List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 5

Opinion, narrative, whatever, his kicking is nowhere near as bad as talked about on here.
It’s not just here, many Footscray supporters in the regular home and away season have also been scathing of Dunkley’s disposal. Of course come trade time they will conveniently forget that. However, there is no excuse that we should do the same, especially if God forbid we were to offer a first rounder for him.

The names he said last couple of years were later reported by the media. When we really wanted them we were out bid. One thing the Tigers have is a limit to the amount they will spend.

Otherwise it was interest, and we just wouldn't spend the picks/$ to make it happen.

Yes Tiger71 is pretty noisy and acclaims himself. But he is not usually wrong.

We always have to remember that
1) we are playing a game of many moving parts. We want 1 good mid for a good price. So we have to ask 3, 6 or 10 to find who is good for the price we want to pay. So there are multiple names that genuinely are in the conversation. An sometimes the ones we really want are also ones other teams want - in fact pretty much always. Some teams don't have a limit to their offers compared to us. So often we went as hard as we could, but others went harder.
2) We have a list that we want to keep together. We have kids to keep and Dusty to pay. If we can transition from a multiple premiership team that got old to a contending team without any serious down time it's a first. That requires keeping a lot of moving parts in motion and under control at the same time. And the salary cap is a huge issue that we have to manage.

How the hell do I acclaim myself? It's the reason I don't post in this thread now. If I'm right or the mail is proven to be true, even if we miss the target...I cop it if I defend myself by being full of myself or good guess. If the mail is wrong, I'm called a liar.

Just not worth it lol

The whole world knew Lynch was going to either Richmond or Collingwood.

Good on the boys on that podcast for putting their balls on the line with their predictions or whispers from those supposedly in the know. It gives people something to talk about at least. The strike rate hasnt been great though in recent times.

Whole world knew 2 years prior, ok lol

If Esava improves to his actual full potential then he may get to Levi Casboult level. He's about half way there now. So that's a big no from me.
Don’t agree with those sentiments, reckon he has twice his natural ability ,, Levi is a big lug that can be effective deep rooted in f50
Esava can get around the ground , for mine an upgrade on soldo ,, get him

Do we need another outside runner with guys like Ralphsmith, Banks, Sonsie, Clarke developing? We need key position and ball winners. I'd be getting Matt Crouch if he is cheap.
What makes you think Bruhn is an outside player ? His natural game is a inside mid and top class contested work that tackles and also impacts foward
He has been limited in the center due to GWS depth

Do we need another outside runner with guys like Ralphsmith, Banks, Sonsie, Clarke developing? We need key position and ball winners. I'd be getting Matt Crouch if he is cheap.
Agree we need an inside mid. Sonsie was regarded as a clearance specialist in his draft write ups. He can win his own footy but has polish on either side when he gets space. I wouldn’t call him an outside player.

Don’t agree with those sentiments, reckon he has twice his natural ability ,, Levi is a big lug that can be effective deep rooted in f50
Esava can get around the ground , for mine an upgrade on soldo ,, get him
Gee your seeing something in big Esava that I haven’t. I wouldn’t say he is too damaging around the ground at all. Levi a much better mark too.

Whole world knew 2 years prior, ok lol
You were claiming it in 2016?
Would have been a big call given he signed a two year extension with GC in 2016. Clubs sniffing around before that extension without luck, no doubt.

I reckon people were talking again by late 2017 though and it was considered likely for most of 2018 with the Pies and us chasing hard and hawks showing some interest from memory.

How the hell do I acclaim myself? It's the reason I don't post in this thread now. If I'm right or the mail is proven to be true, even if we miss the target...I cop it if I defend myself by being full of myself or good guess. If the mail is wrong, I'm called a liar.

Just not worth it lol

Relax brother.

All I mean is exactly what you've said. You are pretty much on the money, according to yourself.

And as I said, that is pretty much true.

Where you are 'wrong' it is usually because we are outbid, or the whole deal doesn't work because 1) our team structure doesn't fit the deal, 2) the other team kept him, or 3) some other unclear thing happened.

So I don't mean you are wrong or tootling your trumpet when it isn't correct. You pretty much always give the caveats, and rarely say it will happen. When you do say you think it will happen you state whether it is your opinion or your source's. When it is your source they are pretty much spot on. When it's yours and doesn't happen, it always comes out that we put up a damn good trade and $, and then got out bid.

People think this is all black and white. But it isn't. It's all grey and unclear until the deal is made. e.g. Caddy to us happened late because of a whole lot of other factors. It wasn't clear until it happened. Crouch to us was absolutely on, until the Saints put in a very high late bid.

So all I am saying is that you don't have too much false modesty ;). I like that. But you are not full of sh*t.

The other thing that makes me believe you is that when you say something isn't on, then it isn't on. If you don't think it is on, but we ask the question that is what comes out later. It's one of the things that I always look at, what isn't said, or what doesn't happen. If you can predict that, then you do have mail. It's easy to say "this is on", cause clubs talk to most players on the market. It's much harder to say "this isn't on", cause that means you actually know what is on.

Hope that clears it up. Stay yourself and keep talking about your enormous member (I'll always remember micro though :laughing:). I trust you, but take your info with the pinch of salt that always is appropriate for trades.

You don't lie, that is clear. I accept that of the (say) 8 guys we talk to every year we might get one or 2, or none. So knowing the logic of where we are going is very cool. Keep giving us the goss.

Love your work.

Would have been a big call given he signed a two year extension with GC in 2016.

I reckon people were talking by late 2017 though and it was considered likely for most of 2018 with the Pies and us chasing hard and hawks showing some interest from memory.
I remember one of the rag reporters stating that we were into Lynch years out.

Haven’t you watched him play us , several times he’s kicked multiple goals
He's played us five times. 0 goals twice, 2 goals twice, 4 goals from 6 touches last year playing on Garthwaite. His best game against us was in 2020 when he had 15 disposals, 7 marks, 2 goals. No Astbury or Broad that night and our only proper tall defender Balta had his hands full kicking Shovekins' arse.

Ratugolea is a tease. He's about to turn 24 so his best is ahead of him but given Geelong's lack of rucks and with Hawkins ageing I doubt they're keen to trade a contracted player. And we have more pressing needs.

Would have been a big call given he signed a two year extension with GC in 2016. Clubs sniffing around before that extension without luck, no doubt.

I reckon people were talking again by late 2017 though and it was considered likely for most of 2018 with the Pies and us chasing hard and hawks showing some interest from memory.
Whenever it was that Tigs first mentioned we were into Lynch, it was definitely before the media. Likewise with Prestia, Hampson, Petturd and probably others that I've forgotten.

Yeah sure the ones he's mentioned recently haven't come off, but that's more because the club hasn't been able to get the player over the line because of our tight cap.

The taranto answer from the question from the kid yesterday screamed "I am out at the end of the year". He is definitely gettable. If we are looking at GWS players I also wouldn't mind bringing in Perryman. Is contracted to 2024 so would need trade capital. Played out of position on the HBF I reckon, he has the smarts and strength to play inside mid for us at a high level. Plus his disposal is really good.

Reckon we will be steadily be more linked to Zurhaar , Larkey and Bruhn as the season progresses .
Titch going at seasons end , 2023 to be a transition year for Jack and Cotch .
Zurhaar I can see, but Larkey contracted at North for another couple of years so would be very difficult to pry out of North.

He's played us five times. 0 goals twice, 2 goals twice, 4 goals from 6 touches last year playing on Garthwaite. His best game against us was in 2020 when he had 15 disposals, 7 marks, 2 goals. No Astbury or Broad that night and our only proper tall defender Balta had his hands full kicking Shovekins' arse.

Ratugolea is a tease. He's about to turn 24 so his best is ahead of him but given Geelong's lack of rucks and with Hawkins ageing I doubt they're keen to trade a contracted player. And we have more pressing needs.

Stacks up Pretty well v chol time at Richmond, he’s kicked on

Tim Taranto answering a fans question of,are u leaving,and he replys,I'm contracted until the end of the year.
Surely this means he's out.