Trade hypotheticals

Two questions:

1) Is Sam Fisher a RFA or unrestricted?

2) Are St Kilda likely to keep him.

He might be worth looking at for a contender - if he wants a premiership he has not very long left, and you could very easily pry him away with the offer of a playing spot at a top team..if St Kilda have him as a RFA and match the offer and he still really wanted to leave, could take only a 4th rounder or something you're not really going to use anyway?

E.g. I reckon he'd fit in well at Sydney for a year considering Grundy is not the best, Richards is getting on and Johnson is an unknown in terms of injury/responsibility as a KD (not third tall).

Two questions:

1) Is Sam Fisher a RFA or unrestricted?

2) Are St Kilda likely to keep him.

He might be worth looking at for a contender - if he wants a premiership he has not very long left, and you could very easily pry him away with the offer of a playing spot at a top team..if St Kilda have him as a RFA and match the offer and he still really wanted to leave, could take only a 4th rounder or something you're not really going to use anyway?
Why on earth would the Saints match an offer then proceed to trade him for a useless pick?

Big Fish will either retire or stay on at the Saints.

Mate just told me Robinson will be on the move or at least put up for trade this off-season - could he get a 4-5 pick upgrade in the 3rd round perhaps? I could potentially see us having 2 mid 40's picks (normal one + possible Waite compo if he gets a decent contract from North and takes it), so that combined with Robbo could get us a few spots higher to a club just looking to consolidate with extra picks for specific needs?

E.g. I reckon he'd fit in well at Sydney for a year considering Grundy is not the best, Richards is getting on and Johnson is an unknown in terms of injury/responsibility as a KD (not third tall).

Hardly! The worst team you could think of. Isn't a key defender and Sydney have a trashload of 2nd defender types!

Why on earth would the Saints match an offer then proceed to trade him for a useless pick?

Big Fish will either retire or stay on at the Saints.

Fisher might well decide to take the offer? It doesn't matter - the question basically was could Fisher be drawn away from the Saints. He could rejuvenate for a year at a club with a premiership chance.

Also - I know Griffin (Fremantle) is always 'on the table' in these threads, but surely Port won't go into 2015 with just Lobbe + Redden as rucks? Don't want to risk playing Trengrove/Westhoff as rucks for a season..Griffin a possibility?

Rampe and a 2x ACL-Johnson...Fisher > Grundy imo, don't rate Grundy at all, in fact would have him as just about the only weak link in Sydneys side.

Grundy, Rampe, then the running defenders, Sam Reid. If he was a central key position defender sure, but Fisher is just a worse version to what Sydney have.

Also - I know Griffin (Fremantle) is always 'on the table' in these threads, but surely Port won't go into 2015 with just Lobbe + Redden as rucks? Don't want to risk playing Trengrove/Westhoff as rucks for a season..Griffin a possibility?
Has been talked about a little bit on the Port board as a replacement for Renouf.
Is 29 next year and is Freos 3rd ruck so I assume he would be worth very very little.

It's that time of year , so here's a question for Giants fans :
What's your thoughts on a trade of Henderson and Walker for Boyd and your draft pick 4 ?
Try this side :
Scully Davis Tomlinson
Shaw Henderson Walker
Whitfield Ward Kelly
Hoskin-Elliot Cameron Palmer
Smith Patton Jaksch

Mumford Treloar Shiel

Coniglio Bugg Greene Giles
Lamb O'Rourke Plowman Frost etc etc

That's a well rounded team and pretty bloody scary going forward !!

Thoughts ??

What's your thoughts on a trade of Henderson and Walker for Boyd and your draft pick 4 ?
Try this side :
Scully Davis Tomlinson
Shaw Henderson Walker
Whitfield Ward Kelly
Smith Patton Jaksch

Mumford Treloar Shiel

Thoughts ??

Don't rate Scully? Everyone knows you play the spud in a back pocket.

Fisher might well decide to take the offer? It doesn't matter - the question basically was could Fisher be drawn away from the Saints. He could rejuvenate for a year at a club with a premiership chance.
If Fisher wanted to take such an offer, Saints wouldn't stand in his way. As for rejuvenation, the games he played this year were fine, the quantity was due to a rotten injury run.

Lachie Henderson and Andrew walker? yeah sure man, v fair.
Try this side :
Scully Davis Tomlinson
Shaw Henderson Walker
Whitfield Ward Kelly
Smith Patton Jaksch

Mumford Treloar Shiel

Thoughts ??

Try this side :
Scully Davis Tomlinson
Shaw Henderson Walker
Whitfield Ward Kelly
Smith Patton Jaksch

Mumford Treloar Shiel

Thoughts ??
I think Henderson for pick 4 or maybe even Boyd could work (I think Boyd will be better but we could use a quality KPD and someone with more experience who still has plenty of footy left in him). But then it's pick 4 for Walker which is obviously ridiculous.

Thoughts ??

Boyd was a number 1 draft pick 12 months ago.....you want pick 1 (equivalent) and pick 4 for Henderson and Walker

Surely you have been smokin something.

Thanks for your input , but as a pies man and probably knowing your feelings for the Blues , i'll put your thoughts to the side .

The question was aimed at Giants fans
Henderson for Boyd only delivers a modest amount of lulz, but Walker for pick 4 really brings it home

Henderson and Walker for Boyd and your draft pick 4 ?

In terms of value:
pick 4 > walker
pick 4 > henderson

boyd > walker
boyd > Henderson

So basically if I was a list manager, I would not even contemplate this trade.