Strategy Trade and List Management Thread Part 7 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

I’m not convinced TDK is better than English.
Their comparisons are pretty similar, especially at the same age.

Let's assume TDK was dealing with injuries/pressure this year, you could reasonably argue that 2024 was his strongest year. This is how he and Tim compare at the same age (2022).

1756264550879.jpeg

I’ve had some batsh*t insane ideas over the years such as Naughton and/or Jamarra spending time in stoppages..

But here is my craziest idea and I don’t get some laugh emoji reactions I’m not doing it right:

We need to start playing Bont more as a utility and potentially put him behind the ball a bit more. Here’s why:

• he’s a tremendous defensive player with height, length and tackling
  • he needs to evolve to be a Burgoyne esque midfielder that goes in at crucial times. Preserve his energy so he can go in and be a true weapon
  • doesn’t need to be only down back, can do forward and wing too but defence is a string to his bow worth adding
  • prolong his career
  • give more midfield minutes for mini bont, rhylee west and sanders if he ever learns to play in there

Laugh away!
Not ridiculous. Maybe a touch early, but not ridiculous

Steven May is being shopped around…

Please god, no.

I’ve had some batsh*t insane ideas over the years such as Naughton and/or Jamarra spending time in stoppages..

But here is my craziest idea and I don’t get some laugh emoji reactions I’m not doing it right:

We need to start playing Bont more as a utility and potentially put him behind the ball a bit more. Here’s why:

• he needs to evolve to be a Burgoyne esque midfielder that goes in at crucial times. Preserve his energy so he can go in and be a true weapon
  • doesn’t need to be only down back, can do forward and wing too but defence is a string to his bow worth adding
  • prolong his career
  • give more midfield minutes for mini bont, rhylee west and sanders if he ever learns to play in there

Laugh away!
🤣

Now that's out of the way...

I've been thinking the same.

Might be a bit early, but it definitely makes sense in a year or two, especially if our young mids come on like we expect.

Can then see Bont playing well til he's at least 35, and over 300 games - maybe close to 400.

Does he have a basketball background?

Because they will offer him considerably less than we will.

Given the pressure being brought to bear and our obvious defensive issues.

We'll overreach. They'll laugh.

The money and years are very similar from both teams, Collingwood want him as a Howe replacement. They will disappointed if they don't land him.

Carlton offer wasn't much different as well.

As Silvagni is an unrestricted free agent, the Blues had no opportunity to see the rival offers or potentially match the terms. The Blues wanted to keep him and offered a four-year contract worth about $650,000 to $700,000 per year. The Collingwood and Western Bulldogs offers are for four-year deals on slightly more than $700,000 a year.

• prolong his career

Laugh away!
I was thinking the same thing the other day. Not really as a substantial role change but more a lever to pull when we are leaking runs of goals as we tend to do and as we did in the 2nd quarter on Sunday.
We have robbed the backline of that clean composure by taking Richards and then Freija out and then losing Durea, and the guys we are left with can be a little flaky.
Even throwing Richards back at times would be useful.

Those guys would've cost next to nothing in salary cap terns.

Jack Silvani will not come cheap.

Sure.

What's clear is that they still have to pay 95% of their cap.

Clearing the likes of TDK and Silvani oof their books is going to make that task much harder.

Not to mention how these issue will be made much worse if the jungle drums surrounding Curnows future come to pass.

Which I guess is good news for Alex Cinacota who can look forward to being paid $800k to play in the seconds.

Because they will offer him considerably less than we will.

Given the pressure being brought to bear and our obvious defensive issues.

We'll overreach. They'll laugh.
Lewis Young on 900k

I'm half serious here... I reckon this guy would offer us more than Ryan Gardner.

He's still young enough (31) to have another crack at AFL. He had a very good season for Wallan.

1756267430577.png

That's disappointing I reckon he still has more to offer. It actually makes no sense at all that we aren't at least calling his manager.
He is culture cancer mate, I’ve only heard about 5% of what he is like off field and I would rather keep him the hell away from our playing group.

Gotta weigh short term need vs long term benefit and overall this guy would do extreme damage to our clubs culture.

• prolong his career

Laugh away!
I'm not laughing at all, the idea has merit.

we seem to disregard list management when we select, should we?

Sanders case in point, dropped for an elimination final after 21 games, for a fringe player, after being sub...with tassie coming. no consideration for keeping him? his value?

food for thought

He is culture cancer mate, I’ve only heard about 5% of what he is like off field and I would rather keep him the hell away from our playing group.

Gotta weigh short term need vs long term benefit and overall this guy would do extreme damage to our clubs culture.
Short term you say?
I know this Melbourne forward that might be up for grabs