing Scott and Grieser deep and when
Yassir rests deep fwd, Scott plays high, KB closer to goal and Shevlin is on the wing or bench.
Three player rotation with Bacon.
Shevlin plays least amount of time on wing and maybe throw Lynch in that for a look.

I’d be playing Conti as a resting Rover in the fwd pocket more often to. I know they don’t rest exactly and she is our prime mover but I want more goals from her, Grieves, Yassir I think those three could be our best ground ball threats.
Another problem with a Scott who’s not scoring is she’s taking up alotve space.

At times play Ellie as the one out Power Fwd
at times play her as a second high CHF 40-70 out from goal.
I would play Grieser as the back up Ruck she needs to run and jump at the ball and play against physical players.

I’d like to see Lynch as an outside mid who can spread and be a marking target. I think that’s what they had in mind for Shevlin but…
This did happen in the Brisbane game, maybe resting there with the QLD heat factor, and you couldn't pick it up on TV coverage. She went one out forward and her defender following deep, surprised me a bit as hadn't seen it before. She would be hard to beat one on one when isolated but we rarely got a turnover or opportunity to hurt them back the other way for that to happen. If we could of then this would have been exciting to see.

This would be a much needed injection of pace, I'd include Mackenzie Ford, we loved the Bacon goal this season going forward, but Mackenzie also kicked a beauty on the run, was it last year?

Interestingly both Knoll and Cox aren't on the list of players nominated for Monday's draft. Some of our other ex players have nominated. Very very few get picked up anyway.

Realistically train on positions are about their only chance.
No Charley Ryan either.

Just Lulu Beatty and Lauren Brazzale who were already train on players to start with?

No Charley Ryan either.

Just Lulu Beatty and Lauren Brazzale who were already train on players to start with?
Charley did her ACL so would have missed a chunk of preseason if not the start of the AFLW season so that probably makes a bit of sense. She wasn’t going to be drafted.

Agree with all of that. It will be interesting to see what impact our coaches have, obviously the new one, but also the upgrade of Tamara Luke from development to line coach* I'd give some part-time runs on the ball for Beth Lynch when giving others a spell. We might have another Sherrin in our midst if we only look for her.

Tam Luke - Richmond AFLW Development Coach

When Tam Luke retired for the second time at the end of the 2024 season, the club where she played her last game of football, Richmond, wanted to keep her involved in their AFLW program.

Luke, who came into the club as a 36-year-old injury replacement player, added experience to the group and her positive impact was felt by the coaching staff and playing group.

"I finished at the end of last season and Richmond was super happy with what I'd brought to the club in the few months that I was there. And they were like, 'Are you interested in coaching?'," explains Luke.

Initially Luke politely declined and instead began coaching at the Eastern Ranges in the Coates Talent League. But after a positive experience with the Ranges, Richmond came knocking a second time and this time Luke said she was keen.

"They (Richmond) were like, 'Are you interested in a development coaching role?' And I kind of liked the idea of working with the new draftees, the ones new into the AFLW system, to help hopefully speed them up to be the best professional athletes they can be long-term as well."

So Luke began as a development coach with the Tigers for the upcoming season working with the group’s younger players.

"I've got six to eight girls I'm working with at the moment, which is great. I do some craft sessions with them, just with the development girls, and I do some education with them as well to hopefully speed their progress up.

"Sometimes they might sit in team meetings and all the senior players get what we're looking at on the vision, but they might be a bit scared and reluctant or just not quite picking up the key things that they're looking for.

"So that's my kind of role is to sit down with them all individually and as a small group to just speed up their learning processes and their game awareness and their footy IQ.

"I've enjoyed it a lot. The group of girls I've got are fantastic. They're all so eager to learn and they've got huge potential."

Luke is using this year to learn as much as possible in an attempt to figure out what's next in her coaching career.
https://www.afl.com.au/aflw/matches/7969
"I think at the moment I'm looking at the short term, just doing this development coaching role and getting out of it as much as I can from like footy IQ, just the coaching environment.

"It's been so good to see behind the scenes and work with the high performance team around things like periodisation and why we obviously go to training in some sessions are high loads, some are low, less sprint meters, all of that type of thing and just kind of like merging it all together."

One thing Luke does know is that she loves being part of a high-performance environment and the comradery that comes with playing and coaching sport.

"I love being around the group and it's probably made it quite easy for me to transition from retirement to coaching because I'm with the same group of girls at Richmond that I was playing with last year. I know them all really well," said Luke.

"I'm still jumping in on some match sim and stuff like that when they need extra numbers, helping the rucks, helping some of the ACL rehabbers out.

"So, I'm still getting my little bit of footy stuff in there where I'm having to kick around and having a bit of a run around. So, it's been a nice transition."

Oh, and any chance our media team can update these:

1765672355137.png

Agree with all of that. It will be interesting to see what impact our coaches have, obviously the new one, but also the upgrade of Tamara Luke from development to line coach* I'd give some part-time runs on the ball for Beth Lynch when giving others a spell. We might have another Sherrin in our midst if we only look for her.

Beth Lynch reminds me a bit of a Nick Vlastuin type. A midfielder he is not, I suspect a mid she is not.

Intercept defender. Can play a bit of wing. Occasionally gets up inside 50, may even kick a goal or two.

Beth is tough and fearless but Sherrin is bash and crash and is built for it.

Beth Lynch reminds me a bit of a Nick Vlastuin type. A midfielder he is not, I suspect a mid she is not.

Intercept defender. Can play a bit of wing. Occasionally gets up inside 50, may even kick a goal or two.

Agree more suited to marking and defending and can also do that higher up the ground and probably not required at stoppage because we have a couple of new additions to do that.

Interesting that Moseby in this interview said that those two would help out Mon, Ellie, Sierra, Milsy and Wicksteed. Wasn't sold on Milsy as a mid only because of her size, but she did play midfield 3rd wheel to Prespakis G and Zali Friswell so has experience that she can bring to that position and use in rotations.

The one I'd move (though we don't have many options forward anymore, unless we go smaller) is to move Brennan back. I think age has caught up on her in the forward line, she is struggling to work off her opponent as well as she has in the past. I could see her being a weapon for us as the loose player in defence. She can still mark, and not being "the marked" as she is in the forward line I think would release her and allow her to use her kicking skills to open the game up more from HB.

I also want to see Bacon utilised more in the midfield or the wing, she's been wasted at half back for 2 years IMO, she's a much better player than she has been allowed to show IMO.

We all have opinions. Beth is not a Nick Vlatuin type, she is a Beth Lynch type, and at 29 is now seen as a bit limited unfortunately. I don't expect to see it happen, but would still like to see it happen, even on a backup basis.

The one I'd move (though we don't have many options forward anymore, unless we go smaller) is to move Brennan back. I think age has caught up on her in the forward line, she is struggling to work off her opponent as well as she has in the past. I could see her being a weapon for us as the loose player in defence. She can still mark, and not being "the marked" as she is in the forward line I think would release her and allow her to use her kicking skills to open the game up more from HB.

I also want to see Bacon utilised more in the midfield or the wing, she's been wasted at half back for 2 years IMO, she's a much better player than she has been allowed to show IMO.
Bacon still building her midfield IQ. She has time, being a late arrival at playing the game.

We all have opinions. Beth is not a Nick Vlatuin type, she is a Beth Lynch type, and at 29 is now seen as a bit limited unfortunately. I don't expect to see it happen, but would still like to see it happen, even on a backup basis.

I'm not sure we will need to push Lynch into the midfield though, reckon we are best set keeping her back and keeping small forwards quiet, whilst we bring either Cleary or Mulholland through the HB line next year.

Our midfield group doesn't look too bad now IMO. Lots to like, a lot more speed than some of those going through there this year.

Mid / wings group now made up of:

Conti, Bacon, Dempsey, McKenzie, Wicksteed, Grieves, Dallaway, Hargreaves, Stubs, East and Dethlefsen.

The latter 3 appear to be good additions to the group, Dalloway stepped up big time this year I thought, and Hargreaves is still an unknown. We needed more mature support in there for Conti and McKenzie hopefully allowing them to play a bit more outside and allowing them more time on the ball to move it forward, that might be where East and Dethlefsen come in. Wing rotation by the end of the year might be really refreshed with younger players, with Bacon, Stubs and Hargreaves all likely to be wing rotations at some point of the year.

I'm not sure we will need to push Lynch into the midfield though, reckon we are best set keeping her back and keeping small forwards quiet, whilst we bring either Cleary or Mulholland through the HB line next year.

Our midfield group doesn't look too bad now IMO. Lots to like, a lot more speed than some of those going through there this year.

Mid / wings group now made up of:

Conti, Bacon, Dempsey, McKenzie, Wicksteed, Grieves, Dallaway, Hargreaves, Stubs, East and Dethlefsen.

The latter 3 appear to be good additions to the group, Dalloway stepped up big time this year I thought, and Hargreaves is still an unknown. We needed more mature support in there for Conti and McKenzie hopefully allowing them to play a bit more outside and allowing them more time on the ball to move it forward, that might be where East and Dethlefsen come in. Wing rotation by the end of the year might be really refreshed with younger players, with Bacon, Stubs and Hargreaves all likely to be wing rotations at some point of the year.
We need that ruck to come good from 2 years ago as Poppy is just a plodder. Hope Seymour comes good also like the train line from melb to Seymour.

We traded our first and second round pick to move up to pick one
And did a Round 3 swaps of picks got a late pick as well as future pick tied to Suns iirc. On the sheer imaginary points of it, we came out well. Knew Wolmarans would not get to Pick 4, and that was that. It'll either be a masterstroke or a missed opportunity - always is.

AFLW Trade and list changes 2025 - Trade week Thu 4th Dec - Wed 10th Dec.