Strategy Trade and List management Thread Part 2 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

Feb 21, 2002
Hawaii
Talk on the Carlton board is that Levi Casboult will be squeezed out of the club (even if we don't land Cogs) for Salary Cap reasons.

I think he would be perfect for you guys, whilst the likes of Naughton and Schache are developing. His goal kicking has improved tenfold, and has shown this year under Teague he can play down back, when required.

Would pretty much be a free hit for The Dogs as an Unrestricted Free Agent. I would honestly prefer to retain him at Carlton, but might be hard for him to crack into a forward line with Curnow, Harry and McLovin.

I could see him being a really good pick up for The Dogs, in all honesty

Thanks for the info.

Rarely see a Carlton game, what's Casboult like in the ruck? (if he plays there at all)

Might be a better option than Jenkins for us.

Unless a player wants out or they’re a toxic influence I can’t see us, in the Bevo era, trading out a player to get another deal over the line.
Wallis doesn’t come under those two criteria atm. He’ll be here for a while yet.
Spot on. Bevo has said he wants to keep this group together so don’t expect an exodus, especially of beloved team mates such as Wallis or Jong or McLean, etc. that’s silly talk. Nothing more demoralising for the team than to have their mates sold off while the coach is supposedly building a tight-knit group capable of winning another flag. That’s how they won in 2016, a team of average players but the chemistry and trust amongst them were what made the difference.

Virgin Dog

Oct 29, 2017
Sweet staying on the rookie list and porter staying on the main
Just for future knowledge, in order to move someone from the senior list to the rookie list, they technically have to be delisted, which can't happen until end of season. So in Porter's case, he has to be on the senior list if he's getting extended before end of season. Since Sweet is already a rookie, it's a safe assumption that he remain there until the club make a big deal out of promoting him (which doesn't technically happen until draft period)

Mojorisin

Oct 20, 2017
Just for future knowledge, in order to move someone from the senior list to the rookie list, they technically have to be delisted, which can't happen until end of season. So in Porter's case, he has to be on the senior list if he's getting extended before end of season. Since Sweet is already a rookie, it's a safe assumption that he remain there until the club make a big deal out of promoting him (which doesn't technically happen until draft period)
I think a few here were under the assumption that he was a rookie

Spot on. Bevo has said he wants to keep this group together so don’t expect an exodus, especially of beloved team mates such as Wallis or Jong or McLean, etc. that’s silly talk. Nothing more demoralising for the team than to have their mates sold off while the coach is supposedly building a tight-knit group capable of winning another flag. That’s how they won in 2016, a team of average players but the chemistry and trust amongst them were what made the difference.

I hope they get rid of dead wood a bit quicker than they have in the past personally. Professional sport is tough.

Have that opinion. But there was a reason he was the ONLY one in the modern game being constantly booed. By teams that had a fair few aboriginals in their side.

OK. Enough of discussion on this subject. Stick to the thread topic from now on please.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

0utsider

Jul 19, 2018
All for the Sweet extension but Porter has me stumped. I understand he's been great in the VFL recently but how does he ever get into this side as a vanilla inside mid? He's behind Bont, Macrae, Dunkley, Libba, Mclean, Lipinski, Smith, Wallis and West. Literally 10th in line and we only have 40 spots available.

Can only think that we see something in him as a forward or winger but if so he should probably be playing that role in the 2s.

Sep 27, 2011
New York Yankees
Couldn’t we have just re frayed him if no other option was available ?

I see the end of 2016 happening again with minimal changes that will halt inprovement.
Not sure we need wholesale changes MD two or three key inns should do the trick

Philthy1

Sep 17, 2017
All for the Sweet extension but Porter has me stumped. I understand he's been great in the VFL recently but how does he ever get into this side as a vanilla inside mid? He's behind Bont, Macrae, Dunkley, Libba, Mclean, Lipinski, Smith, Wallis and West. Literally 10th in line and we only have 40 spots available.

Can only think that we see something in him as a forward or winger but if so he should probably be playing that role in the 2s.
Some blokes develop at different rates. Cavarra just got drafted at 24. Porter may just need some time, altho i haven’t seen him play a VFL game this year.

Virgin Dog

Oct 29, 2017
Yep and that is exactly what everyone said at the end of 2016 mate.

Chop the dead wood that’s been on the list forever or isn’t any chance to play senior footy unless we have mass injuries.
A lot of the "dead wood" types remain uncontracted, with I think 7 senior list guys and 2 rookies still without contracts. Porter is really the only surprise extension so far, but I honestly think he's shown enough to be given 1 more year

CDBulldog

Mar 31, 2019
Can Wallis play 70-30 fwd-mid when he returns? He did well last year in the forward half but is he able to adapt to other teams paying him more attention?

I am struggling to see a long term place for him in our side. Especially in our midfield. Clearly beveridge does as he re-signed last year.
A couple of weeks ago I started a thread around Wallis and what to do with him and a few called the thread unnecessary. I don’t agree. I think he’s a great guy to have around the club (heart and soul type) but that may not be enough when you don’t see a role for him anymore. Would have to be a stack of injuries for him to be near best 22 available now in my mind..

I thought he was already on the rookie list as normal?
He got auto promoted in the pre season since we had a spot free
He will officially be full time rookie a (increased pay)

BRWB

10k Posts The Cult of Robbo
Oct 7, 2012
It's no coincidence that our form has spiked since Bev started playing a settled fwd line with fwds rather than mids. And playing mids like Dunkley as mids. Hunter was interviewed on the weekend and said this.

Who'd have thunk it.

Doesn't bode well for guys like Wallis. Bar injuries his opportunities may be limited.

Cordy will need to improve his one on one work. Is even being outmarked by little guys.

Reckon we have learnt and will go hard for some specialist fwds. The oft injured unproven Cavarra aside we don't have a pacy pressure fwd with skill. It's why Tippa would be such a good fit. Even if he doesn't kick goals against good teams. (Although he may do just that playing for a decent team).