Strategy Trade and List Management Thread Part 8 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

I don't understand why people seem so eager to ship Sanders off.

I know people talk about him being vanilla but not every footballer can get the ball, bust out of packs and sprint away.
Sanders is a very well rounded and intelligent player. One thing that he did really well as a junior was to draw opponents in then release teammates into space with a handball. He's not just a bang the ball on the boot player. He also weights his kicks really well and doesn't usually waste possessions. I think it's this desire to make the most of every possession that can make him seem hesitant.

I think once he is established in the midfield and his synergy with his team mates builds he'll become a very highly rated player. I can see him becoming a similar player in style to Scott Pendlebury, who actually had pretty similar stats over the first 2 years of his career.

I know he hasn't exploded onto the scene like we would like but I think we've been a bit spoilt as a club with young players coming in and being able to deliver immediately. Sanders is a very professional dedicated player and will work hard to improve.

Give him time.

I know people talk about him being vanilla but not every footballer can get the ball, bust out of packs and sprint away.
Sanders is a very well rounded and intelligent player. One thing that he did really well as a junior was to draw opponents in then release teammates into space with a handball. He's not just a bang the ball on the boot player. He also weights his kicks really well and doesn't usually waste possessions. I think it's this desire to make the most of every possession that can make him seem hesitant.

I think once he is established in the midfield and his synergy with his team mates builds he'll become a very highly rated player. I can see him becoming a similar player in style to Scott Pendlebury, who actually had pretty similar stats over the first 2 years of his career.

I know he hasn't exploded onto the scene like we would like but I think we've been a bit spoilt as a club with young players coming in and being able to deliver immediately. Sanders is a very professional dedicated player and will work hard to improve.

Give him time.
I don’t think anyone is eager to ship him off. I for one hope he does stay. I just can’t see it happening, Tassie will come hard.

And if we get Butters he’ll see his opportunities in the middle decrease even further.

He’s mentioned as a few times as team that’ll go hard for him.

Kane knows what he’s doing though, mentioning the Pies and the Hawks will always get more engagement than us.
He mentions us an awful lot if the news is bad or if Bevo does something to him

Haha of all the teams i'm worried about stealing Butters, Carlton is not one of them. Likely will be mid sacking Voss towards the end of the season, won't be near the 8 and everyone just saw the circus of 2025. They actually have a decent future with all of their picks and some young pieces, but need to keep re-building the right way, giving it all up for Butters would be strange.

Have a battle looming to keep Walsh OOC end of 2026 also with the vultures circling.

If Butters chooses the Dogs, and we’re confident he’d be up for it. What is stopping us offering him $6m over 2 years next year as UFA. We then extend him as soon as he signs for an extra 4 years with the total contract coming to around 11m for 6 years. Port might match $11m over 6 but there’s no way they would match the $6m over 2 knowing he’d be pushing to leave as soon as the new contract is up. We need to work this so we get him in under FA by hook or crook.

Why is everyone so confident about getting a good return for Sanders?
If he is ooc Tassie can just sign him effectively as a free agent? Can almost guarantee the maximum compensation from the AFL would be a ladder tied first.
The picks that Tassie have to trade are for contracted players.
Very important that we get Sanders locked on a contract regardless of whether he wants to go our not.
It’s absolute horse shit how these Tassie concessions get decided so late in the piece when it might have impacted the willingness to draft players in the first place. There should absolutely be additional compensation for losing a standard OOC player versus losing a FA. Also probably for UFA if the clubs aren’t able to match a Tassie (I think every FA is unrestricted for TAS).

If Butters chooses the Dogs, and we’re confident he’d be up for it. What is stopping us offering him $6m over 2 years next year as UFA. We then extend him as soon as he signs for an extra 4 years with the total contract coming to around 11m for 6 years. Port might match $11m over 6 but there’s no way they would match the $6m over 2 knowing he’d be pushing to leave as soon as the new contract is up. We need to work this so we get him in under FA by hook or crook.
Zak is a great person and won’t want to **** port over

Port will be the one’s f*cking him over if they plan to match the offer and keep him against his will. If Port commit to not matching we can just offer the total contract up front and guarantee band 1. I reckon the AFL would give them band 1 for $6m over 2 anyway.

They’re not it’ll be the same as Danger when he left the crows

I think he’ll take a lot of comfort from the fact he gave them the extra year of notice. It’s not ****ing them over when he gave them every opportunity to deal this year and they didn’t take it.

Then we do a deal with Port where we take him under FA and then we trade with them what our offer would be for their FA compo pick. It makes no sense for the two clubs to mutually agree to something but not acquire the compo and somehow split it between ourselves in a deal.

What if we start setting up our cap so that we can offer Butters a 1 year 5 million dollar contract? That way we don't do a 'rework' of an existing contract, his next contact would just be a 6 year 4 million contract (or whatever the agreed total contact balances out to).
No way Port could scramble to fit that 1 year contract in their books on the fly, and if they somehow do, Zac makes 5 million to sulk it up all year and then does the same thing the following off-

PA can’t keep him, he’s uncontracted. His chosen team will need to trade with PA if they match the offer.

For me Port’s chance at the blockbuster trade was this year. They can’t have their cake and eat it. I would be doing everything possible with whatever mechanism to ensure we don’t have to use any draft capital next year.

What if we start setting up our cap so that we can offer Butters a 1 year 5 million dollar contract? That way we don't do a 'rework' of an existing contract, his next contact would just be a 6 year 4 million contract (or whatever the agreed total contact balances out to).
No way Port could scramble to fit that 1 year contract in their books on the fly, and if they somehow do, Zac makes 5 million to sulk it up all year and then does the same thing the following off-season.
Haha if Butters is prepared to do that it doesn't need to be so complicated, he'd just have to nominate us.

Give him time.

Yeah I feel very confident Sanders will have a very good AFL career. His first half of this year was damn good for a 2nd year player out of position. Having said that, if he is going to Tassie then I do agree we need to extract maximum value.

For me Port’s chance at the blockbuster trade was this year. They can’t have their cake and eat it. I would be doing everything possible with whatever mechanism to ensure we don’t have to use any draft capital next year.

Shite draft this year, made sense to hold on to him, with the hope he might change his mind, but also see how they go.

Correct. Tassie won't have access to draft picks until the 2027 draft - one year too late for a Butters trade.

We will have to stump up the assets for Butters next year (2026 trade period)- even if some of those picks are 2027 or 2028 picks. We can't include in a trade next year any future picks that we might get for Sanders in 2027.
We could trade our next 3 1st round pick to get Butters 🧈, then resupply our picks by way of colonel to tassie. I recon tassie will trade 2 top 10 picks at the minimum, more if the colonel is tearing it up.

Strategy Trade and List Management Thread Part 8 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)