Recruiting Trade & Free Agency VI

It would be short-sighted if EFC rookie a ruck in the mid-season draft - We have enough coverage with T-bell/Clarke/Mckernan - Smart clubs will target the best 19 year old playing TAC or its interstate equivalent or playing state league footy - You are given a free hit by obtaining these players six months earlier and give them extra development - Don't waste a list spot on a borderline VFL ruck.

All well and good to say no ruckman but if we don't select one and the worst happens and we run into the back half of the year with no ruckman and miss finals what happens?

"Supporters" on here have already shown they have no clue when it comes to circumstances so they would be leading the charge for change.

Why not mitigate that risk by selecting the ruckman we may need instead of taking a shot on a speculative pick who may not add anything elsewhere on the field that one of the kids on our list couldn't do? Would take development time away from them that people have been squealing we already do a poor job of.

There may have been a time to try it if it had of been a small midfielder going down with a season ender but in a year where we are expected to make a push for finals and have a battered ruck division, surely you mitigate the risk for that year.

All well and good to say no ruckman but if we don't select one and the worst happens and we run into the back half of the year with no ruckman and miss finals what happens?

"Supporters" on here have already shown they have no clue when it comes to circumstances so they would be leading the charge for change.

Why not mitigate that risk by selecting the ruckman we may need instead of taking a shot on a speculative pick who may not add anything elsewhere on the field that one of the kids on our list couldn't do? Would take development time away from them that people have been squealing we already do a poor job of.

There may have been a time to try it if it had of been a small midfielder going down with a season ender but in a year where we are expected to make a push for finals and have a battered ruck division, surely you mitigate the risk for that year.

Agree in principal... but in reality the ruckman we are talking to is a long term solution anyway, he had never touched a football before 2018 - played collage basketball, played 3 VFL games then moved to the SANFL.

Reality is he is probably a year (or more) behind where Draper was, who wasn't ready to play yet.

If we are getting a ruck it would need to be one who could step into the AFL and compete now if needed.

Agree with Yaco, if this happened last year we would have almost certainly drafted Hind despite need.

I don’t think anyone has really separated themselves as the next Tim Kelly or similar but it is a good opportunity to grab someone that has transferable attributes.

At worst they assist the VFL side in a flag tilt

Agree with Yaco, if this happened last year we would have almost certainly drafted Hind despite need.

I don’t think anyone has really separated themselves as the next Tim Kelly or similar but it is a good opportunity to grab someone that has transferable attributes.

At worst they assist the VFL side in a flag tilt

does draper out terminally affect said flag tilt?

A fair point, but the AFL side are obviously the priority, I’d essentially be viewing it as a free 3rd round selection in the national draft given that’s where the high profile mature agers tend to go and getting someone in with hopefully a long term future is a genuine possibility.

If form holds Clarke will dominate the VFL as the solo ruckman provided he doesn’t get injured, and the Read kid who we blooded on Saturday doesn’t look the worst to be honest.

The VFL are also a little bit more flexible with player movement too, I don’t think it’s too late for us to add another tall to the list if we need.

Richmond and Carlton used it as a mechanism to get more young talent onto the list, if they’re going to rort the system I want to rort the system too.

Agree in principal... but in reality the ruckman we are talking to is a long term solution anyway, he had never touched a football before 2018 - played collage basketball, played 3 VFL games then moved to the SANFL.

Reality is he is probably a year (or more) behind where Draper was, who wasn't ready to play yet.

If we are getting a ruck it would need to be one who could step into the AFL and compete now if needed.
At 26 and been playing footy for a year and a half what would be the point in drafting this bloke who probably wouldn't be up to AFL standard until he was nearly 30.

I see Ben McEvoy's brother has nominated. Anyone know his story?

At 26 and been playing footy for a year and a half what would be the point in drafting this bloke who probably wouldn't be up to AFL standard until he was nearly 30.

I see Ben McEvoy's brother has nominated. Anyone know his story?
Peter's a good VFL key forward. Strong hands, good kick. 26 though.

Jonty Neaves from Coburg looks to have extreme potential. 20 years old, 193 cm. Raw but talented.
You reckon? Have been pretty disappointed with him after week one honestly.

It would be short-sighted if EFC rookie a ruck in the mid-season draft - We have enough coverage with T-bell/Clarke/Mckernan - Smart clubs will target the best 19 year old playing TAC or its interstate equivalent or playing state league footy - You are given a free hit by obtaining these players six months earlier and give them extra development - Don't waste a list spot on a borderline VFL ruck.
Clarke, McKernan and Draper have all had decent injuries not even a third of the way into this season whilst Tbell isn't exactly known for his durability either. Clubs targeting 19 year olds are likely those with no pressing depth issues. Besides, a 19 year old playing TAC Cup/VFL/WAFL/SANFL would've been overlooked by every other club multiple times last year and in all likelihood not going to be an AFL player. The last thing we need is a situation where Stringer is forced to ruck again.

Can anyone tell me what the contract situation is for anyone drafted in the MSD? Do they get a contract only to the end of 2019? And is their salary outside the cap?
The reason for the question is that they replace a LTI, who rejoins the list at the end of the year.
So, unless they are automatically jettisoned, the club is over the limit on player list nos. If they are retained beyond the EOY (eg minimum 2yr contract), then presumably you only get to draft/add one less than you lose, for next year's list.
If that is how it works, then you are effectively using the MSD pick instead of one in the 2019 draft.
Or maybe you get a look for the rest of 2019, and then decide if you want the keep the MSD draftee rather than have a pick in the 2019 draft.

Can anyone tell me what the contract situation is for anyone drafted in the MSD? Do they get a contract only to the end of 2019? And is their salary outside the cap?
The reason for the question is that they replace a LTI, who rejoins the list at the end of the year.
So, unless they are automatically jettisoned, the club is over the limit on player list nos. If they are retained beyond the EOY (eg minimum 2yr contract), then presumably you only get to draft/add one less than you lose, for next year's list.
If that is how it works, then you are effectively using the MSD pick instead of one in the 2019 draft.
Or maybe you get a look for the rest of 2019, and then decide if you want the keep the MSD draftee rather than have a pick in the 2019 draft.
I think they sign a contract to the end of the 2019 and the club that picks them up has a chance to sign them long term or delist them like any other player.

If they are delisted they can sign as a DFA with a club of their chouce like any other.

Yeah, being played out of position.

His run and leap at the footy is his strength, not in the ruck.
He's not in the ruck very often though, Swizza takes most of it. Has a cannon of a leg but doesn't get to the right positions often enough IMO. He has time and has Peter to learn off but if he's a draft chance think it's more 2020 or 2021.

Clarke, McKernan and Draper have all had decent injuries not even a third of the way into this season whilst Tbell isn't exactly known for his durability either. Clubs targeting 19 year olds are likely those with no pressing depth issues. Besides, a 19 year old playing TAC Cup/VFL/WAFL/SANFL would've been overlooked by every other club multiple times last year and in all likelihood not going to be an AFL player. The last thing we need is a situation where Stringer is forced to ruck again.

There are usually 4 to 6 nineteen year olds who are selected in the ND - In effect smart clubs will target one of these cohort for the mid-season draft instead of waiting for the ND - The extra five months of development is a big advantage - We have enough players on our list who can ruck or share the ruck.

Do you have a right to the player at the end of the year?