Trade Talk

• Thread starter Thread starter Yoda_

So you pick the worst ruckman on that list because he is young.:rolleyes:

It is based on cost. As I said, I hope we keep our picks, but I'd look at Currie purely on potential. He'd be no worse than a 5th round pick in the draft anyway

So we'd trade a near lock in our best 22 that's actually able to kick the ball for a depth ruckman?

Brad Moran's better than Laycock, not sure what you're getting at there. If Moran's a depth ruckman, by your standards Chook should be delisted at the end of the year no questions asked. I wouldn't be against that either let me tell you.

We've got HF flankers to the max at our club, and losing one for a good/decent second ruckman would be worth it IMO. Not only can Moran go forward and kick goals, during a few matches already this year he has played a bit in the back half of the ground. To be honest, I'm not sure where the love for Monfries comes from each and every week. He is average in the speed & marking departments; The only thing probably going for him is his courage. Besides that, there's not a whole lot to be excited about. And I know PLENTY of people that share the same view, including a few inside the EFC which shall remain uknown.

Do not understand the love for Moran ?

I can't say I love him, but if he came to the club he'd be our second ruckman no questions asked. I like what I have seen from him also in his few games for the Crows. Obviously he would be playing for the Crows on a regular basis if he kept them performances up, but with a new club and a fresh attitude; I think Brad can make the cut and prove to be a handy ruckman elsewhere.

Brad Moran's better than Laycock, not sure what you're getting at there. If Moran's a depth ruckman, by your standards Chook should be delisted at the end of the year no questions asked. I wouldn't be against that either let me tell you.

Hille and Ryder works in my opinion. I don't think we necessarily need another ruckman alongside those two.

I don't think it's clear cut that Moran's ahead of Laycock either. The bloke's never topped 20 hit outs and only jumped the 15 barrier once.

He's definitely not a walk up start.

We've got HF flankers to the max at our club, and losing one for a good/decent second ruckman would be worth it IMO. Not only can Moran go forward and kick goals, during a few matches already this year he has played a bit in the back half of the ground. To be honest, I'm not sure where the love for Monfries comes from each and every week. He is average in the speed & marking departments; The only thing probably going for him is his courage. Besides that, there's not a whole lot to be excited about. And I know PLENTY of people that share the same view, including a few inside the EFC which shall remain uknown.

He's not a star, but he's a guy that can kick, can provide an option up field and can do a job in the forward line. We've got some great attacking weapons down there, but few boast consistency. Angus isn't perfect in that regard either, but he stands out against the rest.

As for your mysterious 'sources', the people that matter voted him 6th in the B&F, so I'd suggest their view counts for about as much as mine.

Of course, conveniently, he had a shocker tonight, but he had plenty of mates.

FFS

We've got 2 ruckmen in front of Paddy. (And he's not going too badly). And 2 behind him, sorta 3 if you include Hooker.
Trade for a 29 yo who hasn't got on the park for 3 years. Why why why. Brad heckin'g Moran, he was NGE for North and NGE for Radelaide, yeah he'll suddenly turn into a gold nugget if he comes to us. Trade for a 19yo spud because they're tall when there's no guarantee they'd be any better than our 4th and 5th in line, and a fair chance they'll be worse. Why why why.

If we need to trade for anyone, it's sure as heck not a ruckman. There is a glaring weakness on the list, it's where we've been creamed in 3 or 4 games this year. But no, it's all fine, we've got 1 tall forward who's played ANY good footy this year, 1 who can't mark, 1 who can't run, and another one who can't stay uninjured. Future's rosy for our KPF! :p

You're all stupid.

I can't say I love him, but if he came to the club he'd be our second ruckman no questions asked. I like what I have seen from him also in his few games for the Crows. Obviously he would be playing for the Crows on a regular basis if he kept them performances up, but with a new club and a fresh attitude; I think Brad can make the cut and prove to be a handy ruckman elsewhere.
LOL

Do you ever sit down, and question exactly what you're saying?

If he could play well regularly he wouldn't be playing 2s.
If he could play well regularly he wouldn't have been traded for a pack of twisties from North
If he could play well regularly he would be worth getting

The point is, he can't play well regularly. He'd be behind Paddy, behind Laycock IMHO and miles, miles behind Hille. He would be 4th pick if you ask me, depending on le Coque's future, in which case he might move up to 3rd pick, unless we went with Bellie who's actually a better tap ruckman.

Would be a fantastic pickup

for Bendigo .

Hille and Ryder works in my opinion. I don't think we necessarily need another ruckman alongside those two.

I don't think it's clear cut that Moran's ahead of Laycock either. The bloke's never topped 20 hit outs...

Angus isn't perfect in that regard either, but he stands out against the rest..

Hille & Ryder seems like a match made in heaven on paper; But I think he would best be used floating on and around the wings without much contact as his body is still quite fragile.

It's not the hitouts that makes Laycock look bad; But they could add to the problem. It's what he does around the ground, dropping simple overhead marks and lumbering around on the wings without a man.

And I might have to agree to disagree with you with regards to Angus, I don't think he stands out at all and think Davey, Lovett, McPhee, etc make him look silly when playing that HF role.

The point is, he can't play well regularly..

The same could've been said about Darren Jolly before he went to Sydney. Look at him now, single handedly rucking for the Swans and doing quite a good job. Different environments suit different people.

We've only got 3 guys who've played the same spot as Angus, that lead-up forward
Welsh, Monfries, McPhee. Davey, Lovett completely different

Completely different? Not really. What can Angus do that Lovett & Davey can't?

The Crows was a fesh club for him where he could have a new attitude.
Lets face it the Crows tall department is not really star quality. They have a couple of really potential stars in Walker and Tippet yet Moran can not get a run in a side that has depth issues in the KP department.
He is on his second chance now and you want to give him a third :confused::thumbsd:
Ordinary player. End of story.

The same could've been said about Darren Jolly before he went to Sydney. Look at him now, single handedly rucking for the Swans and doing quite a good job. Different environments suit different people.
And the VFL or SANFL would suit Moran perfectly. Distinctly average footballer, who's behind Griffin, Tippett and Maric in their pecking order, all of whom are nothing special.

I'm sure I could think of a guy who we need less than Brad Moran
It's just take a while.

All the talk of Ryder being a ruckmen may be true, but where has he predominantly played in his 50 odd games, im pretty sure it has not been in the ruck, and if hille had not gone down injured im pretty sure that he would still be playing down back. Hopefully Hooker shows a bit in his run this year, and if/when he does, i will return to eat my own words. :p

Ryder actually looks much better in the ruck. Looks like he enjoys the game more and he says thats where he wants to play.
He started the year as second ruckman so you can not say that if Hille did not go down he would not be playing ruck. The fact of the matter is he was drafted as a Ruckman/ Forward. Thats where he played all his junior footy. Why the hell would we not want to play him in his best position at some stage ?

He may have played 50 odd games as a defender but he is not a natural defender and he does not have a defenders mindset.

I would agree to an extent with you, if there was no uncomprimised draft looming.

Bellchambers will be ok I think, and when Laycock gets back on the park, we will be ok. It would be nice to have another "class" ruckmen. However none of those you listed are that. We have to stop looking for quick fixes. as quick fixes put us further back.

If a decent ruckmen came out of contract or was up for trade i would be interested, however i still believe that we go to this draft, take the best kid available with the first pick and then get what we need after that. We need another ruckmen, so i assume we will go shopping for one at seasons end. either draft or trade. But most likely draft as picks are worth double this year.

Problem with this is this years draft is not looking great at this stage. Most will see the story in todays SHS. There are not a lot of stand out stars in this draft that have currently been seen. I know from seeing a fair bit of the first 4 rounds in the TAC Cup that the best sdes are made up of a pretty even playing group with no real super stars leading the way.
Having had a look at Tassie over the last couple of weeks their are no Mitch Robinsons in their side this year.
Having seen NT yesterday for the first time i only saw 4 or so kids that i would rate draftable at the lower end.

On a side note a player who was in my prefered rookie draft list last year , Levi Casbolt, dominated the Stinrays v NT game. Last year he played a lot of ruck but at 196cm he was always going to be too short fro ruck at AFL level. I thought he had a good enough leap and was a strong enough mark to make a KP player and yesterdays game he looked really good. Kicked 3 or 4 goals at CHF in the first half and then moved to CHB in the third quarter and took some good grabs and killed most of the contested footy coming in.
On yesterdays game it would have been handing him on the rookie list as another potenitial tall for either end of the ground.

Anyway back to the main topic expect clubs to explore the trade table a bit more this year. It could be a year for finding players in the 22 to 25 age bracket via trades.
Obviously more will be known once the Under 18 champs get under way in late May to early July as generally around 85% to 90% of the top 50 picks are kids who play the Champ series.

He is on his second chance now and you want to give him a third :confused::thumbsd: Ordinary player. End of story.

I would be giving him a chance if we got him relatively cheap, yes. I rate him above Laycock & Bellchambers at present.

I said a few years ago, when Mitch Morton was up for trade, that we should get him, or at least go after him. Now, i feel he is exactly what we need again, and i'm struggling to think of an example of a similar player, but if someone similar becomes available, that is who we should be after.

From a succession plan perspective this is where I see our list:

KPP Defenders - We run deep, with Hurley, Pears, Danaher and Hooker we are strong on potential but lack experience.

Small Defenders - Henry has improved alot this season, i do get stuck into him but he is certainly our number one. I would like to see Atkinson get a game soon and would like for him to play a more lock down role. With T Slattery and Klemke on the list although we are not strong, we are ok.

Running Half Backs - Dempsey, Myers, Nash, Quinn, NLM. Certianly not AFL standard yet apart from Dempsey, I would not perserveer with Nash and hope that Myers can improve.

Outside Mids/Wings/Flankers - I have grouped these running playes together. Winderlich, Stanton, Lovett, Prismall, Dyson, Houli, Reimers, Zaharikis. Not bad depth, it would be nice to add another one or two to the list.

Inside/defensive Mids - Very happy (when fit) Watson, McVeigh, Lonergan, Hocking maybe Skipworth. Very well placed.

Small Forwards - Some concerns here, Davey, Monfries, Jetta. Davey is a beautiful defensive weapon yet doesnt kick enough goals although with a few seasons without injury I hope this comes into his game. Jetts currently doesnt do enough, although I am in the "we look better when he is in the team" sector of the supporters. Monfries actually needs to be 5 inches taller as he plays more like a lead up half forward the big problem with Angus is there is two big a difference b/w his best and worst and he has had enough time in the game to close that gap.

Key Forwards - BIG concern. What has been our biggest weapon for so long is now our achilies heel, with Lucas done, Lloyd in the twighlight, Ryder shouldering more ruck responsibilities and the dissapointmentt of Gumbleton and Neagle (for different reasons) their is only one raw bottom aged option on the list. This leads me to believe we may have to go for another KPP forwrd first pick in the draft.

Ruck - Medium Concern. Hille is a gun but a full ACL is very poor timing at 27, Laycock is very injury prone and inconsistent, Ryder is an enigma, and T-Bell is untried.

Biggest concern is key forward, then outside or inside/outside quality mid and ruck. There are some talented boys but there is a lot of work to do

Ruckmen aren't a concern. what we need is another KPF, because right now I'm not sold on Gumby and Neagle. IMO we could send Gumby back to WA and get someone like Pav, McKinley, Bradley :p, or Notte/Brown/Kennedy/Hansen. to Freo I would try:

Gumby + Dyson + 3rd rounder for Pav + 4th rounder.

to Weagirls:

Gumby + Dyson + Nash for McKinley + Hansen

for the first one, we get a quality KPF/Mid, and a draft pick for two players Freo would be interested in and they get an upgrade slightly.

second one we get a short term and long term player, for one player they would be interested in , and two sweeteners.

You don't actually think either of those trades would even be looked at seriously by the respective teams do you?