AFLW Trade, Draft and list changes

Seven games a season isn’t that terrible seeing how many games there actually are available to be played in AFLW

Conti is what two or three years older so again not even remotely surprising she’s played more games
Was thinking the same thing as soon as I ready that thoughtless comment.

Classy stuff , the vitriol that spews from your gob has no place here , I’m sure you’ll find somewhere with like minds if you look hard enough
This!

yeah agree, offers nothing more than what McKinnon is bringing, well at least McK can mark the ball.
can't have 2 of these players on the list.

would rather keep Lily Pierce and de-list Kelly.
Kelly's last game was promising at least. How much of an upgrade do you think McKinnon is. Haven't been a big Crows watcher tbh.

yeah, Poppy was promising but against a non-leaping, using her body, Sab's.
had a few more marks than usual, but still got beaten 20 to Sab's 35 HO.
if Gabby was playing, she would have destroyed Fredericks, leaping all over her.

the more i think about trading for McKinnon, the more I'm confused/not sold about it.
Poppy is 26 next year, Montana is 23, same height 184cm, both are statistically around the same, no great difference (maybe a few more marks McK's way)
i don't get a "WOW" about her, i suppose there is the reason she's never been able to be the No1 ruck at the Crows, great credentials as a junior, but hasn't reached any sort of potential since.

i've watched her maybe a couple of times and haven't noticed anything special, the Crows No 1 ruck Allen, yeah she's very good.
she has had over 20 HO in 1 game v West Coast (this year, 35 HO) in 31 games.
our Gabby is way better in every statistic over McKinnon, it's not funny.

yes she's young, yes she only has 50-55% game time, but i don't see her being as good as Gabby, being our No1 ruck.
but if we're moving Gabby into another position, then yes okay get Montana in, for 2nd Rd pick 29 or 30, that's all she's worth.

Saints paid pick 37, 2 years ago for GWS Erin McKinnon (24yo) and she at least had an AA on her CV, delisted her this year, wouldn't be bad as a DFA, instead of trading for Montana.

IF we trade our 1st pick No11, in any way to the Crows for her I'm going to be very pissed off.
and if McKinnon is on more than tier 3 with us, I'm going to be very pissed off.

yeah, Poppy was promising but against a non-leaping, using her body, Sab's.
had a few more marks than usual, but still got beaten 20 to Sab's 35 HO.
if Gabby was playing, she would have destroyed Fredericks, leaping all over her.

the more i think about trading for McKinnon, the more I'm confused/not sold about it.
Poppy is 26 next year, Montana is 23, same height 184cm, both are statistically around the same, no great difference (maybe a few more marks McK's way)
i don't get a "WOW" about her, i suppose there is the reason she's never been able to be the No1 ruck at the Crows, great credentials as a junior, but hasn't reached any sort of potential since.

i've watched her maybe a couple of times and haven't noticed anything special, the Crows No 1 ruck Allen, yeah she's very good.
she has had over 20 HO in 1 game v West Coast (this year, 35 HO) in 31 games.
our Gabby is way better in every statistic over McKinnon, it's not funny.

yes she's young, yes she only has 50-55% game time, but i don't see her being as good as Gabby, being our No1 ruck.
but if we're moving Gabby into another position, then yes okay get Montana in, for 2nd Rd pick 29 or 30, that's all she's worth.

Saints paid pick 37, 2 years ago for GWS Erin McKinnon (24yo) and she at least had an AA on her CV, delisted her this year, wouldn't be bad as a DFA, instead of trading for Montana.

IF we trade our 1st pick No11, in any way to the Crows for her I'm going to be very pissed off.
and if McKinnon is on more than tier 3 with us, I'm going to be very pissed off.
ok, THANKS! I knew there must a reason her name was not jumping out at me. She is an Adelaide girl, so while not unheard of, a bit odd maybe going to Melb. We are starting to see a bit more of it since the money got better I suppose.

No way we use Pick 11 - dropping 9 to 11 must mean we have someone in mind. We need a quality young mid to come through.

ok, THANKS! I knew there must a reason her name was not jumping out at me. She is an Adelaide girl, so while not unheard of, a bit odd maybe going to Melb. We are starting to see a bit more of it since the money got better I suppose.

No way we use Pick 11 - dropping 9 to 11 must mean we have someone in mind. We need a quality young mid to come through.

no worries Phar Ace.

yes was thinking/hoping the same.

we have at this moment, 11, 29, 30, 49, 69.
should/hope it goes something like this:
keep 11 and 29....... 11 best available and 29 needs?
30 = Montana McKinnon (Adelaide)
49 = Ally Dallaway (GWS)
69 = Jodie Hicks (GWS)

no worries Phar Ace.

yes was thinking/hoping the same.

we have at this moment, 11, 29, 30, 49, 69.
should/hope it goes something like this:
keep 11 and 29....... 11 best available and 29 needs?
30 = Montana McKinnon (Adelaide)
49 = Ally Dallaway (GWS)
69 = Jodie Hicks (GWS)

I reckon 1 of 11 or 29 goes, otherwise why make the trade?

Some strong decisions being made in the off-season, the JHosking decision took me off guard, I said during the season I'm not sure Ferg knows where to play her, which is why she ended up in the forward line which doesn't suit her. She may be going interstate, she posted on Insta if anyone wanted to take on a rental in Mt Eliza, so she's moving, not sure if its related to where she will play footy but maybe.

I'm not the biggest Kelly fan, she's ok as a ruck but her marking ability is poor, and she's just not involved enough. Averaged 4.4 possessions this year from 63% TOG.

I like to normalise TOG% when looking at stats, and McKinnon is has very similar stats to Gabby when normalised to 80% TOG% and way ahead of Kelly in every stat bar tackling.

I've not seen much of Dallaway or Hicks but hopefully they have some pace. Gavalas would also be a decent signing for us, North have a deep midfield, so I don't think her being on the fringe of their midfield is a big issue.

I haven't seen her play, but statistically she's way better than Kelly, extrapolating both to 80% TOG and McKinnon has D 11, CM 0.9, IM, 1.3, M 2.3, T 2.6. Kelly's stats are D 6, CM 0.5, IM, 0.9, M 1.5, T 3.4. She's only ahead on tackles so seems a big upgrade on Kelly if we are thinking of pushing Gabby into defence. She's great whereever she plays so I guess it comes down to where we get most value from her.

BTW those same stats for Gabby on 2023 were D 11.4, CM 0.9, IM 1.0, M 2.5, T 4.2 so similar to McKinnon aside from tackling where Gabby is way ahead.

I haven't seen her play, but statistically she's way better than Kelly, extrapolating both to 80% TOG and McKinnon has D 11, CM 0.9, IM, 1.3, M 2.3, T 2.6. Kelly's stats are D 6, CM 0.5, IM, 0.9, M 1.5, T 3.4. She's only ahead on tackles so seems a big upgrade on Kelly if we are thinking of pushing Gabby into defence. She's great whereever she plays so I guess it comes down to where we get most value from her.

BTW those same stats for Gabby on 2023 were D 11.4, CM 0.9, IM 1.0, M 2.5, T 4.2 so similar to McKinnon aside from tackling where Gabby is way ahead.

i wouldn't say way better, but okay fair enough.

i've only seen her play a couple of times, nothing stood out.

Some strong decisions being made in the off-season, the JHosking decision took me off guard, I said during the season I'm not sure Ferg knows where to play her, which is why she ended up in the forward line which doesn't suit her. She may be going interstate, she posted on Insta if anyone wanted to take on a rental in Mt Eliza, so she's moving, not sure if its related to where she will play footy but maybe.

I'm not the biggest Kelly fan, she's ok as a ruck but her marking ability is poor, and she's just not involved enough. Averaged 4.4 possessions this year from 63% TOG.

I like to normalise TOG% when looking at stats, and McKinnon is has very similar stats to Gabby when normalised to 80% TOG% and way ahead of Kelly in every stat bar tackling.

I've not seen much of Dallaway or Hicks but hopefully they have some pace. Gavalas would also be a decent signing for us, North have a deep midfield, so I don't think her being on the fringe of their midfield is a big issue.
pick 11 would be unnecessary and foolish, for a 2nd ruck, no way she's worth that.
Birch 3 years older, heaps more credentialled, traded for pick 19, McKinnon wouldn't be within 10 picks of Birch.

why make the trade? we'll only take 2 picks in the draft, and we have 5 picks now. (4 picks before swap)
first 2 for draft and last 3 for 3 X trades.

yes Dallaway and Hicks have pace.

yeah agree, offers nothing more than what McKinnon is bringing, well at least McK can mark the ball.
can't have 2 of these players on the list.

would rather keep Lily Pierce and de-list Kelly.
Reckon she’d be traded tbh , hasn’t really improved much , 1-2 decent stats a game

The comments are strong marking , so far sounds good

yeah, I'm not against it, but not excited either.
we paid pick 15-16 for Sab and she had much bigger wraps, look how that turned out.

i hope we learned our lesson and don't ever trade that sort of pick for ruck (McKinnon)
pick 30 is more than fair for a young, 2nd string ruck.

That's a possibility but there hasn't been any recent media goss on anyone else coming to Punt Rd. The latest on Gavalas is she is weighing up a move to either the Bulldogs or the Hawks.

The 3 players linked to us will likely clear out a 2nd, 3rd & 4th round pick, unless a player swap is involved, and is a beneficial trade if we have a group of players we rate that we see as being available at either 9 or 11, and we gain a 2nd rounder as our 2nd pick.

Kelly's marking is ordinary. Rucks that can clunk a mark, and ideally kick the occasional goal are real weapons .e.g Emma King.

That's a possibility but there hasn't been any recent media goss on anyone else coming to Punt Rd. The latest on Gavalas is she is weighing up a move to either the Bulldogs or the Hawks.

The 3 players linked to us will likely clear out a 2nd, 3rd & 4th round pick, unless a player swap is involved, and is a beneficial trade if we have a group of players we rate that we see as being available at either 9 or 11, and we gain a 2nd rounder as our 2nd pick.

Kelly's marking is ordinary. Rucks that can clunk a mark, and ideally kick the occasional goal are real weapons .e.g Emma King.
Is McKinnon def a solid mark is she , never seen her play , but she’s described as much. If right then she’d def be an asset to us , as we’re weak overhead and also if the other two are quick , bonus , coz we ain’t been

To be honest Bo I haven't watched a lot of her either but I followed the girls champs played up here when McKinnon played in U18's. My daughter and her friend played school and southern academy squad together, friend playing for Queensland & the Champs were on the Gold Coast. McKinnon's marking was better than solid I'd say it was above average to elite.

It could be a case of against her peers she may have stood out more and then coming up against women found the going tougher as a 19 year old. She'd be what 22 now but I don't think you ever lose that talent. For the Tigers I'd love to see her dominate in the air like she did then.

Her best years in AFLW should be ahead of her. She's still young and by being drafted to a top team in Crows probably held back in her development. For comparison Suns player Lauren Bella, played in QLD U18 team then has since played in almost twice as many AFLW games as McKinnon. Both were U18 All Australian rucks, over consecutive years.

Lauren Bella (Suns) average stats
Disposals 6.6
Marks 1.0
Tackles. 2.1
Clearances 1.5
Hit outs 21.1

Montana McKinnon (Crows) stats
Disposals 7.6
Marks 2.4
Tackles. 1.8
Clearances 1.2
Hit outs 14.2

I don’t think we’ve seen the best of Poppy yet. This year was the most games she’s played and her 5th season and I think it was her best.
7 games was the most before that.
She needs a lot more than 1 mark a game and get a bit hungrier.

I had a look at Morphett, the Sydney Ruck picked in the AA team.
188 tall
This season
highest ave hitouts
highest ave hard ball gets for a Ruck
275 ave mtr gained
3.1 marks (took 8 against Carlton)

Came third in their BnF and probably would’ve had the rising star if she didn’t break a bone in her wrist and not play after Rnd 7.

I don’t think we’ve seen the best of Poppy yet. This year was the most games she’s played and her 5th season and I think it was her best.
7 games was the most before that.
She needs a lot more than 1 mark a game and get a bit hungrier.

I had a look at Morphett, the Sydney Ruck picked in the AA team.
188 tall
This season
highest ave hitouts
highest ave hard ball gets for a Ruck
275 ave mtr gained
3.1 marks (took 8 against Carlton)

Came third in their BnF and probably would’ve had the rising star if she didn’t break a bone in her wrist and not play after Rnd 7.

Poppy has had some injury issues, and came to us bit raw, which is the reason I think she is only now showing a bit and her game has started to come together. I also think she will continue to get better, let's hope she has an uninterrupted run at it.

Most of us on this board would happily give up our first pick for Ally Morphett, What a player. It goes to show how much better and how quickly the next gen. of AFLW girls are coming through with the right support and opportunities for development that are there now. To think that Matilda Scholz was only 18 this year and played like a veteran. Morphett and Scholz looked so comfortable at the level in just their first and second years. They are well rounded, skilled and mobile players who are also good at ground level. If this is the future of Aflw it's going to be pretty special in a few years time.

You’re blocked like your halfwit mate SJ. You dish it out but won’t cop it. Typical of folks with low intellect
Haha, you are talking to the mirror. Check yourself out!

AFLW Trade, Draft and list changes