News Trade thread for one score and four Lincoln McCarthy (picks 42 & 60 for Lincoln McCarthy, 54 & 57)

Glad we gave Walker another year seeing Lincoln had a few chats with him about life at the lions.
Lucky not chasing a blues player and they call Bell up :)

Glad we gave Walker another year seeing Lincoln had a few chats with him about life at the lions.
Lucky not chasing a blues player and they call Bell up :)
Given the exit interview Nobes gave Bell, he should be all positive about the club. Not as if we didn't give him a decent chance.

I reckon the good vibe the way we handled the exits will have a positive impact on blokes both thinking about trading to here, and draftees. To know that even if it does not go according to plan there is respect and support is important, IMO>

I just hope he plays really well next year so we can see a “Lincoln McCarthy - the one that got away” thread on the main board.
I think l read somewhere that this is his 1st offseasons where he isn't injured in any way. Having a proper off season is going to be so crucial to him

Welcome Linc (and Lachie)

Great foresight.

Welcome to the club Lincoln, may you have a injury free time here!

Mentioning the word injury in the same breath as Lincoln = "Don't mention the war"

I cringe when they ask new players what they think of the facilities.

Me too. PLEEEEAASE DROP THAT QUESTION. Judging by his first interview for the fans ("They were interested in me"), an up front and honest bloke like Lincoln may well have said, " Yeah Nah. they're pretty shit really aren't they? But hey, that's really not the most important thing, it's the people etc. etc." Better to ask "Do you surf/like the ocean?", "Do you play golf?", "Do you like camping/ fishing/ 4 Wheel Driving?" Judging by his calves, "Do you like mountain climbing/rain forest trekking?" etc. etc. These types of things are a huge part of what would make the Lions a destination/ balanced healthy lifestyle/ wholesome family Club. In essence, play to your strengths. We have them in spades in SE Qld.

I think l read somewhere that this is his 1st off seasons where he isn't injured in any way. Having a proper off season is going to be so crucial to him

He basically said that in his first fan interview and that he ended the last part of the year stringing games together.

This guy has the potential to be just as big a boost as his friend Lachie Neale. He is an A Grade Talented Footballer.

A big thanks to the kind Freo supporter who posted the links to Lachie's managers interviews which are on the Freo board. This was the most insightful piece i have read on football in my life. When Tim the Manager was asked who the best player he has had anything to do with, he mentioned four players.

Here is how he spoke of one of the four. "Lincoln McCarthy (Geelong) - Seriously talented. Explosive, skilled, hard. He has had some horrible injuries including the re-occurrence of a nevicular stress fracture for the 2nd time in 3 years but if you ask any player (including Lachie) they will tell you he is the most freakish player they have seen."

"Don't mention the war".

Warm climate, salt water this guy has a great chance of blossoming at the Lions. His confidence must have taken an awful hammering, so how about we pump him up and see him at his best as a Lion :D Remember Chris Scott was considering him for finals selection a couple of months ago :)

edit: Ps: His other injuries have been bad luck from coming back too early or just normal run of the mill footy injuries. Reckon he'll be ok.
Pps: "Don't mention the war".

No doubt when he was fit Scott definitely wanted to play him. Hopefully we get the chance.

Nobel said, in his latest podcast on the Lion's website, that he'll be doing some core strength training first (Pilates) and they want him in Round 1 :D
Plenty of pressure for spots, very healthy indeed.

Surprised to see Jordan Murdoch delisted, you would think he would find another home.

News Trade thread for one score and four Lincoln McCarthy (picks 42 & 60 for Lincoln McCarthy, 54 & 57)