Trade Talk (not draft talk)

I agree with many here that Richitelli is not an elite player. Still a reigning B&F is nothing to sneeze at and 10-15 is more realistic. On the Ball comparison - he is younger than Ball and has nowhere near the injury issues that Ball has. Ball was also coming off a season where he struggled to make the Saints team. Ball has had a great year but the risk in trading for him last year was much higher.

just on the 2 points, yes he is younger but ball best is a fair bit better than richitelli.

he didnt struggle to make the saints side, for some reason lyon didnt see him playing a pivotol role there & elected not to play him.

ball is still a very very good hard inside player with possibly 4-5 years in him

but thats why i rated richitelli around the pick 20 rather than in the early 30's where ball was selected.

what would your views be on a dean polo,richitelli trade be hardwick doesnt seem to either like or have polo in his long term plans
polo is pretty much an inside/outside mid runwith player that was i think pick 12 or so in the delidio draft so only 23 atm with aprox 50 games

A midfield is not a one-man role.

I'd suggest the fact that we've relied on the likes of Black and Power and too few players with pace for far too long has been more of a problem than anything else.

True, but I would also suggest that in the congestion a mid-fielder, whether pacy or average speed, should be able to read / receive the tap from his own ruckman and be proactive in getting the ball, not reactive because the opposition has already beaten him to it. OK, some of this may come down to the coaching, but after a few years in the system shouldn't this become instinct?

I don't really want to see Rischa leave the club, a couple of seasons back I thought he was one of our "untouchables" and would go on to become a god player, which he has, but if he is going to leave I just think "we" have to realise that we probably won't get what we would like for him. Saying that, if we don't get the desired (on here) trade doesn't mean we have been screwed over.

I agree pretty much with what Quigs, Beatnik (peace) & Acu have said,though I don't think we would get Jetta, more likely a (whats that guys name with the multi coloured boots?) type player.

Yesterday's match confirmed for me (again) that Sherman should be the main player that we look to trade this year. I continue to be frustrated by the way he 'sheep dogs' around the pack looking for cheap ball so he can race down the wing.

He's just not the kind of player I want at Brisbane and I think we should be able to get a very nice trade for him; the right club may be prepared to offer a late first round pick for him.

I agree with Richmond not trading their first round pick, but surely a man can dream. BTW, under no circumstance do i believe our club should trade first round picks:D
I note the smilie but I wouldn't be that absolute. I reckon I can think of 50 players in the comp that I'd give our first round pick for.

what would your views be on a dean polo,richitelli trade be hardwick doesnt seem to either like or have polo in his long term plans
polo is pretty much an inside/outside mid runwith player that was i think pick 12 or so in the delidio draft so only 23 atm with aprox 50 games

No offence, but it seems every year a Richmond poster tries to flog Dean Polo to us.

The fact he was pick 12 has long since become irrelevent. Wouldn't touch him. A direct swap for Rischitelli is an insult.

No offence, but it seems every year a Richmond poster tries to flog Dean Polo to us.

The fact he was pick 12 has long since become irrelevent. Wouldn't touch him. A direct swap for Rischitelli is an insult.

what we say or do doesnt really influence anybody at the club brown dog & i havnt ever come on to the brisbane board untill last year with the raines deal & most lions supporters were saying similar things about him then.

im not really fussed wether we get richitelli or not & to me he isnt really a priority but a luxury !

also i didnt believe that a direct swap between the 2 players was a fair trade but at the same time i personally dont think you would get market value for him because he will be dicatating where he wants to go if he wants to go & im pretty sure he will get there.

If we lose Rischitelli and Brennan, we must get at least one mature age midfielder. I would be happy for us to chase Brodie Moles, he was a one year rookie, not sure if he has resigned with the dogs but i am assuming there isn't much room in their salary cap. 600K over 3 years would probably get Moles. For me Moles is an excellent user of the football, is good one on one and works hard both ways. He has done really well to become part of the dogs midfield and would easily get into ours.

If we can get a Moles or like player and a couple of good draft picks then we might go some way to covering the loss of these 2. Adcock must also go into the midfield next season if we lose both players.

I think we've exhausted the Adcock as a full-time midfielder option and it would appear to have been a failure. Looks a lot more assured and provides more value as a back-pocket/half-back IMO.

If we do lose those two however I agree we will need a mature age midfielder. Long-shot here but perhaps Andrew Krakouer?

Adcock actually started really well in the midfield, leg injuries have really hurt him over the last couple of years.

Jed uses the ball well, makes good decisions, can kick goals and is hard at the footy. We are going to need a player with his skill set to run through our midfield if we lose two of our current mids.

Whilst I'm not disputing that he did have that purple patch towards the end of '07 (that brilliant game against the Pies immediately springs to mind) when he was given an extended run there in '08 he didn't look like a natural midfielder at all. Personally I'd rather keep him in his usual spot in the backline rather than flirt with form and try him out in the midfield again.

I agree Adcock is very good down back, but who replaces Rischa and Brennan in our midfield rotations?

If Brennan and Risha both leave i'd target Armitage. He'll have enough money to encourage him to join us.

Other players i'd target are Swallow (North) , Ward, Shiels and Hunt (Geelong).

Not a 100% sold on Armitage, especially for the money we would need to throw at him and what we would have to give up to get him.

Where do you see the list management heading? Are you thinking we just top up with one or two good player for a flag tilt in the next 2 to 3 years?

Wouldn't offer him a big deal but a small increase on what St.Kilda are paying him. We need to take a chance with a player like this who has potential but isn't getting any games. Look at Mumford for example.

should trade Johnstone and Fevola to the bulldogs for Akermanis

Derp derp derp!

DERP2.jpg

It's hard to get a feel for Rischa's trade value.

He has proven himself a consistently good inside mid this year and will win the Best and Fairest.

Does that make him a mid to late first round?

Would Rischa + our second pick for Essendon's first be a fair deal or are we getting ripped off there?
Will largely depend on his contract situation IMHO.
If we have managed to convince him to come to us & he refuses to sign a contract with you; you're in the situation of either taking what's offered or losing him for nothing.
You don't always get what they're worth in a perfect world; what someone's willing to pay is subject to a whole load of other factors.

Hello Brisbane fans, I think Rischa is a good player however I am sure the tigers will not part with much if we are interested. we will have pick 2 in the PSD and with pick 1 in the west and I assume he wants to return home, I think we might take our chances that he gets through to number 2 in the PSD.

The fact that Richmond has pick 2 in the PSD may help the lions rather than hinder. Its no secret that Riska was a Bombers fan as a kid and if the BF talk is correct Essendon would be his prefered Melbourne club.

If the Bombers want to get Riska they may need to trade for him at a decent value (unlikely to be fair) given that the Tiges could snaffle him in the PSD.

Why do people think that West Coast wouldn't want a player like Rischitelli. They would most likely have room in the cap for him as well. If Rischitelli does go I don't think Tiger and Essendon supporters will be getting a freebie. Time will tell though.