Trade Talk

I want us to have enough room to also look at plucking Smith and Sewell from NB before the rookie draft where these two will be gone before we get a look.

We just don't have enough room on the list, at present, to be very aggressive this draft.

I want us to have enough room to also look at plucking Smith and Sewell from NB before the rookie draft where these two will be gone before we get a look.

We just don't have enough room on the list, at present, to be very aggressive this draft.

Benjamin, Jones and Smith have freed up 3 spots. If Rawlings goes onto the Vets List, that's 4. Harding's spot must be under a cloud which would make 5. If we trade out Hale and Urqs, that would give us 7 max.

Personally, I'be happy to keep Urqs and hopefully trade Hale for a pick somewhere inside 30. That would give us 5 picks, with 4 inside 50ish. Not sure what value a pick in the late 60's would be. Could possibly upgrade a rookie or take Sewell.

I'd be in for upgrading Speight to the main list and taking Sewell in his spot on the rookie list.

Benjamin, Jones and Smith have freed up 3 spots. If Rawlings goes onto the Vets List, that's 4. Harding's spot must be under a cloud which would make 5. If we trade out Hale and Urqs, that would give us 7 max.

Personally, I'be happy to keep Urqs and hopefully trade Hale for a pick somewhere inside 30. That would give us 5 picks, with 4 inside 50ish. Not sure what value a pick in the late 60's would be. Could possibly upgrade a rookie or take Sewell.

Rawlings doesn't turn 30 until next year, which I believe doesn't make him eligible. Feel free to correct me on that if that is incorrect.

Not sure about Harding, but age seems to be catching up to him and he had a string of soft tissue injuries late this year, not sure if he will make it or not, don't know his contractual status.

Assuming Gav and Hale do go and accept trades (they are not obliged to) then that gives us 5, 6 if Harding hangs up the boots.

7 would be a good target, especially if we end up getting two good decent picks with trades.

1st pick: Fast, skillful outside mid (1st round)
2nd pick: Fast, skillful outside mid (2nd round, Hale trade)
3rd pick: KPF (2nd round pick)
4th pick: KPF (3rd round pick, Gav trade)
5th pick: Ball magnet midfielder (3rd round)
6th pick: Isaac Smith (4th round)
7th pick: Sewell (5th round)

If we don't trade Gav then 6 would be the magic number. That would still mean two players would need to be cut. We "could" get away with not cutting anyone else and risk trying to get both Smith and Sewell in the rookie draft, although I have doubts they will last long.

Tas, I reckon we would want to be getting pick 26 for Hale to ensure we get I. Smith. No way he will last till our third round pick, maybe even not to 34. No chance for the rookie list.

As for Harding, the reoccurring hamstrings are an issue, especially at his age. Anyone know his current contract situation?

In order to be eligible for classification as a Veteran a player must have been the age of 30 as at September 30 in the relevant AFL season and be on the primary list of the AFL club for at least 10 years or in the case of Port Adelaide since the inception of the club.

http://www.afl.com.au/about/tabid/13532/default.aspx

Since Rawlings turns 30 in June next year, he will be eligible for the vets list in 2011 (he has been on our list 12 years)

In order to be eligible for classification as a Veteran a player must have been the age of 30 as at September 30 in the relevant AFL season and be on the primary list of the AFL club for at least 10 years or in the case of Port Adelaide since the inception of the club.
http://www.afl.com.au/about/tabid/13532/default.aspx

Since Rawlings turns 30 in June next year, he will be eligible for the vets list in 2011 (he has been on our list 12 years)

Bit harsh on the power isn't it? I thought they came in in 97?

Tas, I reckon we would want to be getting pick 26 for Hale to ensure we get I. Smith. No way he will last till our third round pick, maybe even not to 34. No chance for the rookie list.

As for Harding, the reoccurring hamstrings are an issue, especially at his age. Anyone know his current contract situation?

You might be right, I am sure the club will have a better idea where he will go. I just feel the lack of VFL games might prompt clubs to go with him as a rookie.

As for Hale, a lot of debate as to what he will get us. The growing list of clubs interested in him does give us some confidence that we wont be screwed over. Lets just hope the rumours have substance and he doesn't insist on going to club X which will offer us a bag of beans, ie Motlop.

I wonder if the rumours of us moving Gav on have anything to do with us being keen on Smith. He seems to play the role for NB that we wanted Gav to play for us.

I'd be in for upgrading Speight to the main list and taking Sewell in his spot on the rookie list.

Lack of room on the senior list will probably see him remain a rookie for another year I would think. We can elevate a rookie to play as a senior player next year, if his pre-season form is good enough he can still play.

It hasnt escaped my notice that both Hale and Urqs are from Queensland. Perhaps we are looking to tempt GC into parting with a decent pick?

Both Gav & Hales with our pick 34 for GC's pick 15 & 26 would be fair.

Us having 15, 17 & 26 would surely lock in 2 quality young-uns & I Smith with 26.

Gav for Vez word strengthening recently.

How strong SLF?

I personally don't see us making a play for him, and if we did Brad would have to tinker with his attitude.
Veszpremi throughout the under 18's championships played off a half-back flank and also for the Knights, he played as a half-back. Could then switch forward and kick 6 goals. Possibly more versatile than Gav.

Sorry for a silly question, but who is that I Smith bloke that everyone is talking about here? I take it, he plays for NB, but how old, how many VFL games roughly, etc. I haven't heard his name at all prior to now. What's his drafting history? Did he miss out on a draft, which year and why?

Issac Smith, 21 yo from country NSW down in Ballarat for Uni I believe. Was playing footy for Redden in the local league before NB added him to their list late in the season for a handful of games, maybe 7 all up?

Some excellent performances has brought him to the attention of many. 190 cm, skinny, fit and super quick with a raking left boot. Think Gary Rohan. Looks like he has plenty of development left in him.

Not sure why he has been out of the system EH, but in reality there are probably more like him out there that had other priorities as a teenager than footy or who grew up in areas without the structure to support them.

Issac Smith, 21 yo from country NSW down in Ballarat for Uni I believe. Was playing footy for Redden in the local league before NB added him to their list late in the season for a handful of games, maybe 7 all up?

Some excellent performances has brought him to the attention of many. 190 cm, skinny, fit and super quick with a raking left boot. Think Gary Rohan. Looks like he has plenty of development left in him.

Not sure why he has been out of the system EH, but in reality there are probably more like him out there that had other priorities as a teenager than footy or who grew up in areas without the structure to support them.

Its seems I am a very good eye for talent. I didn't realise that Isaac Smith was the same player from Redan! I watched a game between Darley and Redan at the start of this year and I said to my mate that that Smith fella from Redan should definately be playing at a higher level he looked 2-3 levels above in the BFL. I had an inkling that the Isacc Smith from The roosters was the same bloke! Id be going after him with a late pick, I mean even though he has burst onto the scene he hasn't exactly been around for a long time.

Might not be around at a late pick.....could go early 20-30's me thinks.