News Trade Week Thread.

Re: Stop sooking you sookie la la's

Get a grip, I sick of all the sooking on this board.
Wah Wah Wah I want my mummy.

I say this because I read this thread a lot and it's been too negative lately.
First I want to say is that we did good in trade week.
Because this year where we finished, we would of got rip off anyway.
McKinley for pick 86 is your example.

We have a young list- the youngest so have some patients and wait to we climb at least to 9th or there about's and then lets do some trade's. We will stooge them when our teams value rises.:) trust me that's the smart thing to do.

Like what Woosha said toughen up princesses.

Freudian ...?

Spangher has made his own bed to be honest. WC may give him a lifeline but he hasn't shown loyalty so it's a tricky one. If he did become the "dominant" player that I think he can - he'd probably do a tarrant and leave via the new free agency rules.

Players need to be listed for 8 seasons at the 1 club before being eligible for free agency.

Well I admit I am confused at some of the reasoning behind our decisions lately and without the very learned people in here ( who I think sometimes find logic where there is none ) I would be totally clueless...thanks.

Having said that I think its about time Worstfold actually did the right thing by the supporters of this club and actually explain publicly his reasoning behind some of the startling decisions he has made and in the process stop/slow the now constant criticizing of his moves.

That smug smile and constant lying coming from his mouth when ever he is being interviewed by the mainstream media does nothing but make me think he is totally and utterly clueless.

What startling decisions are you referring to?

Just because some flogs on BF are too ignorant to understand some of the club's moves, doesn't mean the club needs to come out and explain what they are doing. There have been some bad moves recently, Hansen, Bones, Lynch et al currently being under contract is a good example. However, these hardly require the club to come out and explain. It is just straight up poor list management.

For trade week our coach and footy manager were on holiday and our recruiting manager stayed in Perth.

Completely pathetic the lip service West Coast paid trade week. Compare it to Freo who picked up 3 players that will play next year (including one under our noses in Mzungu) and it is bordering on incompetent.

For trade week our coach and footy manager were on holiday and our recruiting manager stayed in Perth.

Completely pathetic the lip service West Coast paid trade week. Compare it to Freo who picked up 3 players that will play next year (including one under our noses in Mzungu) and it is bordering on incompetent.
What list space did you want them to trade with?

I wish people would stop this knee-jerk "We didn't trade much=bad". Look at all the trading Brisbane did last year and look what it's done to that club.

How many players have freo delisted/traded out though?

I wish people would stop this knee-jerk "We didn't trade much=bad". Look at all the trading Brisbane did last year and look what it's done to that club.
We're only using 4 picks in the ND, surely Mzungu at least could have been chased. Plus players can be traded for players, I still find it unbelievable none of our coach, footy manager or recruiting manager were even at trade week.

Who did we send?

Six.

We lost McKinley, Wilkes and Notte off the main list plus 2 rookies. We will lose Spangher and should have lost Hansen.

3 rookies including Stevenson, who looks gone now unfortunately.

I still expect Hansen to go prior to the PSD. If not him then Nico or Bones.

That'd make 8 changes. Probably about the right number, not too much of an overreaction. Not the right eight players though.

Freo will make more changes. Murphy, O'Brien and Dodd will all go as a minimum.

Six.

We lost McKinley, Wilkes and Notte off the main list plus 2 rookies. We will lose Spangher and should have lost Hansen.

They've also upgraded 4 rookies, so will probably delist another 3-4 players prior to the draft. Fortunately they have players like Murphy, Dodd, Hinkley, O'Brien etc all out of contract.

I think you'll find that Woosh and the 2 Woodies were there - Steve Lavell or one of those guys announced their arrival, so I don't know where you got that idea.

It wouldn't forgive the club if we lost Stevenson because we had to retain Nicoski, Hansen or Bones.

It just doesn't make sense. They can't be that stupid. Which leads me to believe that hansen might retire prior to the first list lodgement.

I will be severly pissed if this doesn't happen. I will write to the club in advance to express my concerns.

Worsfold was in Broome from about halfway through last week and I think he has now left. Several of the players were up here for Beau Waters wedding - saw Embley at the airport last night.

I'm sure if anything important came up he was contactable and I doubt he would usually be involved in the nuts and bolts of any trade.

It wouldn't forgive the club if we lost Stevenson because we had to retain Nicoski, Hansen or Bones.

It just doesn't make sense. They can't be that stupid. Which leads me to believe that hansen might retire prior to the first list lodgement.

I will be severly pissed if this doesn't happen. I will write to the club in advance to express my concerns.

Despite all the huff, Stevenson is merely an average player. I'm not disappointed in the slightest if we lose him.

Other three ditto. But they have contracts.

Despite all the huff, Stevenson is merely an average player. I'm not disappointed in the slightest if we lose him.

That's a bit harsh.
Stevenson can play in a position that we are short in (wing), has attributes that we sorely lack (disposal, run and carry) and is young.
Would much rather get rid of someone like Mcginnity.

The other 3 have no scope for improvement and will only get worse. Stevenson has the potential to be a really good player. There is no possible way those 3 offer more valuable now or in the future than stevenson could.

I gave our club a little credit and were hoping they were gonna sort out some stuff during trade week with pick upgrades etc.
We should of delisted mckinley instead of trade him for something we wont use. All we did is strenghten the opposition.

Well I would like to add that you have to remember we did only win 4 games this season and got the wooden spoon. If we were to just sit back and coast like nothing was wrong and nothing changes how the heck do you think we can pick ourself up off the canvas ?

Bedford, Notte, Hansen, Jones, McKinley and other debacles indicate something is actually amiss and requires redress Larri and to sit back and act like everything is good and all we have to do is wait will get us 30 years of failure like other non innovating teams.

Well I would like to add that you have to remember we did only win 4 games this season and got the wooden spoon. If we were to just sit back and coast like nothing was wrong and nothing changes how the heck do you think we can pick ourself up off the canvas ?

Bedford, Notte, Hansen, Jones, McKinley and other debacles indicate something is actually amiss and requires redress Larri and to sit back and act like everything is good and all we have to do is wait will get us 30 years of failure like other non innovating teams.

Bed ford was a rookie - what did we lose
Notte was a development project - that did work so that a fail but we new the risk
Hansen was a premiership player and a great clubman he was inquired about last year but did not want to go - believed to be retiring
Jones -i hope you mean brett Jones - has been a very good player for the club not sure if he is under contract but if he isn't he could make way for stevenson.

Our list is not finalised yet - I can't wait for next year when every body starts eating there words

We should of delisted mckinley instead of trade him for something we wont use. All we did is strenghten the opposition.

How is it any different? They could have drafted McKinley at pick 86 and been in the exact same position.

Better to not be complete pricks and let a bloke who wasn't getting a regular game and who would have been delisted to the club of his choice. No skin off our noses.

Bit harsh to say we're not innovators. We were the first club (with the Dogs) to trade picks for picks, when we traded two picks in the 30s for pick 22 and picked up Scooter. We were the only club this year to trade solely a pick we won't use for a compo pick we will use in the future.

I don't know what other innovations you'd like us to have made this year, but if they involve trading for middle-of-the-road players (which was all that was available) then I'll direct your attention to the 2001 season.

How is it any different? They could have drafted McKinley at pick 86 and been in the exact same position.

Better to not be complete pricks and let a bloke who wasn't getting a regular game and who would have been delisted to the club of his choice. No skin off our noses.

Bit harsh to say we're not innovators. We were the first club (with the Dogs) to trade picks for picks, when we traded two picks in the 30s for pick 22 and picked up Scooter. We were the only club this year to trade solely a pick we won't use for a compo pick we will use in the future.

I don't know what other innovations you'd like us to have made this year, but if they involve trading for middle-of-the-road players (which was all that was available) then I'll direct your attention to the 2001 season.

Mcinley would of gone before pick 80. but i guess it doesnt matter to much beacause we are only going to use our top 3 picks.

Maybe some innovation involving pick upgrades or something anything we could actually use for spangher and mckinley.

By the way since spangher isnt being traded does that mean that he's going to stay? That would make me happy reckon he's still got great potential

Don't think anyone is denying that we are in the shit and that our list needs work. But trade week isn't necessarily the best place to redress those problems - most of our players are under contract so we can't delist them without paying out their contracts and the ones we'd like to trade (Hansen, Nicoski, Bones) have no currency. Trading for players from other clubs would have taken spots for players we could pick up in the draft that would offer greater long term value provided we use them correctly.

Our problems were never going to be solved during trade week so I don't know why anybody would be up in arms over us having a quiet trade week