Trade Andrew McLeod

Trade McLeod

His heart isn't in it & he is setting a poor example as a "leader" of the club. Apparantly he didn't like playing under Ayres, but the change of coach has made little diiference. His way overpaid for his output. Trade him whilst he still has some value & keep Stinger, Goody & Edwards to support Roo.

Andrew McLeod

Now, I have been an Andrew McLeod fan for a long long time and I have stood up for him earlier in the year when people were calling for him to be dropped BUT this is disgraceful

I am sick and tired of his half arsed efferts week in week out and I think its time he either pulled his finger out and extract his digit or pack up and get out. This is quite disgraceful from a bloke that is part of the leadership group.

3 times today he pulled out of a contest that eld to 3 St. Kilda goals, 2 of which were Gehrig's. Now when you see someon like Reilly run around and work his backside off. He tackled and chased and smothered and did the team things while Andrew McLeod sat back on his arse and waltzed around like a shiela.

This is disgraceful. Andrew McLeod either pull your finger out or pack up and GET OUT. We don't need players with a stinking attitude and a huge pay packet.

GET RID OFF HIM:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

And please no one come and and praise Mattner on today's effort. He was dead set DEPLORABLE:rolleyes: :mad: :o

watch out KG might have your head...

but no i 100% agree, i said to my father at the begining of the year that Mcleod, hasnt been what he used to be. "brownlow" metal, or "champion" isnt an excuse anymore. You get paid top dollar, start acting like it.

Andrew Mcleod used to be a champion - a genuine champion. one of the best 3 players in the AFL.

Somehow, for some reason I just can't work out, over the last 2 seasons he has gone from champion to sometimes good player and often an ordinary player.

He's not a leader's ******** with the half-hearted efforts he puts in at times. It's an absolute joke that he's still part of our leadership group.

I've just nearly fallen off my chair hearing Craig saying that he was pleased with Macca's efforts today. All I can say is that my eyes must have deceived me.

Macca is no longer an untradeable, and if a generous offer came along, then he should be traded

Originally posted by macca23
I've just nearly fallen off my chair hearing Craig saying that he was pleased with Macca's efforts today. All I can say is that my eyes must have deceived me.
More of a reason why not to appoint Craig if he finds McLeod's attitude OK. What message does this send the youngsters???

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
What message does this send the youngsters???

Nearly win the brownlow one year, play like a little spoilt brat for the rest of your career, don't do much to show us why you are inspirational to others out there, and we'll treat you like royalty.

Totally agree that macca's attitude in the first half sucked and it's certainly not the first time he's sooked when played in a defensive role, but I do beleive he was a driving force in the revival and chased and put in.

What do we expect to get for MACCA ? He has a damaged knee, the recieving club would have to pick up the contract or at least split it with us. Yet he still has the potential to win games, These players are very rare and we would certainly have to think very carefully about this.

Macca is no longer an untradeable, and if a generous offer came along, then he should be traded
I have steadfasly supported Maccas position as being untradeable - reason is that he is part of the leadership group, and part of the culture and history of the club.

BUT if he keeps going the way he is, and there isn't an outside situation I'm unaware of, then his status as part of our leadership group, and in fact his place in history as an Adelaide Crow great is under threat.

Wont jump and say trade, but I'm wavering;)

another one of those times the AFC doesnt tell the supporters what they are really feeling. Because deep down they know he is a (or was) champion, young ones look up to him. Can't handle the truth? its how it seems to be coming across. The supporters know he is lacking, lacking in form, lacking in attitude.

Originally posted by Wayne's-World

Wont jump and say trade, but I'm wavering;)
After today, I have jumped. Macca showed in brief patches he is still very capable of breaking games open - unfortunately he just can't be bothered trying for the majority of the game.

If its not a personal issue.
Blight has shown and Ayres early on that they can get Macleod firing.

Is it a physical limitation - yes I do think he has lost part pof his most valuable asset - his pace.
But he is still relatively quick and the right coach IMO could turn him around.

hmmmmmmmm...

I posted this thread on the 30/07/04

What is McLeod's Trade value?

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?threadid=124541

I never got any replies for it. I thought everyone disagreed with me. Anyways...

I totally agree with everyone that wants him gone, his spot in the team is guaranteed by his reputation. In a trade we should settle for nothing less than a bag of rusty nails (jj), seriously what could he possibly be worth, we arent the only ones that have noticed how bad he is playing.

At the very least he should be in the SANFL next week, unlikely.

Been saying this for years!
I'm glad to see that a lot of you are now in agreement.
Simply not worth what he is paid!

Malthouse or Matthews (maybe Sheedy too) could turn him around and both teams have good trade options for us.

I thought Maccas problem was Gary Ayres...So now gary's gone whats the excuse now??? I have heard that Collingwood and Essendon are very intrerested..If that's the case then let them pay him $500 grand a year.....

I also think, even though they try their heart out, Shirley, Gallagher, Perrie and Stevens aren't up to AFL standard....Along with the possible delistings of Burns, M Stevens, Ladhams, Massie, it should be quite a clean out at years end.......

Originally posted by Wayne's-World
Is it a physical limitation - yes I do think he has lost part pof his most valuable asset - his pace.
But he is still relatively quick and the right coach IMO could turn him around.
Didn't look slow chasing down Gehrig! Just lazy IMO & should have been dragged today for some of his pathetic 1st half efforts.

To plagerise a quote:
"you have to draw a line in the sand" - time for the AFC to send Macleod a signal that this effort is not acceptable from someone of his talents.

Too bad he ended up hitting a Saint's player on the chest with the free kick he got.

The last few week's he seems to be trying to toe poke the ball forward instead of putting his head and body over it and getting his knees dirty.

And I hate hearing this crap for the last two and a half years about how heavily he's tagged every week. So are every other bloody midfielder in the competition, but they don't go off and sook.

You watch blokes like Mattner and Shirley who don't have the talent of a McLeod try their asses of and McLeod just runs around like a show pony. Soft.

We'd all agree he's been in a comfort-zone since the 2003 Wizard Cup GF when he won the Michael Tuck Medal.

Is it complacency (not helped by his fat contract)?
Is it his knee in part?

Either way, we the supporters are getting bent over.

If we trade him does that mean macca23 will change his nickname?

It is very sad to see him waste his talent, I'm sick of the excuses. We wont be in contention for a premiership while he is still playing and he is of no benefit to the team, It would help both parties if we were to trade. Macca could re-ignite his career somewhere else, while the AFC can get some good draft choices (maybe).

It's like a long term relationship that has gone bad, the hardest thing is admitting that it is over and letting go.

I agree with Crowie, now is the time in the best interests of both Andrew and the club. A change of scenery for him may do him the world of good, and the club could benefit with a trade or draft selections. Andrew has been a great servant of the club, and to that end it would be better to move on before there is a chance of things getting to ugly.

Originally posted by DaveW
Judging by the above comments, Andrew McLeod is fast becoming our version of Matthew Richardson.

That's about spot-on.

On their days they are two of the most dominating men in the competition - head and shoulders above anyone else on the field.

However...

That day doesn't come anywhere near often enough thanks to their heads and/or bodies not being in it.

Ever since 2001 when he lost the Brownlow, I reckon he has been far too spasmodic and only puts in when it suits him. He has lived off his glory years for the past 2 years and if the problem is not a medical condition then I hate to say it but perhaps a trade is possible - might then tell everyone at the club that no-one is untouchable (except Roo of course, christ if we could half a dozen of him!!!).

Originally posted by DaveW
Judging by the above comments, Andrew McLeod is fast becoming our version of Matthew Richardson.

maybe we should trade them :eek: :eek: