Training 8/12

looked pretty serious to me. Mcginnity got up, shrugged with a big WTF. Davis also had the altercation with selwood, and priddis a coupld of weeks back. Looks really knackered in training, even half way through the session.
Sounds like he must be very frustrated. Lacking fitness for some reason as well as being relegated, if you will, to the rookie list. Having everything to prove but not being able to keep pace would piss you off a bit, I guess his tackling and aggression is the only way to exert any presence at training.

Hope he pulls through this little patch.

not much to say that hasn't already been said. Hurn did a great tackle on pridda. He came at priddis, who gave him a big don't argue, but much like kerr on gherig, he just charged back at him and took him down. Broke a few tackles, including one passage where he broke 3 tackles in a pack and got free, much to coxy's approval.
Wirra was practising torps, yay.
Hurn and lynch kicked some absolute monster goals from 55+.

How about this for a pre season internal warm up game.
I tried to even it out a bit

FB: Waters, Glass, A.Selwood
FF: Wirrapanda, Brown, Shuey

HB: Schofield, Wilkes, Scooter
HF: Notte, Kennedy, Houlihan

C: Staker, Stenglein, Rosa
C: Swift, McNamara, Hurn

HF: McKinley, Hansen, Ebert
HB: Bones, Spangher, Embley

FF: Wilson , Lynch, LeCras
FB: Nicoski, McKenzie, Jojo

RR: Cox, Masten, Butler
RR: Seaby, Kerr, Priddis

INT: Sullivan, Smith, Stevenson, RLP
INT: Naitanui, McGinnity, Arrowsmith, RLP

How about this for a pre season internal warm up game.
I tried to even it out a bit

FB: Waters, Glass, A.Selwood
FF: Wirrapanda, Brown, Shuey

HB: Schofield, Wilkes, Scooter
HF: Notte, Kennedy, Houlihan

C: Staker, Stenglein, Rosa
C: Swift, McNamara, Hurn

HF: McKinley, Hansen, Ebert
HB: Bones, Spangher, Embley

FF: Wilson , Lynch, LeCras
FB: Nicoski, McKenzie, Jojo

RR: Cox, Masten, Butler
RR: Seaby, Kerr, Priddis

INT: Sullivan, Smith, Stevenson, RLP
INT: Naitanui, McGinnity, Arrowsmith, RLP
Good Stuff :thumbsu:
swap JoJo and nicoski, and it would be a good contest all around.
I reckon Brown and Glass would be very good, as it would teach brown how to use his body up against one of the best in the business at it in glass. Such body work is needed to take advantage of his huge frame and make him a class FF. But then again, the jury is still out on whether he will be developed as a FF, CHF, CHB or FB.

Hmmm... the Davis incident sounds abit odd. If it's frustration, hopefully he can pull through it.

He's just a real hard competitive bastard. Not a big deal at all. I dont know about you guys but I've trained with many of those types over the years. Yeh they go over the top at times but you'd much rather have that intensity than none at all.

Actually pleased to hear the boys are going hard, they are there to win games of footy not be best mates on the training track. They are there to do a job.

He's just a real hard competitive bastard. Not a big deal at all. I dont know about you guys but I've trained with many of those types over the years. Yeh they go over the top at times but you'd much rather have that intensity than none at all.

Actually pleased to hear the boys are going hard, they are there to win games of footy not be best mates on the training track. They are there to do a job.

Completely agree with TOA, AFL is a very competitive environment and you are going to get these niggles because the coaches want them to put everything into training. If the coaches chat him about it, then we've got cause for concern. He should be encouraged, make others go harder.

Sheesh, I got 2 black eyes from a team mate many years ago, in a tackling drill. He was a solid bastard and I was the only one who brought him down, but I paid for it. :D Ah, the memories.

Hi Barra,

Seeing that its quite obvious you read this I thought I'd say g'day. Can you do me a big favour and say "two weeks, tops" on the news. That would be great.

Thanks,
Bigburger

ROFL. Good work boys keep it up :thumbsu:

This Davis thing may not be such a big deal. Lots of players have little things in training and move on.

Anyone know who Davis is mates with? If anyone?

Strangely enough, now that you mention it nick, Ebert, Arrowsmith, McGinnity and Sullivan were the ones that Davis hung around with last year. He was particularly tight with Ebert, I saw them together, with the others, a fair bit last year at WAFL matches. Ebert and Davis greeted each other like brothers/close friends.

From personal experience, the people you can be most competitive with are your closer friends! It is not too bad, as long as they kiss and make up. So, I am not willing to jump to conclusions.

An alternative theory could be a massive falling out. Though, once again, I wouldn't want to jump to conclusions!

Yeah hey barra.

Surprised you didn't recognise me at training, well i've grown a good 16 inches since the old days, so it's understandable. You were assistant coach for my team from under 8's to 11's, the mighty subi lions JFC, under the great wayne cormack (who, for those who don't know, appears in the AFL hall of shame, not or his actions, but for his team-mates actions, belting wayne from behind). Send reif my regards. Might be buying some of his boardies soon :D

don't mean to damper any spirits, but from my reckoning, davis was being more than competitive. You don't jumper-punch, hold down on the ground and push a teammate for no reason in a light session, and you don't swing an elbow at an experienced team-mate who tackles you fairly. Both Mcginnity and Selwood had big WTFs on their faces after the respective incidents, and davis still looked angry, he didn't just shrug it off and move on.
The guy is either frustrated, has anger problems or there is something deeper. Going by his body language during training (particularly towards the end of training), i would bet on it being frustration. I think with his lack of endurance, he might feel almost embarassed with himself for not being able to keep up.

If they are mates that's probably a bit of a different thing. I used to get much more physical with mates at training all the time (just pushing the boundaries), and that was basketball.

Davis went on holidays to thailand with Lewis Stevenson, Brad Ebert, Will Sullivan, Ashley Arrowsmith and Callum Wilson.
I guess they are mates

Bummer, I wanted the new draftees to be playing in SA... Guess i'll have to wait till after if we advance or just go to a NAB challenge match if we don't.

Training 8/12