Training 23.01.08

• Thread starter Thread starter -CG-

For those who have been to trainings over the last few years - Is the emphasis on match simulations something new this season?

I remember hearing over the last few years that our preseasons had introduced skill work a lot earlier as opposed to pure running/fitness, but it seems from all of CrowGirl's reports (Cheers, and thanks again by the way :thumbsu:) that there's a been a shift in that direction.

As far as I noticed they used to have just conditioning before Xmas and match simulations after. Not sure if that is the case this season though.

Spoke to Mossy the other night, He said he is Stuffed, He made comment that he had never done a preseason before now its full on! He said he hopes he shows enough this year to get a seccond year, Because he is loving it, and wants to improve! Yes he said it is a bit hard to fit in, But the lads have been good!

Spoke to Mossy the other night, He said he is Stuffed, He made comment that he had never done a preseason before now its full on! He said he hopes he shows enough this year to get a seccond year, Because he is loving it, and wants to improve!
Yes he said it is a bit hard to fit in, But the lads have been good!

Thanks for that. :thumbsu:

Makes sense when you think he's been a star in country football while only operating in cruise mode.

He obviously has a heap of talent and it sounds like he has the right attitude.

Let's hope that he not only gets another year but that he's good enough to have a career at AFL level. :thumbsu:

Thanks CG, it's gonna suck when you go back to school. Who's gonna do training reports??

I nominate Nikki.

Pity about this pesky job I have where I have to be at work by 9am :p

I would love to not have to go to work and be able to watch training whenever, but it ain't gonna happen...

:DI am really enjoying your posts. thanks for all of the insights, especially the stuff about the new boys.:thumbsu:

How are last year's crew going? - Sellar, Tippet and McKay?

All three of the players you mentioned are coming along nicely at training. Sellar and Tippett are both quite strong and have been mainly working in the forward line. Sellar comes across as always trying to improve his game and is often in the last bunch of players back to the rooms. Mackay is working through the midfield and still has a light frame, think Douglas last year. I reckon he'll get a good amount of game time in our pre season games and should be able to score some games durnig the season as well.

Thanks CG, it's gonna suck when you go back to school. Who's gonna do training reports??

I nominate Nikki.

As the resident slacker, i could probably go to sleep two hours later, and stay up to watch training.

Still, no matching C-G's commitment and quality. Hell, i dont even own a camera.

All three of the players you mentioned are coming along nicely at training. Sellar and Tippett are both quite strong and have been mainly working in the forward line. Sellar comes across as always trying to improve his game and is often in the last bunch of players back to the rooms. Mackay is working through the midfield and still has a light frame, think Douglas last year. I reckon he'll get a good amount of game time in our pre season games and should be able to score some games durnig the season as well.

This is really excellent to hear, but I am interested to hear- what is the consensus- was last year just a frustration because of injuries, or was it attitude, and if so, was the sacking of Pfieffer the wake up call that Jimmy needed to realise hey mate, if you dont work for this your gone.

If it is the latter, and Jimmy now reaches the heights that we all believe he can, then is Pfieffers sacking one of the key turning points in this clubs history?

Drummond probably best you dont get involved in this one

That should be a nice little debate

This is really excellent to hear, but I am interested to hear- what is the consensus- was last year just a frustration because of injuries, or was it attitude, and if so, was the sacking of Pfieffer the wake up call that Jimmy needed to realise hey mate, if you dont work for this your gone.

If it is the latter, and Jimmy now reaches the heights that we all believe he can, then is Pfieffers sacking one of the key turning points in this clubs history?

Drummond probably best you dont get involved in this one

That should be a nice little debate

I'm going to go with yes.

Haha, nice work.

Well, look, if the sacking of Pfeiffer served as a wake up call for Sellar then it would have been more than worth it.

While Pfieffer may still be a good AFL player, if they both reached their full potential id rather have Sellar, so if this can be the spark for him itll be sunny days.

Another kudos C*G :thumbsu:

I am glad Sellar is performing well, but wake up call? I originally thought na, he would know his place, know what is expected. However Pfeiffer was playing regular senior footy (unlike Sellar), so it could be a minor jolt?

More likely though he has grown into the role as an AFL player, grown more mature and confident in himself. As such he may be less timid to express himself and more open to help.

Every new season brings new optimism and new hope. I just hope his attitude does'nt wane when he has a bad game or two.

Another kudos C*G :thumbsu:

I am glad Sellar is performing well, but wake up call? I originally thought na, he would know his place, know what is expected. However Pfeiffer was playing regular senior footy (unlike Sellar), so it could be a minor jolt?

More likely though he has grown into the role as an AFL player, grown more mature and confident in himself. As such he may be less timid to express himself and more open to help.

Every new season brings new optimism and new hope. I just hope his attitude does'nt wane when he has a bad game or two.

Or possibly he's just fit and not injured for the first time in 12 months...plus he's 18 instead of 17.

I think your more on the money here, chatted to a friend of pfeiffers the other day, whilst apparently a nice bloke, he liked to party. So whilst his dropping may have served as a wake up call to all the youngsters, I don't think it necessarily had a major bearing on Sellars current situation. Just looking at his body now, it is clear that Sellar has put a lot of work in, work that parhaps he previously couldn't do due to injury and prior to being drafted, volleyball committments. By all reports though he is in good shape, so I'm happy.

Crow girl im interested to hear your opinion on what our midfield will look like, i'm trying to work out if the players in the fluro jumpers are going to be taggers, or permanent mid-field prospects....what are your thoguhts, it seems like the jumper rotates through VB, Douglas, Vince & Knights....Obviously you would expect to have goody and thompson in there and VB...who else do you think will make up our midfield and who will have a spot on the wings...where do players such as reilly Knights Douglas Vince Mackay and even a shirley fit into our midfield combination.....Your thoughts would be much appreciated!!

I nominate Nikki.
I think CG should leave school to be the official training correspondent on Big Footy. I see no down side.

Crow girl im interested to hear your opinion on what our midfield will look like, i'm trying to work out if the players in the fluro jumpers are going to be taggers, or permanent mid-field prospects....what are your thoguhts, it seems like the jumper rotates through VB, Douglas, Vince & Knights....Obviously you would expect to have goody and thompson in there and VB...who else do you think will make up our midfield and who will have a spot on the wings...where do players such as reilly Knights Douglas Vince Mackay and even a shirley fit into our midfield combination.....Your thoughts would be much appreciated!!

I think there will be a push for youth in our midfield this year. Goodwin, McLeod, Edwards and even Thompson are all being rotated through the forward line, so expect to see more of van Berlo, Knights, Douglas, Vince and Porplyzia in the midfield. I'd rate David Mackay an outside chance too. On the wings, well I think Brad Symes will definitely get a crack there. I gather that Shirley will remain our number 1 tagger this year, but other players will continue to devlop into a tagger role (eg van Berlo).

Oh and training is at the Uni Grounds on Monday, so not much point in me going then.