List Mgmt. Trade Week 2016 - Live Thread

GWS have dumped a fair few players over the past years, and they turn them into high draft picks. I'm starting to wonder how long they can keep the cycle going on for.

2012 - Hombsch (free) into 2nd Round pick
2013 - Tyson (pick 3 2011) into pick 3
2014 - O'Rourke (pick 2 2012), Jaksch (pick 12 2012), Whiley (free) into pick 7.
2014 - Frost (pick 1 2012 rookie) plus unused picks into 2nd round pick.
2014 - Boyd (pick 1 2013) into Griffen and pick 6
2015 - Plowman (pick 2 2012) plus others into 2nd round pick
2015 - Treloar (free) into pick 7 and pick 7 2016

2016 - ?? McCarthy plus 7 for 3 ??

That was last year.

So far this year players that want to move clubs.

Bryce Gibbs (paying a lot for a 28 years old who's going home - have to pay him millions!!)
Tom Mitchell (Would like him)
JOM (I'm scared by his knees given what it'd take to get him given he wants to go to Vic for his GF)
Prestia (A bull, but a fairly average player really especially for what it'd cost - also wants to go home to Vic)
Hamish Hartlett (Soft tissues injuries are his best friend, cost a lot for the risk, he's good, not great)
Daniel Wells (old as F)
Brett Deledio (Possible) (paying a lot for a 30 year old)
Rockliff (Possible) (doubt he's leaving)

Now it is of course very likely we have enquired about all of them, All midfielders, all walk up starts in our Midfield. But are we so secretive not even the trade people know we made contact with these guys? Maybe all of them we would have to pay overs to get them but so what, we pay plenty overs for many of our players now.
Obviously they don't want to come to Perth, but money can do funny things. If a player is something you desperately need as we do then you go after them with everything.
Will wait for tomorrow to see us hopefully cast a line in.

Yes, they'd all improve our list now, but at what cost?
Both from our salary cap and our draft/trade perspective.
Would you be happy to pay Gibbs $800k a year (what it'd take to turn him to us), but then Duggan decides to go home in a year or 2 because he can get more money as our salary is tied up with Gibbs?

Plus we would have to likely give up pick 12 (perhaps with a player) to get him across.

I think most of the guys you've picked out have reason for trade (going home/personal reasons).

Be patient, the trade period is far from over and just because nothing has come out publically doesn't mean stuff isn't going on behind closed doors.

The Redden deal came out of left field last year, who knows what might get thrown up over the next 2 weeks.

Redden let it be know at the end of 2015 footy season that he wanted to join the Eagles,hardly came from left field.

I didn't want pickett but ffs this is becoming beyond a joke. There is about as much integrity in relation to having a fair competition as there was equity in dick smith. TBH if i didnt love the eagles i would have given up on this joke of a competition years ago.

The afl only wants things to be seen to be fair upon a very casual glance. But **** it as long as clubs fit into the basic points of the salary cap and they are willing to sign off on whatever the afls rule of the week is then well, **** it. As long as the nsw and victorian clubs get their fair share then **** the rest.

Yes, they'd all improve our list now, but at what cost?
Both from our salary cap and our draft/trade perspective.
Would you be happy to pay Gibbs $800k a year (what it'd take to turn him to us), but then Duggan decides to go home in a year or 2 because he can get more money as our salary is tied up with Gibbs?

Plus we would have to likely give up pick 12 (perhaps with a player) to get him across.

I think most of the guys you've picked out have reason for trade (going home/personal reasons).

If I was coach and I believed my window was open then getting in Gibbs and losing Duggan in a couple of years is a no brainer. Would you not be getting Gibbs to play good solid footy for 5 years? What guarantee you have of Duggan ever being able to do that?
Ultimately it is where you see yourself, if you believe our window is not open then you go to the draft. After playing in a GF and following up with 16 wins is not in a window then I don't know what is.
Just my opinion mate.

Shame about pickett. Was keen on giving him a go. How come none of these West aussies want to come home? (Mitchell o meara pickett I'm looking at you)
Mitchell was only here for a couple of years while his dad was an assistant at Freo. Don't know that he'd have any family left here.

Shame about pickett. Was keen on giving him a go. How come none of these West aussies want to come home? (Mitchell o meara pickett I'm looking at you)

Everyone keeps saying its the travel factor but like you I am starting to wonder, maybe we are just not an attractive club from the outside.
There would be heaps of factors but I think one of them is that we are not seen as winners. But that is just my view.

List Mgmt. Trade Week 2016 - Live Thread