Training 3rd December

i went down yesterday and i am going to comment on the things that stood out to me, nothing else:

- you will not recognise 'joe anderson'. If you got down you will see this guy who has short hair, dark skin, massive and ripped, and you will say who the f*** is that, well its joe anderson. I will go as far as saying the best built player at carlton. has the body of a premium top line athlete. good on him.

- fev pumped it hard just doing 200's.

- judd is a machine. runs it hard.

- bentick is in real good nick. Really defined. Good on him.

- jamison has put on size, although he will never be a monster. he is really QUICK, which is what you want from backmen,to have that closing speed.

- MARC MURPHY = trains the house down, stands out like dogs balls. he and stevens skills really shone, in the wet espescially.

i'm guessing Judd would probably be the quickest player at carlton now
When fully fit he may well be, but I think at training with the sprints Hampson was the fastest...........Anderson also in the rehab group IIRC.

Faster than Eddie and Benji?

Not bad.

Anyone who witnessed his pursuit vs Roos after he turned over his first kick would not find it hard to believe. He is a super athlete, and when his skills develop a bit more he will be a very difficult match up for opposition sides.

I heard wayne hughes on sen the other night saying that shaun hampson is the quicker player at carlton, can anybody tell me if i heard right, seems hard to believe.

definately the fastest over 20 & 40mtrs, but Juddy is yet to be tested.

100mtr different issue. Benji would have him covered.

MS3, did you notice David Ellard (177cm smalll forward/mid), one of the kids training with us.....if so how did he go??

Cheers.

Thanks to all of you who did these great reports. It's very hard for me to get to training.......y'know, having to spend so much time on BF it's hard to get outside sometimes.:p

Any word on Grigg? He's one that seems to have slipped under the radar a bit from last year. For a top 20 pick and from what he showed towards the end of the year I'd expect him to be pushing hard to step up, but with the way we have recruited his spot will not be easy to keep.

Grigga is going along nicely. He will be another one that will improve massively next year. His body shape has grown a fair bit and he doesn't seem to have lost any of his pace. He will get us the footy plenty of times during a game it just that my only concern ATM is his kicking. Most of them come out well, its just that he seems to struggle when under pressure. I guess another year or 2 under his belt will help this. Other than that there is not much more to report on.

Looking for big things from GRIGGA

Grigga is going along nicely. He will be another one that will improve massively next year. His body shape has grown a fair bit and he doesn't seem to have lost any of his pace. He will get us the footy plenty of times during a game it just that my only concern ATM is his kicking. Most of them come out well, its just that he seems to struggle when under pressure. I guess another year or 2 under his belt will help this. Other than that there is not much more to report on.

Looking for big things from GRIGGA
Cheers Shmurf.

That is a concern given the "pressure" is only training pressure and not AFL match pressure........I hope he is one that really kicks on and develops.........but look like he may take a bit more time than we thought.

Cheers Shmurf.

That is a concern given the "pressure" is only training pressure and not AFL match pressure........I hope he is one that really kicks on and develops.........but look like he may take a bit more time than we thought.

Bluebear, dont worry about the pressure being shown at training. The boys are going at it 100%. I couldnt see who the players were as they were on the other side of the ground, but there was one instance where if that particular player had of connected it would have been 6 weeks with head high contact. The boys are not leaving anything back, so Grigga should be getting more and more accostomed to the pressure side of things

MS3, did you notice David Ellard (177cm smalll forward/mid), one of the kids training with us.....if so how did he go??

Cheers.

Gilly at the time i was there i did notice a player of his size. I wasnt sure who he was, so it must have been Ellard. I can remember saying to some1 that he reminds me a lot of Young who we just delisted. I dont think that there is enough room on our list to have another Eddie Betts style player & albiet training only, there was nothing really speacial that he did to make me excited... hope that helps

Thanks mate :thumbsu:. I'm not so convinced that there isn't room on our list for another proven small forward/goal kicker, esp. on the rookie list. From what I can gather Ellard spent a lot of time playing in the midfield for Swan Districts in the Colts (and was a prolific ball-winner), and what kept him hidden in the FP/HFF in the WA u18 side was simply the strength of their midfield. Having said that the only thing going against him at AFL level is his height, so I see him essentially playing the Eddie Betts role at AFL level.

I see what your saying Gilly, but i would take more of a punt on Hill then Ellard.

I would think that Houlihan would be spending more time in the forward line next year than previous years as we now have players capable of going with the smaller type forwards i.e. Anderson, Armfield, Browne etc. Therefore having Eddie, Houlihan and possibly Ellard vying for a similar position is a waste of space on the list. Eddie >>> Ellard and who potentially could Ellard be better than with our onball list Judd, Stevens, Walker, Grigg, Murphy, Gibbs, Carrazzo, Scotland, Simpson, Russell, Betts (with his new endurance levels will be spending a lot more time in there) Bentick, Hadley, Browne, Anderson

CAIN bloody HACKLAND, WHAT A COMPLETE EMBARRASMENT to the CARLTON GURNSEY. At the beginning of the drills the boys had to do a handball drill with pressure from 3 guys with bags. It was time for Hackland to get his hands on the bags and put some pressure on the ball carrier. My god he looked like someone not wanting to get a bruise. He is by far the biggest sized bloke in our team and has the smallest pea sized heart i have ever seen. Then to make me cringe even more the next drill was lane kicking, he just stood at the back of the pack, hardly interested and kicking torpedo shots at goal. Totally individual and random, until he realised that he should be doing something and went over to the recover group who were standing out in front of Matty Lappin taking catches with a soaking went ball. He told Lappin to move out of the way and get into the catching group so he could kick the ball to them. Lappin looked at him like "mate im the fn coach here, who the fk to you think you are"… I felt almost embarrassed as a supporter that Chris Judd has to work with him throughout the year. I bloody hope not but anyhow our real ruckman are still to very young ATM. oh and then to add more salt to the wound when it came time to running 150mtr sprints (with Fev, who has only been running for 1 week and a half since the end of the season) he was consistently 3-5 metres behind. Sorry about that but i had to let out my frustration on a bloke who totally irritates me.
I concur.

I missed seeing Cain push Lappin aside, but Ackland was drilling the heavy rain soaked ball as hard as he could and acting like a dick IMO. Judd pulled his hand away from marking one pass and looked at his fingers to see if they were jarred or bent back.

Ackland is a **** and looks like he doesn't belong. ;)
- you will not recognise 'joe anderson'. If you got down you will see this guy who has short hair, dark skin, massive and ripped, and you will say who the f*** is that, well its joe anderson. I will go as far as saying the best built player at carlton. has the body of a premium top line athlete. good on him.
Spot on. :thumbsu:

78140272pg7.jpg

I had no idea that was Anderson because I forgot he was in the injury group and I didn't recognise him the shorter hair. :D :eek:

All of the players look cut, but Bentick's body shaped has changed and he also looked cut.

I see what your saying Gilly, but i would take more of a punt on Hill then Ellard.

I would think that Houlihan would be spending more time in the forward line next year than previous years as we now have players capable of going with the smaller type forwards i.e. Anderson, Armfield, Browne etc. Therefore having Eddie, Houlihan and possibly Ellard vying for a similar position is a waste of space on the list. Eddie >>> Ellard and who potentially could Ellard be better than with our onball list Judd, Stevens, Walker, Grigg, Murphy, Gibbs, Carrazzo, Scotland, Simpson, Russell, Betts (with his new endurance levels will be spending a lot more time in there) Bentick, Hadley, Browne, Anderson

I like HIll too.....given that Ninthmond has scared any senior player of talent out of the PSD i would think we would be able to nab one in the PSD and one in the rookie draft :thumbsu:

I would think that Houlihan would be spending more time in the forward line next year than previous years as we now have players capable of going with the smaller type forwards
i.e. Anderson, Armfield, Browne etc. Therefore having Eddie, Houlihan and possibly Ellard vying for a similar position is a waste of space on the list. Eddie >>> Ellard and who potentially could Ellard be better than with our onball list Judd, Stevens, Walker, Grigg, Murphy, Gibbs, Carrazzo, Scotland, Simpson, Russell, Betts (with his new endurance levels will be spending a lot more time in there) Bentick, Hadley, Browne, Anderson

Where has Houlihan been training? When I went to training a few weeks back he was in the backline group and when it came time for the KP playersto practise spoiling and punching through the goals, I lost track of him and he wasn't there.

A bit at both ends, which is understandable and logical. I would think that at the start of the year he may begin in the backline but as the year wears on we will find him spending most of his time in the forward line and in the midfield

The drill seemed to focus on a/ winning the ball and moving it via a couple of handpasses until someone could seperate and kick and b/ mainainting structure on the defensive side of the stoppage to stop easy clearances.

Love reading this. Remember when Hawthorn smashed us this year, all they kept doing at clearances was getting the ball out t blokes waiting behind the pack, who would then run into space. They were murdering us, we had no structure at all at our clearances

A bit at both ends, which is understandable and logical. I would think that at the start of the year he may begin in the backline but as the year wears on we will find him spending most of his time in the forward line and in the midfield

That sounds great to me, I hope you're right. His stint in the backline could prove a good thing in the end. If he does end up Hf line, he may take the oppositions best rebounder, like he did with McLeod this season. He's pretty underrated as a negating forward.

Cheers.

Gilly I reckon he may have been in that forward/back drill I desribed along with the taller left footer.

The problem was that that Fish,Edwards and Betts were getting so much space that nearly all the ball was going through them and the others didnt really get too much of a look in.

Training 3rd December